It is currently December 14th, 2018, 8:27 pm

Plugin for SIV

Share your custom plugins and applications to enhance Rainmeter.
cde2006
Posts: 4
Joined: February 4th, 2017, 7:37 pm

Plugin for SIV

cde2006 » February 4th, 2017, 7:56 pm

Simple Rainmeter Plugin for SIV!
SIV is a fantastic system monitoring tool using very few resources.
You can find it here: http://rh-software.com/
It can monitor almost everything in your system, and now you can pair it with Rainmeter for developing outstanding Skin!
I have replaced by SIV many software that I used before to feed my Rainmeter skin, such as MSI Afterburner, AIDA64, Corsair Link, ASUS AI etc....
My CPU usage in idle is now is around 3% or less with this complex Rainmeter skin:
http://forum.corsair.com/v3/attachment.php?attachmentid=27619&stc=1&d=1486149915
Thanks Red-Ray for supporting the development of this plugin!

Enjoy!

Usage:

All the measures are already scaled and with the correct unit provided by SIV. My plugin just transmit the same value and same unit as is. Therefore please remove any Rainmeter scaling or unit from your meter when using this plugin. If you want to display the value AND the unit together you can use two measures and combine them in one meter.

The following parameters are defined for the plugin:
  • SivSensor: [char] H, T, C, V, P, L and K
    A single character to indicate the group of sensors that you want to query, currently defined are the following groups
    1. H=Heading group
    2. T=Termal group [Default]
    3. C=Cooling group
    4. V=Voltage group
    5. P=Power group
    6. L=Loads group
    7. K=Clock group
    If you want to know which sensor belong to which group, use the command "sentest.exe" in SIV folder.
    This is the first column of the output of this command. See below for an example.
  • SivKey: [String]
    Is the name of the measure you want to display. You can get the list of all measures by using the command "sentest.exe" in the SIV folder. The measures names are in the second column of the output of this command.
  • SivType: [String] Current, Average, Minimum Maximum or String
    Is the type of measure you want. Currently defined types are:
    1. Current = The current value [Default]
    2. Average = The average value
    3. Minimum = The minimum value
    4. Maximum = The maximum value
    5. String = Use this when the measure is a pure string such as NodeName, Username etc...For numerical measures it gives you a comma separated string of the 4 values (Cur,Avg,Min,Max) as provided by SIV to my plugin. It can be used to see what SIV provides as raw input in case of problem or if you want to decode it yourself in Rainmeter in case of new measure format provided by SIV.
  • SivUnit: [integer] 0 or 1
    1. 0 = The measure numerical value ("scaling" is done by SIV so disable it in your meter) [Default]
      1 = The measure unit like %, V, W, RPM, FPS, etc...
Measure example:

Code: Select all

[Measure0]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=SIV
SivKey=CPU-T-L
SivSensor=L
MaxValue=100
SivType=Max
[Measure1]
Measure=Plugin
SivPlugin=SIV
SivKey=CPU-0-L
Sensor=L
MaxValue=100
[Measure2]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=SIV
SivKey=CPU-2-L
SivSensor=L
MaxValue=100
[Measure3]
SivMeasure=Plugin
SivPlugin=SIV
Key=CPU-4-L
Sensor=L
MaxValue=100
[Measure4]
Measure=Plugin
SivPlugin=SIV
SivKey=CPU-6-L
Sensor=L
MaxValue=100
This provides measures for Max CPU usage/load and current cores usage.
RaimeterCPUSIV.png
Release History
  • 05/02/2017 v1.0.0.0 First Release
  • 05/02/2017 v1.0.1.0 Rename all parameters to Sivxxxx, backward compatible for "Meter" and "Sensor": PluginSIV v1.0.1.0.zip
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by cde2006 on February 6th, 2017, 12:07 pm, edited 4 times in total.
User avatar
protator
Posts: 24
Joined: October 14th, 2014, 11:15 pm

Re: Plugin for SIV

protator » February 4th, 2017, 10:05 pm

OMG, I just discovered SIV today ... and looking at all that info I thought:
"If only there were a RM plugin so I can organize this in a visually more pleasing way ..."

And here's the plugin, posted on this very day.
Now I can finally ditch Aida and HW.

One to rule them all^^.

Thanks mate. Thanks a lot.
User avatar
protator
Posts: 24
Joined: October 14th, 2014, 11:15 pm

Re: Plugin for SIV

protator » February 6th, 2017, 2:01 am

How do I get core clocks reported in MHz ?
Right now the measure returns GHz and doesn't round properly.
3199 MHz shows as 3.1k . And that's ... less acurate than expected.

Here's my test skin (simple bar showing core1 clockspeed) :

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
Update=100
AccurateText=1
DynamicWindowSize=1

[Metadata]
Version=1.0

[MeasureCoreClock]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=SIV
SivKey=CPU-0-P
SivSensor=K
;SivType=String
MaxValue=3500

[MeterCoreClockBar]
MeasureName=MeasureCoreClock
Meter=BAR
W=250
H=30
BarColor=255,150,50,255
SolidColor=150,150,150,255
BarOrientation=Horizontal

[MeterCoreClockText]
Meter=String
MeasureName=MeasureCoreClock
Y=7r
FontSize=12
FontColor=255,255,255,255
AutoScale=1
AntiAlias=1
Text=Core #1: %1
SivType=String
results in all measures being displayed at once
1236 MHz,1841 MHz,1234 MHz,3399 MHz
Don't really know what that could be used for ...

