It is currently September 21st, 2019, 10:18 pm

FireFox & "Select All"

Discussion about the documentation, main Rainmeter site and forums.
User avatar
eclectic-tech
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 3548
Joined: April 12th, 2012, 9:40 pm
Location: Cedar Point, Ohio, USA

FireFox & "Select All"

eclectic-tech » April 21st, 2017, 7:00 pm

When I use FireFox and try to "Select All" of a code section from a post, it only selects the first line...
If I use Chrome, all of the code is selected :confused:

Tried restarting both the browser and my computer, and the issue still remains O.O

4.1.0 beta r2775 64-bit (Mar 8 2017)
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (build 15063)
Path: C:\Program Files\Rainmeter\
IniFile: C:\Users\John\AppData\Roaming\Rainmeter\Rainmeter.ini
SkinPath: C:\Users\John\Documents\Rainmeter\Skins\

I will go back to the latest 4.0 released beta, and see if that corrects this issue (will post here if it does)...

EDIT:
Having the same issue using the 4.0 release...
Specs:
4.0.0 r2746 64-bit (Jan 1 2017)
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (build 15063)
Path: C:\Program Files\Rainmeter\
IniFile: C:\Users\John\AppData\Roaming\Rainmeter\Rainmeter.ini
SkinPath: C:\Users\John\Documents\Rainmeter\Skins\


Thanks!
User avatar
kyriakos876
Posts: 915
Joined: January 30th, 2017, 2:01 am
Location: Greece

Re: FireFox & "Select All"

kyriakos876 » April 21st, 2017, 7:09 pm

eclectic-tech wrote:When I use FireFox and try to "Select All" of a code section from a post, it only selects the first line...
If I use Chrome, all of the code is selected :confused:
It works fine for me with both FireFox and Chrome. Maybe you wanna try and reinstall FireFox if you didn't already?
User avatar
eclectic-tech
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 3548
Joined: April 12th, 2012, 9:40 pm
Location: Cedar Point, Ohio, USA

Re: FireFox & "Select All"

eclectic-tech » April 21st, 2017, 8:09 pm

kyriakos876 wrote:It works fine for me with both FireFox and Chrome. Maybe you wanna try and reinstall FireFox if you didn't already?
Thanks for letting me know it is working for you :thumbup: ... Firefox updated yesterday, who knows what may have broken :x

Going to re-install, that should fix things :great:
User avatar
CyberTheWorm
Posts: 659
Joined: August 22nd, 2016, 11:32 pm
Location: Surrey, B.C., Canada

Re: FireFox & "Select All"

CyberTheWorm » April 21st, 2017, 8:32 pm

eclectic-tech wrote:Thanks for letting me know it is working for you :thumbup: ... Firefox updated yesterday, who knows what may have broken :x

Going to re-install, that should fix things :great:
Looks like it's FireFox. Having the same issue with V53.0 64bit edition
The only source of knowledge is experience. Albert Einstein
Deviant Art Page
User avatar
eclectic-tech
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 3548
Joined: April 12th, 2012, 9:40 pm
Location: Cedar Point, Ohio, USA

Re: FireFox & "Select All"

eclectic-tech » April 21st, 2017, 8:40 pm

@CyberTheWorm Thanks...

I just installed the 64-bit and 32-bit versions of FireFox, and have the same issue with both.

I can manually select all of the code block, but cannot use "Select All"...

Ah well, I'll poke around the Mozilla site to see if there are any comments about this.

Thanks for the feedback guys! :great:
User avatar
kyriakos876
Posts: 915
Joined: January 30th, 2017, 2:01 am
Location: Greece

Re: FireFox & "Select All"

kyriakos876 » April 21st, 2017, 9:04 pm

Sure thing buddy!
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 19474
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: FireFox & "Select All"

jsmorley » April 21st, 2017, 10:51 pm

No idea what is going on. For me, it's broken in the latest version of Chrome, but works in Microsoft Edge. Go figure. Don't have Firefox to test with.

Code: Select all

The Charge of the Light Brigade
by Alfred, Lord Tennyson

Half a league, half a league, 
Half a league onward, 
All in the valley of Death 
Rode the six hundred. 
Forward, the Light Brigade! 
Charge for the guns! he said: 
Into the valley of Death 
Rode the six hundred. 

Forward, the Light Brigade! 
Was there a man dismayed? 
Not though the soldier knew 
Some one had blundered: 
Their's not to make reply, 
Their's not to reason why, 
Their's but to do and die: 
Into the valley of Death 
Rode the six hundred. 

Cannon to right of them, 
Cannon to left of them, 
Cannon in front of them 
Volleyed and thundered; 
Stormed at with shot and shell, 
Boldly they rode and well, 
Into the jaws of Death, 
Into the mouth of Hell 
Rode the six hundred. 
  
Flashed all their sabres bare, 
Flashed as they tuned in air 
Sabring the gunners there, 
Charging an army, while 
All the world wondered: 
Plunged in the battery-smoke 
Right through the line they broke; 
Cossack and Russian 
Reeled from the sabre-stroke 
Shattered and sundered. 
Then they rode back, but not 
Not the six hundred. 

Cannon to right of them, 
Cannon to left of them, 
Cannon behind them 
Volleyed and thundered; 
Stormed at with shot and shell, 
While horse and hero fell, 
They that had fought so well 
Came through the jaws of Death, 
Back from the mouth of Hell, 
All that was left of them, 
Left of six hundred. 

When can their glory fade? 
Oh the wild charge they made! 
All the world wondered. 
Honour the charge they made! 
Honour the Light Brigade, 
Noble six hundred! 
User avatar
CyberTheWorm
Posts: 659
Joined: August 22nd, 2016, 11:32 pm
Location: Surrey, B.C., Canada

Re: FireFox & "Select All"

CyberTheWorm » April 21st, 2017, 11:48 pm

jsmorley wrote:No idea what is going on. For me, it's broken in the latest version of Chrome, but works in Microsoft Edge. Go figure. Don't have Firefox to test with.
IE, Edge, Chrome all work FireFox just the first line :confused:
The only source of knowledge is experience. Albert Einstein
Deviant Art Page
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 19474
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: FireFox & "Select All"

jsmorley » April 22nd, 2017, 5:10 pm

Should be fixed now.

There has been a change to major browsers in the last few days, no doubt to address some security issue, that broke that javascript functionality. I have made a tweak to the underlying phpbb code that looks like it makes them happy again.

http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=3028516&sid=cddaf8c0648dd3959feabc33dd8d9e64
User avatar
CyberTheWorm
Posts: 659
Joined: August 22nd, 2016, 11:32 pm
Location: Surrey, B.C., Canada

Re: FireFox & "Select All"

CyberTheWorm » April 22nd, 2017, 8:34 pm

Well there you go, that fixed it for me. :thumbup:
The only source of knowledge is experience. Albert Einstein
Deviant Art Page