It is currently August 18th, 2019, 2:05 pm

Incomplete ShowFade in 4.3?

Report bugs with the Rainmeter application and suggest features.
zin
Posts: 8
Joined: March 10th, 2019, 11:26 pm

Incomplete ShowFade in 4.3?

zin » March 26th, 2019, 12:54 am

I just downloaded 4.3 Rainmeter on my Lenovo laptop (replaced my 4.02? version, there seems to be a small bug with !ShowFade triggered by a mouseup action, the fade gets about 1/3 of the way through then stops, it will complete if you move the mouse a bit, I have no mouse hover actions in the skin, just one LeftMouseUpAction, skin here:

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
Update=1000
OnRefreshAction=[!KeepOnScreen 1][!SnapEdges 1][!SetVariable lx "(#CURRENTCONFIGX# + 0)"][!SetVariable ly "(#CURRENTCONFIGY# + 0)"][!SetVariable zx #lx#][!SetVariable zy #ly#]

[Metadata]
Name=Dark
Author=zingeo, balala, eclectic-tech
Information=draggable hot spot/strip to toggle fading fulldesktop cover, 
; varying dark color, then a mouse action anywhere to reset.
Version=1.1

[Variables]
; visibility toggle flag, 1 = desktop is visible
visible=1
; main screen size, one main monitor
sw=#SCREENAREAWIDTH#
sh=#SCREENAREAHEIGHT#
; virtual/entire desktop size, all monitors
vw=#VSCREENAREAWIDTH#
vh=#VSCREENAREAHEIGHT#
; actuator shape initial parms; adjust for spot or stripe
aw=5
ah=#SCREENAREAHEIGHT#
; current/next shape parms
cw=#aw#
ch=#ah#
; max color intensity (colorscale = highest r/g/b value) --- BRIGHTNESS 0-255
colorscale=24
colorscaleh=(#colorscale# / 2)
; 1000 / Update timer :
timescale=1

; initial random #, different start color every run-------------
[rnd]
Measure=Calc
DynamicVariables=1
Formula=([rnd] = 0 ? Random * 1234 : [rnd])

; main clock-----------------------------
[tick0]
Measure=Calc
DynamicVariables=1
formula=(tick0 + 1)

; main clock + random--------------------
[tick]
Measure=Calc
DynamicVariables=1
formula=(tick0 + rnd)

; red-------------------------------------------------------------------------
[mzR]
Measure=Calc
DynamicVariables=1
Formula=floor(sin([tick] / (13 * #timescale#)) * #colorscaleh# + #colorscaleh#)

; green-----------------------------------------------------------------------
[mzG]
Measure=Calc
DynamicVariables=1
Formula=floor(sin([tick] / (19 * #timescale#)) * #colorscaleh# + #colorscaleh#)

; blue------------------------------------------------------------------------
[mzB]
Measure=Calc
DynamicVariables=1
Formula=floor(sin([tick] / (17 * #timescale#)) * #colorscaleh# + #colorscaleh#)

; x/y origin control-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
[mzOrigxy]
Measure=Calc
DynamicVariables=1
Formula=1
IfCondition=(#visible# = 1)
IfTrueAction =[!ShowFade][!SetVariable cw #aw#][!SetVariable ch #ah#][!UpdateMeter *][!Redraw][!Move #zx# #zy#]
IfFalseAction=[!Hide][!SetVariable cw #vw#][!SetVariable ch #vh#][!UpdateMeter *][!ShowFade][!Redraw][!Move 0    0   ]

; meter: actuator spot/strip, or whole desktop shape---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
[mtSS]
Meter=Shape
DynamicVariables=1
Shape=Rectangle 0,0,#cw#,#ch# | Fill color ([mzR]),([mzG]),([mzB]),255 
LeftMouseUpAction=[!SetVariable visible "(1 - #visible#)"][!SetVariable zx #lx#][!SetVariable zy #ly#][!SetVariable lx #CURRENTCONFIGX#][!SetVariable ly #CURRENTCONFIGY#][!UpdateMeasure mzOrigxy]
The skin is a work in progress, and makes the entire left edge of the screen (or a draggable corner in some versions) a hot-spot for triggering a full desktop "dark" effect, hiding it and making a slowly changing darkish coloring, until you click again.
There might be an issue elsewhere in the code, but it is manifesting as an incompleted fade unless the mouse is moved, not a problem since I move the mouse down anyway, but it never happened in earlier versions.
I wish I could blank or move the mouse automatically, I tried a blank cursor but couldn't get it to work, will try it again in 4.3.

zin
Last edited by eclectic-tech on March 26th, 2019, 12:59 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Please use code tags. It is the </> symbol.
User avatar
eclectic-tech
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 3478
Joined: April 12th, 2012, 9:40 pm
Location: Cedar Point, Ohio, USA

Re: Incomplete ShowFade in 4.3?

eclectic-tech » March 26th, 2019, 1:54 am

I am not seeing that problem with your code. It blanks the screen when clicked (not moving the mouse)... you might want to try changing "Use hardware acceleration" on/off in the "Settings" tab. Also make sure your video drivers are the latest version for your system.

Stats:
Rainmeter 4.3.0.3298 (64-bit)
Language: English (1033)
Build time: 2019-03-18 11:00:34
Commit Hash: 3593c281
Windows 10 Pro 1903 64-bit (build 18356) - English (1033)
Path: C:\Program Files\Rainmeter\
SkinPath: C:\Users\John\Rainmeter\Skins\
SettingsPath: C:\Users\John\AppData\Roaming\Rainmeter\
IniFile: C:\Users\John\AppData\Roaming\Rainmeter\Rainmeter.ini
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 19372
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Incomplete ShowFade in 4.3?

jsmorley » March 26th, 2019, 2:02 am

Correct. This is almost certainly a video driver issue.
zin
Posts: 8
Joined: March 10th, 2019, 11:26 pm

Re: Incomplete ShowFade in 4.3?

zin » March 26th, 2019, 5:29 pm

Hardware Accel didn't affect it, I will look into the drivers...
zin