It is currently April 19th, 2024, 6:19 am

[BUG] Shadow InlineSetting support of dynamic variables

Report bugs with the Rainmeter application and suggest features.
User avatar
Yincognito
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 7125
Joined: February 27th, 2015, 2:38 pm
Location: Terra Yincognita

[BUG] Shadow InlineSetting support of dynamic variables

Post by Yincognito »

Code:

Code: Select all

[Variables]
Offset=1

[Rainmeter]
Update=1000
AccurateText=1
DynamicWindowSize=1

[MeterString]
Meter=String
Text=Onett
X=0
Y=0
AntiAlias=1
Padding=10,0,10,0
SolidColor=128,128,255,255
FontSize=32
InlineSetting=Shadow | #Offset# | #Offset# | 0 | 255,0,0,255
MouseScrollDownAction=[!SetVariable Offset (#Offset#-1)][!UpdateMeter *][!Redraw]
MouseScrollUpAction=[!SetVariable Offset (#Offset#+1)][!UpdateMeter *][!Redraw]
;MouseScrollDownAction=[!WriteKeyValue Variables Offset (#Offset#-1)][!Refresh]
;MouseScrollUpAction=[!WriteKeyValue Variables Offset (#Offset#+1)][!Refresh]
DynamicVariables=1
Expectation: The Shadow offset should change dynamically
Result: The Shadow offset doesn't change dynamically, so I have to use !WriteKeyValue and !Refresh bangs (commented above) as a workaround.
Question: Is this the expected behavior, a bug, a small note missing in the manual about the behavior? Something else that I missed? How to achieve it without refreshing the skin (or creating another meter to act as a "shadow" in the background)?
Last edited by Yincognito on August 20th, 2020, 8:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Profiles: Rainmeter ProfileDeviantArt ProfileSuites: MYiniMeterSkins: Earth
User avatar
Brian
Developer
Posts: 2679
Joined: November 24th, 2011, 1:42 am
Location: Utah

Re: [BUG?] Shadow InlineSetting support of dynamic variables

Post by Brian »

Good catch. This has been fixed for the next beta.

This also happened when dynamically changing the "blur" value as well.

-Brian
User avatar
Yincognito
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 7125
Joined: February 27th, 2015, 2:38 pm
Location: Terra Yincognita

Re: [BUG?] Shadow InlineSetting support of dynamic variables

Post by Yincognito »

Brian wrote: August 20th, 2020, 7:37 pm Good catch. This has been fixed for the next beta.

This also happened when dynamically changing the "blur" value as well.

-Brian
Yep, it wasn't my catch actually - it was discovered by nek here. I only posted the issue in the Bugs & Features section - can't believe I didn't notice it before, even though I worked with this kind of stuff on other posts. :???:
Profiles: Rainmeter ProfileDeviantArt ProfileSuites: MYiniMeterSkins: Earth
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22629
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: [BUG?] Shadow InlineSetting support of dynamic variables

Post by jsmorley »

Brian wrote: August 20th, 2020, 7:37 pm Good catch. This has been fixed for the next beta.

This also happened when dynamically changing the "blur" value as well.

-Brian
This fix has been released in the latest r3403 version of Rainmeter 4.4.
User avatar
Yincognito
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 7125
Joined: February 27th, 2015, 2:38 pm
Location: Terra Yincognita

Re: [BUG?] Shadow InlineSetting support of dynamic variables

Post by Yincognito »

jsmorley wrote: August 24th, 2020, 6:08 pm This fix has been released in the latest r3403 version of Rainmeter 4.4.
Excellent! :thumbup:
Profiles: Rainmeter ProfileDeviantArt ProfileSuites: MYiniMeterSkins: Earth