Page 2 of 14

Re: RainRGB 3.0

Posted: June 11th, 2011, 4:10 pm
by jsmorley
iron2000 wrote: Tested and it works just like I wanted!
Thanks!
Cool... My pleasure.

Re: RainRGB 3.0

Posted: September 11th, 2011, 8:27 pm
by MerlinTheRed
Since we currently have no version checking for addons when installing a .rmskin file, it happened to me that RainRGB was overwritten with an older version. I don't want the users of my skins to experience the same, so I figured I could put RainRGB into the skin suite's folder. Unfortunately, RainRGB doesn't want to be run anywhere else than in the Addons folder. I find this a little restrictive, so I'd like to hear the reason for it.

Re: RainRGB 3.0

Posted: September 11th, 2011, 8:44 pm
by Fronter
Since I am into the Demo-Scene (Just a traine yet) at the moment, this will be the most useful Rainmeter skin for me. No need to figure out the numbers for all the programming anymore! Creds to the creator :bow2: :bow2:

Re: RainRGB 3.0

Posted: September 11th, 2011, 8:50 pm
by jsmorley
MerlinTheRed wrote:Since we currently have no version checking for addons when installing a .rmskin file, it happened to me that RainRGB was overwritten with an older version. I don't want the users of my skins to experience the same, so I figured I could put RainRGB into the skin suite's folder. Unfortunately, RainRGB doesn't want to be run anywhere else than in the Addons folder. I find this a little restrictive, so I'd like to hear the reason for it.
It needs this as it must "know" the location of Rainmeter.exe so it can send bangs to it. It is our approach with addons of this type to put them in the Addons folder in Rainmeter, so Rainmeter.exe is ..\..\ at all times, no matter how Rainmeter was installed.

There is no version checking for addons, nor will there ever be. There is no such thing as a "standard addon", and file dates are meaningless. If it were me, I would probably put it in \Addons\MySuiteName\RainRGB.exe, so it was at the same level in the tree under \Rainmeter\Addons, but with a unique folder name. This is not technically a "perfect" solution, as it means a user could end up with 2 or 3 copies of RainRGB.exe on their system, but really... The file is like 900 kbytes, and they are never likely to have more a couple of copies. This is in any case the same as your idea to put it in the skin's folder, but unlike that method, it will still work.

Re: RainRGB 3.0

Posted: September 12th, 2011, 9:36 am
by KreAch3R
Trying to incorporate RainRGB into one of my skins for the first time, I run into one problem.

Here's the code:

Code: Select all

RightMouseUpAction=!execute  ["#ADDONSPATH#RainRGB\RainRGB.exe" "VarName=ArtistColor" "FileName=#CURRENTPATH##CURRENTFILE#" "RefreshConfig=test\test2"]
The test2.ini resides inside TEST folder:
Rainmeter/skins/test/test2.ini
The error in log is:
Bang: Config "test\test2" not found
The !bang works correctly, it just doesn't refresh. If I manually refresh, it works.

Re: RainRGB 3.0

Posted: September 12th, 2011, 1:26 pm
by jsmorley
A parameter in Rainmeter needing the "Config" does not include the skin file name.

RightMouseUpAction=!execute ["#ADDONSPATH#RainRGB\RainRGB.exe" "VarName=ArtistColor" "FileName=#CURRENTPATH##CURRENTFILE#" "RefreshConfig=test\test2"]

RightMouseUpAction=!execute ["#ADDONSPATH#RainRGB\RainRGB.exe" "VarName=ArtistColor" "FileName=#CURRENTPATH##CURRENTFILE#" "RefreshConfig=test"]

Re: RainRGB 4.0

Posted: September 12th, 2011, 6:53 pm
by jsmorley
There is a new version 4.0 of RainRGB in the first message of this thread.

RainRGB4 no longer requires that the tool be placed in the \Addons folder in your Rainmeter home folder. It can now be run from anywhere, so you can include it in your skins folder when distributing if you desire.

In order to avoid some of the "overwrite" issues when you do distribute using the \Addons folder, The folder and executable are now "RainRGB4", not just "RainRGB", so be sure to edit your skins appropriately.

LeftMouseUpAction=!Execute ["#ADDONSPATH#RainRGB4\RainRGB4.exe" "VarName=MyColor1" "Alpha=255" "FileName=#ROOTCONFIGPATH#UserVariables.inc"]

Re: RainRGB 3.0

Posted: September 13th, 2011, 12:44 am
by KreAch3R
jsmorley wrote:A parameter in Rainmeter needing the "Config" does not include the skin file name.

RightMouseUpAction=!execute ["#ADDONSPATH#RainRGB\RainRGB.exe" "VarName=ArtistColor" "FileName=#CURRENTPATH##CURRENTFILE#" "RefreshConfig=test\test2"]

RightMouseUpAction=!execute ["#ADDONSPATH#RainRGB\RainRGB.exe" "VarName=ArtistColor" "FileName=#CURRENTPATH##CURRENTFILE#" "RefreshConfig=test"]
Thanks. Always banging my head when it comes to "config". Still, I thought I had this one correct because of the your example, JSMorley\JSClock. I thought JSClock was the .ini file. I managed to make it work, thank you :)

Re: RainRGB 3.0

Posted: September 13th, 2011, 12:46 am
by jsmorley
KreAch3R wrote: Thanks. Always banging my head when it comes to "config". Still, I thought I had this one correct because of the your example, JSMorley\JSClock. I thought JSClock was the .ini file. I managed to make it work, thank you :)
Ah, no it's "C:\Users\Jeffrey Morley\Documents\Rainmeter\Skins\JSMeter\JSClock\JSClockWeather.ini". All's well that ends well.

http://forum.rainmeter.net/viewtopic.php?p=56698#p56698

Re: RainRGB 4.0

Posted: January 7th, 2012, 12:57 am
by Stevenlol
I can't get this to work.. It is incredibly hard for me to do all this when i have no experience with coding or anything that has with Rainmeter to do xD
Anyways, here comes the stupid questions!
Where should i change all this text? I have it in Documents/Rainmeter/skins/BRK/Wordclock2 and in there is the config document.. If it is that one i should change, this is what it says:
Right now it says ''LeftMouseDownAction=!Execute ["#ADDONSPATH#RainRGB\RainRGB.exe" "VarName=color.secondary" "FileName=#CURRENTPATH#UserVariables.inc" "RefreshConfig=BRK\WordClock2"]''
Is that right? Nothing happens when i run RainRGB4.. :(