It is currently September 16th, 2019, 11:27 pm

Suggestion...

Discussion about the documentation, main Rainmeter site and forums.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 19456
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Suggestion...

jsmorley » April 23rd, 2009, 10:35 pm

I have a suggestion for the board.

Since screenshots are one of the things we are most likely to post, I suggest adding this BBCode to the board. It's easy to do from the ACP.

BBCode:

Code: Select all

[rimg]{URL}[/rimg]
HTML:

Code: Select all

<a href="{URL}"><img style="max-width:300px; max-height; 300px;" src="{URL}" alt="Image" /></a>
Help:

Code: Select all

Resized Img: [rimg]Link to image[/rimg]
This will let people post huge pictures which will display as thumbnails up to 300 x 300. Clicking the picture takes viewers to the full size image on Photobucket or wherever it is hosted...

This will save a lot of resizing, hosting the picture twice (small and large) or having cut off screenshots posted.
sgtevmckay

Re: Suggestion...

sgtevmckay » April 23rd, 2009, 10:58 pm

Nice :D

Will see about getting our folks that can get to the guts of the forum software to implement.

Great Idea Image
Rorix
Developer
Posts: 21
Joined: April 3rd, 2009, 3:47 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Suggestion...

Rorix » April 24th, 2009, 2:39 am

Have you tried the [hsimg] bbcode
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 19456
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Suggestion...

jsmorley » April 24th, 2009, 3:51 am

Hadn't noticed that one was there. That will work just fine.

User avatar
gschoppe
Developer
Posts: 93
Joined: April 26th, 2009, 8:30 pm
Location: St Johnsbury, VT

Re: Suggestion...

gschoppe » April 29th, 2009, 12:27 am

there is an issue with using CSS inline styles or html width/height attributes to create thumbnails... since both options are entirely browser rendered, the full size image must be pulled down by each user, just to render a thumbnail... if locally hosting the images, it leads to a bandwidth spike, if remotely hosting, it causes slow loads for those with slow connections (yes, dial-up still has significant market share) or bandwidth caps. it is a better solution to use a PHP script, with GD backing to, when the page is created/accessed, see if there is a thumb on file, and if not, create one on the fly and store it... that way, you can enforce filesize limitations with a strict resize/compress script to keep your bandwidth down, and still have real thumbnails, to keep the user's bandwidth down.


TADA!!!
Image
dragonmage
Developer
Posts: 1286
Joined: April 3rd, 2009, 4:31 am
Location: NC, US

Re: Suggestion...

dragonmage » April 29th, 2009, 5:02 am

that sounds good
sgtevmckay

Re: Suggestion...

sgtevmckay » June 13th, 2009, 6:01 am

Completed

Locked