It is currently September 15th, 2019, 9:02 pm

Bringing Rainmeter skins into focus

Post reviews, recommendations and questions about other software.
User avatar
Fuzzybat23
Posts: 44
Joined: May 10th, 2013, 1:21 am

Bringing Rainmeter skins into focus

Fuzzybat23 » May 13th, 2013, 10:46 pm

Is there a way to code a rainmeter skin so that it gains focus over other skins/windows on mouse over?
l3uddy789
Posts: 7
Joined: May 28th, 2010, 8:42 pm

Re: Bringing Rainmeter skins into focus

l3uddy789 » May 16th, 2013, 4:35 am

http://docs.rainmeter.net/manual/mouse-actions

"Mouse Hover Options

MouseOverAction
Action to execute when the mouse cursor is moved over the meter or skin.
MouseLeaveAction
Action to execute when the mouse cursor leaves the meter or skin."

EDIT: didn't understand the full question, I do not know if you can change the position in terms of top, bottom, ect with API commands.
User avatar
DigitalSpectrum
Posts: 32
Joined: January 17th, 2013, 1:45 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Bringing Rainmeter skins into focus

DigitalSpectrum » May 17th, 2013, 5:42 am

The MouseOverActions seem to be the way to do it, But I would like to know what is the actual command/bang that would be executed on mouseover to take focus? !Refresh seems like overkill, so maybe a simple !Update or !Redraw would do it?
User avatar
Fuzzybat23
Posts: 44
Joined: May 10th, 2013, 1:21 am

Re: Bringing Rainmeter skins into focus

Fuzzybat23 » May 17th, 2013, 8:11 pm

Nope, tried putting MouseOverAction=!Redraw in both the [Rainmeter] and in the main background images block, neither would bring it to focus when the mouse was over the skin.
l3uddy789
Posts: 7
Joined: May 28th, 2010, 8:42 pm

Re: Bringing Rainmeter skins into focus

l3uddy789 » May 17th, 2013, 8:28 pm

redraw wouldn't work. You need to figure out a way to change the skin's position. If you have an active skin and you right click it and under i think settings -> position there are options such as "top-most" "top" "bottom" "bottom-most".

If on mouse over you could change the desired skin to "top-most" and then on mouse off go back to whatever position is was before you should get the desired result. Having said that I do not know how to change skin position in this way with the API.
User avatar
~Faradey~
Posts: 367
Joined: November 12th, 2009, 4:47 pm
Location: Ukraine

Re: Bringing Rainmeter skins into focus

~Faradey~ » May 17th, 2013, 10:47 pm

Wrote a little utility RainFocus.exe
On loading it checks if Rainmeter window under mouse pointer, if True --> bring skin (not skins) into focus --> Exit, if False --> Exit.

Try it)

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
Author=Faradey
Update=1000
MouseOverAction=[PATH_TO_RAINFOCUS]
where PATH_TO_RAINFOCUS full path to RainFocus.exe

Download:
http://www.sendspace.com/file/7oqsko
User avatar
eclectic-tech
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 3536
Joined: April 12th, 2012, 9:40 pm
Location: Cedar Point, Ohio, USA

Re: Bringing Rainmeter skins into focus

eclectic-tech » June 8th, 2013, 8:57 pm

~Faradey~ wrote:Wrote a little utility RainFocus.exe
On loading it checks if Rainmeter window under mouse pointer, if True --> bring skin (not skins) into focus --> Exit, if False --> Exit.

Try it)

...
Thanks ~Faradey~! :thumbup:

This simple utility comes in very handy for my fileview.dll menus...
Now I just need to edit 100 ini files to add this line :o

Thanks again!
User avatar
~Faradey~
Posts: 367
Joined: November 12th, 2009, 4:47 pm
Location: Ukraine

Re: Bringing Rainmeter skins into focus

~Faradey~ » June 17th, 2013, 7:25 am

eclectic-tech
glad you liked it, let me know if you need to add or change something in utility
User avatar
Virginityrocks
Posts: 510
Joined: February 26th, 2011, 10:22 pm

Re: Bringing Rainmeter skins into focus

Virginityrocks » November 21st, 2013, 8:58 pm

Faradey, any hope of getting this as an addon for Rainmeter, and allow focus to be set on specific call? Such as LeftMouseUpAction=[!CommandMeasure "MeasureFocus" "SkinName\SkinName.ini"]
Droptop Four
Dropdown menu bar & app launcher for Windows & Rainmeter