It is currently March 28th, 2024, 3:28 pm

[Suggestion] Allow changing context menu title

Report bugs with the Rainmeter application and suggest features.
Post Reply
User avatar
SilverAzide
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 2588
Joined: March 23rd, 2015, 5:26 pm
Contact:

[Suggestion] Allow changing context menu title

Post by SilverAzide »

Hello,

I have a minor suggestion for the skin context menus. Per the documentation, if you have any context menus, the options will be placed under a menu or submenu with the title "Custom skin actions". How about if we could have the ability to change the title on this menu? For example:

[Rainmeter]
ContextMenu="Skin Settings"
ContextTitle=Blah
ContextAction=[!Something]
ContextTitle2=Blah
ContextAction2=[!Something]
ContextTitle3=Blah
ContextAction3=[!Something]
ContextTitle4=Blah
ContextAction4=[!Something]
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22628
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: [Suggestion] Allow changing context menu title

Post by jsmorley »

We had considered that at the time, and decided against it, since the likelihood of it being called "Settings" or something else that logically if not technically conflicts with existing submenus is high. Let's face it, they would all end up being called "Settings" or "Skin Settings" both of which are just confusing with the existing "Settings" submenu... When we tell people to open Settings and change Keep on Screen, we want that to have a consistent meaning for a new user. Sorry, but we decided that Rainmeter owns the term "Settings", and we want the "Custom" actions to be unambiguously custom.

I think a better option in any case is something like this:

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
ContextTitle=Blah
ContextAction=[SomeThing]
ContextTitle2=Blah
ContextAction2=[SomeThing]
ContextTitle3=---
ContextAction3=[]
ContextTitle4=Blah
ContextAction4=[SomeThing]
ContextTitle5=Blah
ContextAction5=[SomeThing]
ContextTitle6=---
ContextAction6=[]
ContextTitle7=More Actions...
ContextAction7=[!SkinMenu]
RightMouseUpAction=[!SkinCustomMenu]
So a right-click opens your custom menu, no "title" needed, although you could certainly add one, and at the bottom of it is an option to open the normal menu. This is the approach I use in all my more complex skins. If I know what I want is "Refresh skin" and want to get there quickly, I just hold down CTRL when I right-click. That overrides the RightMouseUpAction.
1.png
On less complex skins, where I don't need more than three custom items, I just let that grayed-out "Custom skin actions" tell users that what is in that section is custom. That's ok too.
2.png
User avatar
SilverAzide
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 2588
Joined: March 23rd, 2015, 5:26 pm
Contact:

Re: [Suggestion] Allow changing context menu title

Post by SilverAzide »

jsmorley wrote:I think a better option in any case is something like this:
O.O Holy crap... I didn't know you could do that!
Guess I should RTFM, eh? ;-) :17readbook
User avatar
SilverAzide
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 2588
Joined: March 23rd, 2015, 5:26 pm
Contact:

Re: [Suggestion] Allow changing context menu title

Post by SilverAzide »

P.S.: Cool wallpaper... :)
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22628
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: [Suggestion] Allow changing context menu title

Post by jsmorley »

SilverAzide wrote:P.S.: Cool wallpaper... :)
Image

https://alpha.wallhaven.cc/wallpaper/628536
Post Reply