It is currently March 29th, 2024, 9:31 am

[BUG] CoreTemp - no individual clockspeeds, multis and Vids

Report bugs with the Rainmeter application and suggest features.
User avatar
protator
Posts: 26
Joined: October 14th, 2014, 11:15 pm

[BUG] CoreTemp - no individual clockspeeds, multis and Vids

Post by protator »

I tried different builds of the CoreTemp app, which all work fine on my machine. They all show the individual cores multipliers, speeds and voltages of my cpu when I open the system info tab.

The rainmeter plugin seems to read the values for core/HT loads and individual core temps correctly.

But not matter what CoreTempIndex I set for either CpuSpeed, BusSpeed, BusMultiplier or Vid, my meters only display the highest current value among all the cores.
For example with 23 threads idling with a multi of 12x and 1 HT core in full boost at 34x, all meters meters show max clockspeed.

I really hope this can be fixed quickly. :(
User avatar
CyberTheWorm
Posts: 860
Joined: August 22nd, 2016, 11:32 pm
Location: Surrey, B.C., Canada

Re: [BUG] CoreTemp - no individual clockspeeds, multis and Vids

Post by CyberTheWorm »

can you post your code?
The only source of knowledge is experience. Albert Einstein
Deviant Art Page
User avatar
protator
Posts: 26
Joined: October 14th, 2014, 11:15 pm

Re: [BUG] CoreTemp - no individual clockspeeds, multis and Vids

Post by protator »

Edit:

Ok, guess there's not much interest in CoreTemp anymore.

I've switched to HWiNFO now. With everything unneccessary disabled it's just as light as CT.
Bekarfel
Posts: 217
Joined: May 16th, 2012, 5:38 am

Re: [BUG] CoreTemp - no individual clockspeeds, multis and Vids

Post by Bekarfel »

I can verify this behavior,
Image
with this code

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
Update              = 20
MiddleMouseUpAction = [!Refresh]
AccurateText        = 1
DynamicWindowSize   = 1
ydist=4

[MeasureCPUBusSpeed0]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Coretemp
CoreTempType=BusSpeed
CoreTempIndex=0
[MeasureCPUBusSpeed1]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Coretemp
CoreTempType=BusSpeed
CoreTempIndex=1
[MeasureCPUBusSpeed2]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Coretemp
CoreTempType=BusSpeed
CoreTempIndex=2
[MeasureCPUBusSpeed3]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Coretemp
CoreTempType=BusSpeed
CoreTempIndex=3
[MeasureCPUBusSpeed4]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Coretemp
CoreTempType=BusSpeed
CoreTempIndex=4
[MeasureCPUBusSpeed5]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Coretemp
CoreTempType=BusSpeed
CoreTempIndex=5
[MeasureCPUBusSpeed6]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Coretemp
CoreTempType=BusSpeed
CoreTempIndex=6
[MeasureCPUBusSpeed7]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Coretemp
CoreTempType=BusSpeed
CoreTempIndex=7

[MeasureCPUBusMultiplier0]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Coretemp
CoreTempType=BusMultiplier
CoreTempIndex=0
[MeasureCPUBusMultiplier1]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Coretemp
CoreTempType=BusMultiplier
CoreTempIndex=1
[MeasureCPUBusMultiplier2]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Coretemp
CoreTempType=BusMultiplier
CoreTempIndex=2
[MeasureCPUBusMultiplier3]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Coretemp
CoreTempType=BusMultiplier
CoreTempIndex=3
[MeasureCPUBusMultiplier4]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Coretemp
CoreTempType=BusMultiplier
CoreTempIndex=4
[MeasureCPUBusMultiplier5]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Coretemp
CoreTempType=BusMultiplier
CoreTempIndex=5
[MeasureCPUBusMultiplier6]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Coretemp
CoreTempType=BusMultiplier
CoreTempIndex=6
[MeasureCPUBusMultiplier7]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Coretemp
CoreTempType=BusMultiplier
CoreTempIndex=7

[MeasureCPUCpuSpeed0]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Coretemp
CoreTempType=CpuSpeed
CoreTempIndex=0
[MeasureCPUCpuSpeed1]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Coretemp
CoreTempType=CpuSpeed
CoreTempIndex=1
[MeasureCPUCpuSpeed2]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Coretemp
CoreTempType=CpuSpeed
CoreTempIndex=2
[MeasureCPUCpuSpeed3]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Coretemp
CoreTempType=CpuSpeed
CoreTempIndex=3
[MeasureCPUCpuSpeed4]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Coretemp
CoreTempType=CpuSpeed
CoreTempIndex=4
[MeasureCPUCpuSpeed5]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Coretemp
CoreTempType=CpuSpeed
CoreTempIndex=5
[MeasureCPUCpuSpeed6]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Coretemp
CoreTempType=CpuSpeed
CoreTempIndex=6
[MeasureCPUCpuSpeed7]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Coretemp
CoreTempType=CpuSpeed
CoreTempIndex=7

