It is currently April 25th, 2024, 10:37 am

Container bug

Report bugs with the Rainmeter application and suggest features.
User avatar
Cariboudjan
Posts: 268
Joined: May 12th, 2019, 8:55 am

Container bug

Post by Cariboudjan »

Relative position seems to be broken. Meters within the same container are not positioning themselves relative to one another. All meters are positioned at 0,0 regardless of whether it is the first or forty-eighth content meter in the series.

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]

;----------------------------------
[Variables]

BlockSize=50

;----------------------------------------------------
; Styles
;----------------------------------------------------

[ImageStyle]
W=#BlockSize#
H=#BlockSize#
X=R
Y=r
SolidColor=(5*#CURRENTSECTION#),(5*#CURRENTSECTION#),(5*#CURRENTSECTION#)
Container=Background
DynamicVariables=1
Group=Items

[BackgroundStyle]
LeftMouseDownAction=[]
UpdateDivider=-1

;----------------------------------------------------
; Background Meters
;----------------------------------------------------

[Background]
Meter=Shape
MeterStyle=BackgroundStyle
Shape=Rectangle 0,0,(#BlockSize#*6),(#BlockSize#*8),12
DynamicVariables=1

;----------------------------------------------------
; Item Names
;----------------------------------------------------

[1]
Meter=Image
MeterStyle=ImageStyle

[2]
Meter=Image
MeterStyle=ImageStyle

[3]
Meter=Image
MeterStyle=ImageStyle

[4]
Meter=Image
MeterStyle=ImageStyle

[5]
Meter=Image
MeterStyle=ImageStyle

[6]
Meter=Image
MeterStyle=ImageStyle

[7]
Meter=Image
MeterStyle=ImageStyle
X=1
Y=R

[8]
Meter=Image
MeterStyle=ImageStyle

[9]
Meter=Image
MeterStyle=ImageStyle

[10]
Meter=Image
MeterStyle=ImageStyle

[11]
Meter=Image
MeterStyle=ImageStyle

[12]
Meter=Image
MeterStyle=ImageStyle

[13]
Meter=Image
MeterStyle=ImageStyle
X=1
Y=R

[14]
Meter=Image
MeterStyle=ImageStyle

[15]
Meter=Image
MeterStyle=ImageStyle

[16]
Meter=Image
MeterStyle=ImageStyle

[17]
Meter=Image
MeterStyle=ImageStyle

[18]
Meter=Image
MeterStyle=ImageStyle

[19]
Meter=Image
MeterStyle=ImageStyle
X=1
Y=R

[20]
Meter=Image
MeterStyle=ImageStyle

[21]
Meter=Image
MeterStyle=ImageStyle

[22]
Meter=Image
MeterStyle=ImageStyle

[23]
Meter=Image
MeterStyle=ImageStyle

[24]
Meter=Image
MeterStyle=ImageStyle

[25]
Meter=Image
MeterStyle=ImageStyle
X=1
Y=R

[26]
Meter=Image
MeterStyle=ImageStyle

[27]
Meter=Image
MeterStyle=ImageStyle

[28]
Meter=Image
MeterStyle=ImageStyle

[29]
Meter=Image
MeterStyle=ImageStyle

[30]
Meter=Image
MeterStyle=ImageStyle

[31]
Meter=Image
MeterStyle=ImageStyle
X=1
Y=R

[32]
Meter=Image
MeterStyle=ImageStyle

[33]
Meter=Image
MeterStyle=ImageStyle

[34]
Meter=Image
MeterStyle=ImageStyle

[35]
Meter=Image
MeterStyle=ImageStyle

[36]
Meter=Image
MeterStyle=ImageStyle

[37]
Meter=Image
MeterStyle=ImageStyle
X=1
Y=R

[38]
Meter=Image
MeterStyle=ImageStyle

[39]
Meter=Image
MeterStyle=ImageStyle

[40]
Meter=Image
MeterStyle=ImageStyle

[41]
Meter=Image
MeterStyle=ImageStyle

[42]
Meter=Image
MeterStyle=ImageStyle

[43]
Meter=Image
MeterStyle=ImageStyle
X=1
Y=R

[44]
Meter=Image
MeterStyle=ImageStyle

[45]
Meter=Image
MeterStyle=ImageStyle

[46]
Meter=Image
MeterStyle=ImageStyle

[47]
Meter=Image
MeterStyle=ImageStyle

[48]
Meter=Image
MeterStyle=ImageStyle
Rainmeter 4.3.0.3298 (64-bit)
Language: English (1033)
Build time: 2019-03-18 11:00:34
Commit Hash: 3593c281
Windows 10 Home 1809 64-bit (build 17763) - English (1033)
User avatar
eclectic-tech
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 5406
Joined: April 12th, 2012, 9:40 pm
Location: Cedar Point, Ohio, USA

Re: Container bug

Post by eclectic-tech »

{: : Bump : :} :D
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22629
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Container bug

Post by jsmorley »

Yes, there is some problem with the "R" relative positioning element in conjunction with the Container functionality.

