It is currently December 14th, 2018, 8:28 pm

Plugin: Chameleon

Share your custom plugins and applications to enhance Rainmeter.
User avatar
Socks the Fox
Posts: 88
Joined: August 25th, 2015, 6:40 pm

Re: Plugin: Chameleon

Socks the Fox » June 17th, 2016, 3:25 am

@Tthaddee: here's how I do it in the example skin:

Code: Select all

[ChameleonAA]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Chameleon
DynamicVariables=1
Type=File
Path=[measureAlbumArt]
[measureAlbumArt] should be changed to whatever the now playing measure name is.

@jsmorley: Yeah I completely forgot about other wallpaper positioning styles until after I released. I can probably add a percentage system, all I'd really need is to see if there's a '%' in there. I'll shoot for adding that in 1.5.1. It'd be nice if I could get the actual image Windows was displaying, and not the source file it's pulling it from, but barring that I'll need to look into "pre-cropping" and maybe scaling the image based on the actual Windows wallpaper settings. Just a shame to have to do all that work a second (and third and fourth and n-th) time when Windows has already done it.
Author of Chameleon :: Like my plugin? Consider donating! I don't need much :3
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 18494
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Plugin: Chameleon

jsmorley » June 17th, 2016, 3:43 pm

I don't believe Windows "stores" a final, cropped and resized, image when it sets the wallpaper. I personally believe the work you would need to do to figure out what Fit / Fill / Stretch / Center / Tile / Span would transmogrify the original image into when displayed on the desktop (and with multiple monitors who even knows what that might mean) would be really difficult and resource intensive. I think supporting a percentage is about the closest you are going to reasonably get, although even that won't be perfect.
User avatar
Socks the Fox
Posts: 88
Joined: August 25th, 2015, 6:40 pm

Re: Plugin: Chameleon

Socks the Fox » June 17th, 2016, 4:20 pm

I'm reading up and it looks like it's ALMOST possible. Except it captures everything on the desktop, not just the background. Oh well. At least it's absurdly easy to get how Windows wants to treat backgrounds thanks to this function.
Author of Chameleon :: Like my plugin? Consider donating! I don't need much :3
Crest
Posts: 83
Joined: August 16th, 2013, 12:47 pm

Re: Plugin: Chameleon

Crest » June 17th, 2016, 5:11 pm

Looks like two users have made my wish come true for something I was looking for back in 2013 for my now playing skins. Thanks to both users for making these!

Edit: Is there a way of checking whether a user has the plugin installed or not and conditionally changing the skin to show/hide an option if so?
User avatar
Tthaddee
Posts: 11
Joined: June 16th, 2016, 5:04 pm

Re: Plugin: Chameleon

Tthaddee » June 19th, 2016, 6:14 pm

Socks the Fox wrote:@Tthaddee: here's how I do it in the example skin:

Code: Select all

[ChameleonAA]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Chameleon
DynamicVariables=1
Type=File
Path=[measureAlbumArt]
[measureAlbumArt] should be changed to whatever the now playing measure name is.
Hi,

Thank you Socks the Fox for your help. I found the solution (I mispelled a f**ck*ng [Meter] name...).
Now, I want to tint an image with the [aaBG1] color value, but even by taking some code from your example .rmskin, it doesn't want to work... ^^

Code: Select all

[Background]
Meter=Image
ImageName=#@#bg.jpg
X=0
Y=0
GreyScale=1
ImageTint=[aaBG1]
(I didn't removed the "[ChameleonStuff]" part.)
Is my code part wrong ? Maybe I forgot something...



PS:Sorry again for my bad english. :)

PS2: How can I credit you ? A direct link to your site ? :) (I'll donate you first in the next days :D )
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 18494
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Plugin: Chameleon

jsmorley » June 19th, 2016, 8:03 pm

Tthaddee wrote:

Code: Select all

[Background]
Meter=Image
ImageName=#@#bg.jpg
X=0
Y=0
GreyScale=1
ImageTint=[aaBG1]
(I didn't removed the "[ChameleonStuff]" part.)
Is my code part wrong ? Maybe I forgot something...
[Background]
Meter=Image
ImageName=#@#bg.jpg
X=0
Y=0
GreyScale=1
ImageTint=[aaBG1]
DynamicVariables=1
User avatar
Tthaddee
Posts: 11
Joined: June 16th, 2016, 5:04 pm

Re: Plugin: Chameleon

Tthaddee » June 19th, 2016, 10:25 pm

Image

Oooops ! Sorry...
Thank you jsmorley
User avatar
Socks the Fox
Posts: 88
Joined: August 25th, 2015, 6:40 pm

Re: Plugin: Chameleon

Socks the Fox » June 20th, 2016, 1:50 am

Haha it's fine. There's lots of weird little things that are easy to miss.

As far as credit, yes a link to my site is fine :3 And thank you much for your donation, it'll be much appreciated!
Author of Chameleon :: Like my plugin? Consider donating! I don't need much :3
User avatar
Tthaddee
Posts: 11
Joined: June 16th, 2016, 5:04 pm

Re: Plugin: Chameleon

Tthaddee » June 20th, 2016, 6:04 pm

Is someone interrested by a special version of "Monstercat Visualizer" with "Chameleon" inside ? :sly:
User avatar
Tthaddee
Posts: 11
Joined: June 16th, 2016, 5:04 pm

Re: Plugin: Chameleon

Tthaddee » June 23rd, 2016, 6:07 pm

Tadaaaahh ! What do you think about it ?
I'll integrate a custom version of "Monstercat Visualizer" in the future (with Chameleon too :P)

https://www.youtube.com/embed/rXy00ydvK7w

@+