Anyway ... how do I get the meter to show MHz?
How do I get the GHz values shown by default rounded correctly?
How can I adjust the number of decimal points?

SIV's great and your plugin probably is too but Aaargh! it's so bare bones ... and the documentation is :-(
Last edited by protator on February 6th, 2017, 10:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.
cde2006
Posts: 4
Joined: February 4th, 2017, 7:37 pm

Re: Plugin for SIV

cde2006 » February 6th, 2017, 8:48 am

protator wrote:How do I get core clocks reported in MHz ?

[MeterCoreClockText]
Meter=String
MeasureName=MeasureCoreClock
Y=7r
FontSize=12
FontColor=255,255,255,255
AutoScale=1
AntiAlias=1
Text=Core #1: %1
I believe you have to remove the "autoscale=1" as SIV is doing the scaling for you.
protator wrote: SivType=String
results in all measures being displayed at once
1236 MHz,1841 MHz,1234 MHz,3399 MHz
Don't really know what that could be used for ...
This shows the sensor values as given by SIV, a comma separated list of value. It is the input string to my plugin.
My plugin then just decode this string to give you the relevant information depending on the parameter.

Anyway you can see here that the MHz is already converted for you by SIV so you don't need to do it in Rainmeter.
protator wrote: SIV's great and you're plugin probably is too but Aaargh! it's so bare bones ... and the documentation is :-(
I want the plugin to be as simple as possible, just a pipeline from SIV to Rainmeter, so yes it is barebone. :D
I have touched up the documentation, what do you think?
User avatar
protator
Posts: 24
Joined: October 14th, 2014, 11:15 pm

Re: Plugin for SIV

protator » February 6th, 2017, 11:40 pm

Ah man ... sometimes I think it's not worth it copy'n pasting a single line of code from a previous script.
It's so easy to overlook stuff like the "autoscale"-line.
Thanks man.
I was wondering why you'd make your plugin convert a perfectly fine MHz-input into GHz without any options for the users.
Well, I guess that's because you didn't^^.

Meter works fine now.

But unless you added more to the readme in the .zip than to the OP I still think the documentation is less than what it could be.
How about a little "variety" with the measure examples.
That'd be a good and easy way to improve it.

For example the individual core clockspeeds seem to be in SIV's Power group while your plugin has a seperate Clock group.
So having to use "CPU-0-P" as the SivKey when I'm looking for stuff with "K" is counterintuive and a bit confusing.
Having an example in the readme-file that adresses that would've been helpful.

The best way I can think of right now is to include a simple skin that has the most important/frequently used measures in it for reference ... being able to compare the syntax of a working script with your own first attempt is great for debugging and speeds up the learning process.
The vast majority of Rainmeter users probably made their first skin by reverse-engineering the default "illustro" skin.
Hence all the annotations in the script.
User avatar
protator
Posts: 24
Joined: October 14th, 2014, 11:15 pm

Re: Plugin for SIV

protator » February 7th, 2017, 3:34 pm

Also is there a way to get cpu multipliers and bclk with your plugin?
SIV shows them but they're not in the list generated by sentest.exe.
My bclk changes dynamicly so I cant just use a math function to get the multi.
cde2006
Posts: 4
Joined: February 4th, 2017, 7:37 pm

Re: Plugin for SIV

cde2006 » February 7th, 2017, 6:59 pm

protator wrote:Also is there a way to get cpu multipliers and bclk with your plugin?
SIV shows them but they're not in the list generated by sentest.exe.
My bclk changes dynamicly so I cant just use a math function to get the multi.
I will ask "Red Ray" (The author of SIV) about this, he is the one to develop "sentest.exe".
My plugin only capture what "sentest.exe" gives.
red-ray
Posts: 4
Joined: February 7th, 2017, 9:57 pm

NA

red-ray » February 7th, 2017, 10:08 pm

NA
Last edited by red-ray on February 8th, 2017, 6:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.
red-ray
Posts: 4
Joined: February 7th, 2017, 9:57 pm

NA

red-ray » February 8th, 2017, 8:13 am

NA
Last edited by red-ray on February 8th, 2017, 6:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
fonpaolo
Moderator
Posts: 1351
Joined: April 11th, 2013, 8:08 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Plugin for SIV

fonpaolo » February 8th, 2017, 1:07 pm

@ cde2006 - sorry to be so picky, not to offend you, your work, or criticize anything, but 3% of resources used when your system is idle, isn't really so low as you think, maybe it's only a matter of optimization, but 1% or less is better (and I'm using some more "resource hungry" software to do the hard work and a lot more informations constantly displayed and measured...).

@ red-ray - it's very interesting, until it only collect and displays informations, not allowing any kind of hardware overclocking or modification (...I think you can imagine what kind of damages can do one not knowing what's doing...) ;-)
Sorry I didn't read all the documentations, so I'm only asking for clarifications.

Another question is related to GPU: I haven't seen fan speed informations, I know it's not so easy, so, it's available or not?