It is currently September 21st, 2019, 4:10 pm

ressource cpu + 30%

Report bugs with the Rainmeter application and suggest features.
explozion
Posts: 1
Joined: March 18th, 2019, 5:23 pm

ressource cpu + 30%

explozion » March 18th, 2019, 5:28 pm

motherboard z370p d3 , intel core i5 8600 , 12go ram
with update 4.2 i have 20 22% cpu with update 4.3 i have 50 60% cpu usage only rainmeter processus wtf
i have delete 4.3 directly 4.2 as better
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 19474
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: ressource cpu + 30%

jsmorley » March 18th, 2019, 5:30 pm

explozion wrote:
March 18th, 2019, 5:28 pm
motherboard z370p d3 , intel core i5 8600 , 12go ram
with update 4.2 i have 20 22% cpu with update 4.3 i have 50 60% cpu usage only rainmeter processus wtf
i have delete 4.3 directly 4.2 as better
Try turning Hardware Acceleration on in Settings and see if that helps...

You have some godawful skin(s) running if it was ever using 20-22% of CPU with 4.2. No doubt some audio "visualizer" skin that is tearing up the CPU. Hardware Acceleration may help, but still...

I have 25 skins loaded and running and Rainmeter 4.3 uses 0.2-0.4% of CPU.
izanagi7
Posts: 1
Joined: April 10th, 2019, 5:03 am

Re: ressource cpu + 30%

izanagi7 » April 10th, 2019, 5:57 am

Image

How do I enable hardware acceleration?
User avatar
Jeff
Posts: 54
Joined: September 3rd, 2018, 11:18 am

Re: ressource cpu + 30%

Jeff » April 10th, 2019, 10:02 am

Image just restart rainmeter after
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 8634
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: ressource cpu + 30%

balala » April 10th, 2019, 3:27 pm

After checking the Use hardware acceleration (as shown above by Jeff), as the checkbox says you have to restart Rainmeter (not the computer). Close it completely and start it again. If you don't do this, the setting won't be applied.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 19474
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: ressource cpu + 30%

jsmorley » April 10th, 2019, 3:32 pm

The image you posted is not the latest release version of Rainmeter.
User avatar
Ariel
Posts: 10
Joined: September 16th, 2012, 11:13 am

Re: ressource cpu + 30%

Ariel » May 1st, 2019, 5:38 pm

Same here.
windows 7 64 bit core i7 Intel HD 4600.
version 4.2 - 5% of cpu (lot of heavy skins)
v 4.3 - 40% cpu and very slow work of program.
Also I noticed that "DbgUiRemoteBreakin" threads of rainmeter also use lot of CPU as well as main thread.
After turning Hardware Acceleration on in Settings CPU usage lowered to 12%, but animations of widgets are laggy.

(Temporarily reversed to 4.2)
Thank you for support.
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 8634
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: ressource cpu + 30%

balala » May 1st, 2019, 6:17 pm

Ariel wrote:
May 1st, 2019, 5:38 pm
Same here.
Is updated the driver of your video card?
User avatar
AlphaUMi
Posts: 3
Joined: June 13th, 2018, 4:17 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1

Re: ressource cpu + 30%

AlphaUMi » June 18th, 2019, 6:14 pm

I would like to add my voice to this thread. I too noticed the high CPU usage, Hardware acceleration or not. Rainmeter consumes a lot of CPU even with few skins. This can be related to the latest Windows 10 v1903, maybe.

My specs:
Windows 10 Home v1903
Intel i7 5500U
Nvidia GTX 950M
8GB ram
"Vitam impendere vero"
User avatar
Pul53dr1v3r
Posts: 211
Joined: July 30th, 2014, 10:30 am

Re: ressource cpu + 30%

Pul53dr1v3r » June 18th, 2019, 8:59 pm

AlphaUMi wrote:
June 18th, 2019, 6:14 pm
I would like to add my voice to this thread. I too noticed the high CPU usage, Hardware acceleration or not. Rainmeter consumes a lot of CPU even with few skins. This can be related to the latest Windows 10 v1903, maybe.
It could be since every new ver. of the Win 10 is worse and worse as to hardware usage: Image

But we can optimize it at least a bit: www.loginvsi.com.
I'm using VMware OS Optimization Tool for general optimization and O&O ShutUp10 to disable Windows Updates, spyware tasks and some more.

You should disable all the unused sensors in the software you are using with Rainmeter: disable sensors in HWiNFO. Also check out your AV software and disable auto scans, auto updates (me myself do it manually every few days), application updates etc. If one wanna keep all the settings on auto, he will lose a good part of his PC/notebook. When all the main programs are closed apart from Rainmeter, AV and HWiNFO for instance, Net, CPU and Disk usage should be minimal if not 0.