It is currently December 14th, 2018, 8:28 pm

Plugin for SIV

Share your custom plugins and applications to enhance Rainmeter.
red-ray
Posts: 4
Joined: February 7th, 2017, 9:57 pm

NA

red-ray » February 8th, 2017, 3:47 pm

NA
Last edited by red-ray on February 8th, 2017, 6:12 pm, edited 3 times in total.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 18494
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Plugin for SIV

jsmorley » February 8th, 2017, 4:01 pm

While I hope that we can keep this civil, and we will, I have to admit that saying "I'm asking you questions because I haven't read the documentation" probably isn't your best introduction... ;-)
User avatar
fonpaolo
Moderator
Posts: 1351
Joined: April 11th, 2013, 8:08 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Plugin for SIV

fonpaolo » February 8th, 2017, 4:13 pm

Well, just to be clear:
- I have looked at the screen shots in the SIV webpage linked in the first post.
- There's an overcrowding of text and images, do you think it's so easy to find something?
- No, I didn't find an user guide, that's the reason I was asking.
- If it's contained in the zip file, I usually try to find informations before I download something, to be sure I need it and it's worth to be downloaded.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 18494
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Plugin for SIV

jsmorley » February 8th, 2017, 6:18 pm

While the SIV program in general is going to be of obvious interest to anyone wanting to use this plugin for Rainmeter, I'm not sure this is the best topic, or even forum, to get into a "critique" of the interface or documentation for the underlying program.

In any case, I would propose that you have to balance any perceived complexity of the program interface against the fact that what it is trying to do is probably the single most complex thing you can do on a personal computer. The amount of "system information" available and of interest on a PC is just staggering, there are virtually no industry-wide standards for this stuff, and it all changes constantly. Remember that this is why we at Rainmeter decided long, long ago that there was no way we were going to try to provide this information natively in Rainmeter. It's "herding cats" at the very best.

Probably any interface can be better, more user-friendly, more clear, more approachable to someone new to it. Still, I would argue that the interface of the SIV program itself is something that might be better to take up on their forums, and we should constrain this topic to questions or comments about the Rainmeter plugin for it.
User avatar
fonpaolo
Moderator
Posts: 1351
Joined: April 11th, 2013, 8:08 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Plugin for SIV

fonpaolo » February 8th, 2017, 7:00 pm

Deleted...
User avatar
protator
Posts: 24
Joined: October 14th, 2014, 11:15 pm

Re: Plugin for SIV

protator » February 9th, 2017, 7:36 pm

cde2006 wrote:I will ask "Red Ray" (The author of SIV) about this, he is the one to develop "sentest.exe".
My plugin only capture what "sentest.exe" gives.
A big Thanks to both you and Red Ray for the super quick SIV update.

But unfortunately I've run into another little problem while trying to figure out a pretty way to plaster my desktop in cpu histograms.

It seams that regardless of my skin settings meters hooked to CIV update their actual values only about once per second.
Therefore my graphs end up looking a bit like tetris. (they look "normal" when I use the default cpu-plugin/advanced-cpu)
Is SIVs internal update rate this low?
vandey
Posts: 9
Joined: June 28th, 2013, 1:53 pm

Re: Plugin for SIV

vandey » October 11th, 2017, 6:04 pm

I can't seem to get the plugin to work. It either crashes rainmeter or won't load the values I tried a simple display first to try to get my gpu name out but it says it can't read the registry value for it. I first posted in a different forum but thought this was more appropriate.

https://forum.rainmeter.net/viewtopic.php?p=140515#p140515
User avatar
StArL0rd84
Posts: 271
Joined: February 8th, 2015, 10:07 pm
Location: EU, Denmark.

Re: Plugin for SIV

StArL0rd84 » October 15th, 2017, 4:11 pm

Is there a way to monitor FPS?
If there is, then i might convert my whole suite to SIV.
User avatar
CyberTheWorm
Posts: 609
Joined: August 22nd, 2016, 11:32 pm
Location: Surrey, B.C., Canada

Re: Plugin for SIV

CyberTheWorm » October 18th, 2017, 6:41 pm

cde2006 wrote:

Code: Select all

[Measure0]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=SIV
SivKey=CPU-T-L
SivSensor=L
MaxValue=100
SivType=Max
[Measure1]
Measure=Plugin
SivPlugin=SIV
SivKey=CPU-0-L
Sensor=L
MaxValue=100
[Measure2]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=SIV
SivKey=CPU-2-L
SivSensor=L
MaxValue=100
[Measure3]
SivMeasure=Plugin
SivPlugin=SIV
Key=CPU-4-L
Sensor=L
MaxValue=100
[Measure4]
Measure=Plugin
SivPlugin=SIV
SivKey=CPU-6-L
Sensor=L
MaxValue=100
In your code snippet there is a mistake in [Measure1] [Measure3] and [Measure4]

You have

Code: Select all

SivPlugin=SIV
when it should be

Code: Select all

Plugin=SIV
Took me a bit to find out while I was testing your plugin
The only source of knowledge is experience. Albert Einstein
Deviant Art Page
red-ray
Posts: 4
Joined: February 7th, 2017, 9:57 pm

Re: Plugin for SIV

red-ray » November 17th, 2017, 12:34 pm

StArL0rd84 wrote:Is there a way to monitor FPS?
If there is, then i might convert my whole suite to SIV.
:thumbup: Yes, once you start the RTSS server SIV should report the FPS. If you need help getting started post to http://rh-software.com/siv-support.