[MeterBG]
Meter=Shape
Shape=Rectangle 0,0,175,160
Color=0,0,0,5
[MeterCPUBusSpeed0]
x=2
y=2
Meter=String
NumOfDecimals=4
MeasureName=MeasureCPUCPUSpeed0
MeasureName2=MeasureCPUBusSpeed0
MeasureName3=MeasureCPUBusMultiplier0
Text=%1 %2 %3
FontColor=1,1,1
[MeterCPUBusSpeed1]
x=0r
y=20r
Meter=String
NumOfDecimals=4
MeasureName=MeasureCPUCPUSpeed1
MeasureName2=MeasureCPUBusSpeed1
MeasureName3=MeasureCPUBusMultiplier1
Text=%1 %2 %3
FontColor=1,1,1
[MeterCPUBusSpeed2]
x=0r
y=20r
Meter=String
NumOfDecimals=4
MeasureName=MeasureCPUCPUSpeed2
MeasureName2=MeasureCPUBusSpeed2
MeasureName3=MeasureCPUBusMultiplier2
Text=%1 %2 %3
FontColor=1,1,1
[MeterCPUBusSpeed3]
x=0r
y=20r
Meter=String
NumOfDecimals=4
MeasureName=MeasureCPUCPUSpeed3
MeasureName2=MeasureCPUBusSpeed3
MeasureName3=MeasureCPUBusMultiplier3
Text=%1 %2 %3
FontColor=1,1,1
[MeterCPUBusSpeed4]
x=0r
y=20r
Meter=String
NumOfDecimals=4
MeasureName=MeasureCPUCPUSpeed4
MeasureName2=MeasureCPUBusSpeed4
MeasureName3=MeasureCPUBusMultiplier4
Text=%1 %2 %3
FontColor=1,1,1
[MeterCPUBusSpeed5]
x=0r
y=20r
Meter=String
NumOfDecimals=4
MeasureName=MeasureCPUCPUSpeed5
MeasureName2=MeasureCPUBusSpeed5
MeasureName3=MeasureCPUBusMultiplier5
Text=%1 %2 %3
FontColor=1,1,1
[MeterCPUBusSpeed6]
x=0r
y=20r
Meter=String
NumOfDecimals=4
MeasureName=MeasureCPUCPUSpeed6
MeasureName2=MeasureCPUBusSpeed6
MeasureName3=MeasureCPUBusMultiplier6
Text=%1 %2 %3
FontColor=1,1,1
[MeterCPUBusSpeed7]
x=0r
y=20r
Meter=String
NumOfDecimals=4
MeasureName=MeasureCPUCPUSpeed7
MeasureName2=MeasureCPUBusSpeed7
MeasureName3=MeasureCPUBusMultiplier7
Text=%1 %2 %3
FontColor=1,1,1
moshi wrote:there are many Rainmeter skins that aren't really useful, so let's add another one.
jsmorley wrote:I have good news and bad news.
First the bad news. [...] We would be happy to have this happen and would love to work with anyone who is feeling ambitious.
Now the good news.
I lied, there isn't any good news...
User avatar
CyberTheWorm
Posts: 860
Joined: August 22nd, 2016, 11:32 pm
Location: Surrey, B.C., Canada

Re: [BUG] CoreTemp - no individual clockspeeds, multis and Vids

Post by CyberTheWorm »

I just checked your code and it works the same as mine. I have found that very rarely do the cores have different speeds.
cpu.PNG
cpu1.PNG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
The only source of knowledge is experience. Albert Einstein
Deviant Art Page
User avatar
protator
Posts: 26
Joined: October 14th, 2014, 11:15 pm

Re: [BUG] CoreTemp - no individual clockspeeds, multis and Vids

Post by protator »

It's a real bummer.
HWiNFO at least gives me 12 individual clockspeeds for my 12 physical cores and I can live with that.
But my Haswell EP Xeon has parts of it's cores physically duplicated and runs each virtual core/thread with an individual multiplier.
24 threads, 24 diferent clockspeeds.
And of the monitoring apps I know CoreTemp is the only one that reads these individual core clocks.
(there's also CIV, but the app has no option to adjust it's sensor update frequencies and the threat for the plugin seems dead)

Image
And compared to HWiNFO CoreTemp uses less system resources and cpu time.

I wouldn'd mind writing a new plugin myself, but rainmeter scripts are pretty much the full extend of my coding abilities.
No idea where to even start ...
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22628
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: [BUG] CoreTemp - no individual clockspeeds, multis and Vids

Post by jsmorley »

HWiNFO shows individual clock speeds for me...
1.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
protator
Posts: 26
Joined: October 14th, 2014, 11:15 pm

Re: [BUG] CoreTemp - no individual clockspeeds, multis and Vids

Post by protator »

For me too.
But, like I said, unfortunately HWiNFO only shows physical cores. And some - if not most - of Intel's HyperThreading CPUs actually do not have both threads per core run at the same clockspeed...as shown in my screenshot.
Most monitoring apps simply ignore that fact and just display the speed of the thread that's running faster that moment.

CoreTemp on the other hand reads the multipliers and resulting clockspeeds of all virtual cores.
Which is why I'd prefer to keep using CoreTemp for my RM skins ... if the plugin can be fixed.
Cause right now the CoreTemp plugin only reads a single value for clockspeed, multiplier, busspeed and Vid and slaps it onto all cores. In short: it's broken und useless.
Last edited by protator on March 5th, 2017, 11:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22628
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: [BUG] CoreTemp - no individual clockspeeds, multis and Vids

Post by jsmorley »

I'll ask the author to take a look at this thread, but I have to say that while he is still active with CoreTemp, he hasn't messed with the Rainmeter plugin for a very long time.
User avatar
protator
Posts: 26
Joined: October 14th, 2014, 11:15 pm

Re: [BUG] CoreTemp - no individual clockspeeds, multis and Vids

Post by protator »

Well, we're obviously a quite demanding bunch ^^.

Thx jsmorley, much appreciated.