These seems to have happened during some change between the 4.3 r3283 and r3288 beta versions, but was never caught. Drat.

https://builds.rainmeter.net/4.3Beta/

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
Update=1000

[MeterBack]
Meter=Image
W=200
H=200
SolidColor=47,47,47,255

[MeterOne]
Meter=String
FontColor=255,255,255,255
FontSize=12
SolidColor=0,0,0,255
Text=Hello
Container=MeterBack

[MeterTwo]
Meter=String
Y=5R
FontColor=255,255,255,255
FontSize=12
SolidColor=0,0,0,255
Text=World
Container=MeterBack
We will look at fixing this for the very next release we do.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22629
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Container bug

Post by jsmorley »

Additional information, that may provide a "work around" until we can correct this.

This only is a problem if there are no "solid" meter(s) behind the container meter. If you create a solid but "invisible" meter behind the container, then the relative positioning works as expected.

So this is broken:

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
Update=1000
DynamicWindowSize=1

[MeterBack]
Meter=Image
W=200
H=200
SolidColor=47,47,47,255

[MeterOne]
Meter=String
Y=30
FontColor=255,255,255,255
FontSize=12
SolidColor=0,0,0,255
Text=Hello
Container=MeterBack

[MeterTwo]
Meter=String
Y=5R
FontColor=255,255,255,255
FontSize=12
SolidColor=0,0,0,255
Text=World
Container=MeterBack
But this is fine...

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
Update=1000
DynamicWindowSize=1

[MeterBackVisible]
Meter=Image
W=200
H=200
SolidColor=47,47,47,1

[MeterBack]
Meter=Image
W=200
H=200
SolidColor=47,47,47,255

[MeterOne]
Meter=String
Y=30
FontColor=255,255,255,255
FontSize=12
SolidColor=0,0,0,255
Text=Hello
Container=MeterBack

[MeterTwo]
Meter=String
Y=5R
FontColor=255,255,255,255
FontSize=12
SolidColor=0,0,0,255
Text=World
Container=MeterBack
User avatar
Jeff
Posts: 332
Joined: September 3rd, 2018, 11:18 am

Re: Container bug

Post by Jeff »

This was fixed in the latest alpha release but the first 6 meters are not showing (probably because Rainmeter thinks they are relative to the contained meter? idk, adding an invisible box didn't help either), an easy fix is just adding X=0 to [1]
Image
Just a bump to know that it works now :)
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22629
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Container bug

Post by jsmorley »

I'm confused. Is there still a problem or not?
User avatar
Jeff
Posts: 332
Joined: September 3rd, 2018, 11:18 am

Re: Container bug

Post by Jeff »

The bug where the position of all meters is 0,0 is fixed, relativity now works in containers (again), it's just a strange thing that the first 6 meters aren't showing, if you commentContainer=Background from [ImageStyle], you will see the 6 first meters are relative to the shape that is soon gonna be the container, if you uncomment Container=Background and you go to [7] and removeX=1 to make it use the X in the [ImageStyle] (X=r), it also dissapears (because it's relative to those invisible meters now, and again, doing the same process of uncommenting you will again see what it's actually like, even after making the Container meter bigger, they are still invisible)
Last edited by Jeff on September 21st, 2019, 3:22 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22629
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Container bug

Post by jsmorley »

Jeff wrote: September 21st, 2019, 3:20 pm The bug where the position of all meters is 0,0 is fixed, relativity now works in containers (again), it's just a strange thing that the first 6 meters aren't showing, if you commentContainer=Background from [ImageStyle], you will see the 6 first meters are relative to the shape that is soon gonna be the container, if you uncomment Container=Background and you go to [7] and removeX=1 to make it use the X in the [ImageStyle] (X=r), it also dissapears (because it's relative to those invisible meters now, and again, doing the same process of uncommenting you will again see what it's actually like)
I don't follow. I'd need the code.
User avatar
Jeff
Posts: 332
Joined: September 3rd, 2018, 11:18 am

Re: Container bug

Post by Jeff »

The code is what the author of the thread sent, I made a small video showing it.
A quick NOTE before you watch the video, on line 69 (hehe), [7] is NOW relative, not [7] is NOT relative. Also I suggest watching the video on double speed.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22629
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Container bug

Post by jsmorley »

Is there still a problem with the latest alpha version of Rainmeter or not?