It is currently July 11th, 2020, 11:56 pm

High CPU usage by my typo in 4.3.1.3321

Report bugs with the Rainmeter application and suggest features.
nek
Posts: 22
Joined: November 3rd, 2019, 12:00 am

High CPU usage by my typo in 4.3.1.3321

Post by nek »

There is a typo in my skin.ini.

Code: Select all

Substitute=.*":""
When this skin.ini is loaded, Rainmeter.exe is doing something.

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
Update=60000
DefautlUpdateDivider=-1

[MeasureString]
Measure=String
RegExpSubstitute=1
Substitute=.*":""

[MeterString]
Meter=String
MeasureName=MeasureString
Text=%1
*If you load this skin.ini once, you need to kill Rainmeter.exe using taskmgr.exe
and get rid of the section from Rainmeter\Rainmeter.ini


I am happy if this will be fixed in next version.

==Rainmeter 4.3.1.3321 (64-bit)
==Windows 10 Pro 1803 64-bit (build 17134) - Japanese (1041)
no other skins, no plugins
Image
Image
Last edited by nek on November 26th, 2019, 4:51 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 21014
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: High CPU usage by my typo in 4.3.1.3321

Post by jsmorley »

The problem isn't the missing "quote", Rainmeter is fine with that in this case, we just assume one...

A regular expression Substitute=".*":"" is a fatal recursion. An endless loop. You are saying "change zero or more of any character into an empty string". It can never finish doing that... There will always be "zero or more" characters left for it to change.

There are any number of ways to get regular expression tied up in knots. Nothing we can do about that. Regular expression is what it is. Think of it as a "teaching moment"...

If you make that Substitute=".+":"" then it's ok. That is "change one or more of any character into an empty string".
nek
Posts: 22
Joined: November 3rd, 2019, 12:00 am

Re: High CPU usage by my typo in 4.3.1.3321

Post by nek »

Thank for your replay.
I will use ".+" instead of ".*" as possible.

I'm new here, but I know...
Thank you for jsmorley' hard work on Rainmeter community.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 21014
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: High CPU usage by my typo in 4.3.1.3321

Post by jsmorley »

nek wrote:
November 6th, 2019, 3:40 pm
Thank for your replay.
I will use ".+" instead of ".*" as possible.

I'm new here, but I know...
Thank you for jsmorley' hard work on Rainmeter community.
Glad to help.