Page 2 of 3

Re: [Suggestion] Rainmeter should know when a fullscreen application is running

Posted: April 15th, 2018, 4:27 pm
by StArL0rd84
Would be nice to know what process is currently full screen.

Re: [Suggestion] Rainmeter should know when a fullscreen application is running

Posted: April 15th, 2018, 10:28 pm
by kyriakos876
StArL0rd84 wrote:Would be nice to know what process is currently full screen.
Maybe this plugin can help you with that.

Re: [Suggestion] Rainmeter should know when a fullscreen application is running

Posted: April 16th, 2018, 12:32 am
by fadedrobin
Is there a way to fix the desktop thing because it thinks my desktop is a fullscreen window?

Re: [Suggestion] Rainmeter should know when a fullscreen application is running

Posted: April 16th, 2018, 12:53 am
by kyriakos876
fadedrobin wrote:Is there a way to fix the desktop thing because it thinks my desktop is a fullscreen window?
I don't know, but you can probably exclude your desktop.

Re: [Suggestion] Rainmeter should know when a fullscreen application is running

Posted: April 16th, 2018, 5:19 am
by StArL0rd84
kyriakos876 wrote:Maybe this plugin can help you with that.
ahh I see. I'll test that. Tnx

Re: [Suggestion] Rainmeter should know when a fullscreen application is running

Posted: April 16th, 2018, 2:55 pm
by fadedrobin
kyriakos876 wrote:I don't know, but you can probably exclude your desktop.
How would I go about doing that?

Re: [Suggestion] Rainmeter should know when a fullscreen application is running

Posted: April 16th, 2018, 4:18 pm
by kyriakos876
fadedrobin wrote:How would I go about doing that?
I actually tried it and I don't get the desktop as fullscreen.... so this works normally:

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
Update=1000
AccurateText=1

[MeasureQuickBang]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=QuickBang
InfoType=ActiveProcess
InfoType=IsFullScreen
HandleUpdate=1
Showlog=1

[MeasureFullScreenAction]
Measure=String
String=[MeasureQuickBang:]
IfMatch=1
IfMatchAction=[!ShowMeter MeterIs][!HideMeter MeterIsNot][!Update]
IfNotMatchAction=[!ShowMeter MeterIsNot][!HideMeter MeterIs][!Update]
DynamicVariables=1

[MeterIs]
Meter=String
Text="Something is full screen"
FontColor=255,255,0
FontSize=20
AntiAlias=1
Hidden=1

[MeterIsNot]
Meter=String
Text="Nothing is full screen."
FontColor=255,255,0
FontSize=20
AntiAlias=1
Hidden=1

Re: [Suggestion] Rainmeter should know when a fullscreen application is running

Posted: April 16th, 2018, 5:13 pm
by fadedrobin
kyriakos876 wrote:I actually tried it and I don't get the desktop as fullscreen.... so this works normally:

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
Update=1000
AccurateText=1

[MeasureQuickBang]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=QuickBang
InfoType=ActiveProcess
InfoType=IsFullScreen
HandleUpdate=1
Showlog=1

[MeasureFullScreenAction]
Measure=String
String=[MeasureQuickBang:]
IfMatch=1
IfMatchAction=[!ShowMeter MeterIs][!HideMeter MeterIsNot][!Update]
IfNotMatchAction=[!ShowMeter MeterIsNot][!HideMeter MeterIs][!Update]
DynamicVariables=1

[MeterIs]
Meter=String
Text="Something is full screen"
FontColor=255,255,0
FontSize=20
AntiAlias=1
Hidden=1

[MeterIsNot]
Meter=String
Text="Nothing is full screen."
FontColor=255,255,0
FontSize=20
AntiAlias=1
Hidden=1
Now when I use it it doesn't think the desktop is a full screen app after a restart? That's weird and not very consistent.

Re: [Suggestion] Rainmeter should know when a fullscreen application is running

Posted: April 16th, 2018, 6:24 pm
by StArL0rd84
kyriakos876 wrote:Maybe this plugin can help you with that.
Tested it and it does not work with full screen games. Only desktop applications :(

Re: [Suggestion] Rainmeter should know when a fullscreen application is running

Posted: April 16th, 2018, 6:52 pm
by jsmorley
My plugin will detect any full-screen window on the primary screen that has "focus", and I have found it to be reliable with desktop apps and games, and it specifically ignores the window created by the Windows Desktop.

It doesn't, and can't really, know what "program" owns this window, as it is strictly based on the window "handle". It's just asking "Is the window that currently has focus running in full-screen mode?" In general, "programs" aren't full-screen, "windows" are. It could probably be done, and anyone that wants to is welcome to track back through the breadcrumbs to retrieve the PID and thus the name of the program that started the window, but I'd rather not bulk up this plugin with that. It's free to change and distribute as you see fit though.

https://forum.rainmeter.net/viewtopic.php?p=122046#p122046