It is currently June 25th, 2019, 12:24 am

Start Menu sans taskbar?

Post reviews, recommendations and questions about other software.
Wolfgang DelaSangre
Posts: 35
Joined: December 14th, 2010, 6:11 am

Start Menu sans taskbar?

Wolfgang DelaSangre » May 7th, 2011, 4:14 am

This is probably a stupid question, and I probably already know the answer, but here goes anyway.

Is there a way to make a Start Orb skin that will only bring up the Start Menu, and not the whole taskbar? I've got the taskbar set to autohide and I'd like it to not pop up when I open the Start Menu, if possible.

EDIT: And I seem to have posted this in the wrong forum. Sorry about that. Meant to post in the Rainmeter Help forum.

EDIT2: And it seems to have been moved. Awesome, thanks whichever mod did that.
User avatar
santa_ryan
Posts: 417
Joined: June 22nd, 2010, 4:11 am

Re: Start Menu sans taskbar?

santa_ryan » May 7th, 2011, 5:53 pm

http://www.chrisnsoft.com/download

look under:
OpenStartMenu
I have three rules when I'm trying to help you.
  • Don't get mad when you don't understand something
  • Be VERY specific with what you ask for.
    The more specific you are, the higher the quality of support you receive.
  • Do not just copy and paste what I put in examples and come back saying it doesn't work.
    It does work, but I purposely left blanks that you need to fill for your specific needs.
Wolfgang DelaSangre
Posts: 35
Joined: December 14th, 2010, 6:11 am

Re: Start Menu sans taskbar?

Wolfgang DelaSangre » May 7th, 2011, 6:43 pm

Nifty. So, how would I use it? I've tried this...

ButtonCommand=!Execute [#SKINSPATH#Wolfgang\Start\openstartmenu.exe]["#SKINSPATH#Wolfgang\Start\openstartmenu.exe /hidetaskbar"]

...but it doesn't seem to do what I'd hoped. Can you see what I'm doing wrong?

EDIT: Okay, found something that says " hidetaskbar" bit isn't included in the quotation marks, so it'd look like this:

ButtonCommand=!Execute ["#SKINSPATH#Wolfgang\Start\openstartmenu.exe" /hidetaskbar]

But this doesn't seem to be working either.

EDIT2: Apparently, I don't need that last bit if the taskbar's already hidden. Using this, and I've got it opening how I want it, where I want it.

ButtonCommand=!execute ["#SKINSPATH#Wolfgang\Start\openstartmenu.exe"/screen 0 168]