It is currently March 29th, 2024, 8:38 am

Empty "blank" characters not showing when using UseD2D=1

Report bugs with the Rainmeter application and suggest features.
User avatar
moshi
Posts: 1740
Joined: November 13th, 2012, 9:53 pm

Re: Empty "blank" characters not showing when using UseD2D=1

Post by moshi »

what i noticed a while ago, but it's probably still the same:

there's a feed that uses tabs for nicer look (sadly such feeds exist)
at first i did not notice them and therefore did not substitute them.
after parsing i overwrite a variable with the measure.
trailing whitespace does not get overwritten, and so the variable gets longer and longer with every overwrite.
of course that is not visible in a meter, but still the file that stores the variable would get bigger and bigger all the time.
User avatar
Brian
Developer
Posts: 2674
Joined: November 24th, 2011, 1:42 am
Location: Utah

Re: Empty "blank" characters not showing when using UseD2D=1

Post by Brian »

This is fixed for the next beta.

-Brian
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22628
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Empty "blank" characters not showing when using UseD2D=1

Post by jsmorley »

What we fixed was to make the behavior of the Text option on String meters consistent when UseD2D is 0 or 1.

If you enclose the Text option in quotes, then any spaces, leading or trailing, are displayed. If you don't enclose the option in quotes, then any leading or trailing spaces are ignored.
User avatar
Virginityrocks
Posts: 478
Joined: February 26th, 2011, 10:22 pm

Re: Empty "blank" characters not showing when using UseD2D=1

Post by Virginityrocks »

:thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup: :bow: :rosegift: :rolmfao: :oops: Thank you!
Droptop Four
Dropdown menu bar & app launcher for Windows & Rainmeter
User avatar
Virginityrocks
Posts: 478
Joined: February 26th, 2011, 10:22 pm

Re: Empty "blank" characters not showing when using UseD2D=1

Post by Virginityrocks »

Just catching up. I see that r1995 allowed trailing spaces to correctly display when in quotes. I'm using r1995, but the spaces aren't displaying. I'm just antsy trying to use the new feature, because it would avoid complications when users save the INI in the wrong encoding.

Image
Droptop Four
Dropdown menu bar & app launcher for Windows & Rainmeter
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22628
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Empty "blank" characters not showing when using UseD2D=1

Post by jsmorley »

Works fine for me:

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
Update=1000

[Variables]
SomeVar=Mad Dogs and Englishmen

[MeterOne]
Meter=String
FontSize=14
FontColor=0,0,0,255
SolidColor=150,150,150,255
AntiAlias=1
Text=" #SomeVar# "
7-13-2013 7-13-19 AM.jpg
Your background has rounded corners, so I suspect it is an image. How are you setting the width of the image meter?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Virginityrocks
Posts: 478
Joined: February 26th, 2011, 10:22 pm

Re: Empty "blank" characters not showing when using UseD2D=1

Post by Virginityrocks »

It's using the width of the string. Do you think that's the issue? But it couldn't be. "Game Library", "Bookmarks", etc. all move backward when the space is removed from the string, since they are positioned relative to one another.
Droptop Four
Dropdown menu bar & app launcher for Windows & Rainmeter
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22628
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Empty "blank" characters not showing when using UseD2D=1

Post by jsmorley »

Not sure. This works equally well for me:

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
Update=1000

[Variables]
SomeVar=Mad Dogs and Englishmen

[MeterBack]
Meter=Image
W=[MeterOne:W]
H=[MeterOne:H]
SolidColor=150,150,150,255
DynamicVariables=1

[MeterOne]
Meter=String
FontSize=14
FontColor=0,0,0,255
AntiAlias=1
Text=" #SomeVar# "
So maybe it is something about the actual image you are using. I can't put my finger on your issue. Everything I try just works.
User avatar
Virginityrocks
Posts: 478
Joined: February 26th, 2011, 10:22 pm

Re: Empty "blank" characters not showing when using UseD2D=1

Post by Virginityrocks »

Yes. I vaguely remember trying out the new feature when r1995 first came out, and it worked fine. But I haven't used it again until now. I also can't think of anything that would cause it. I'm going to try a few things and see what may resolve the issue, but I can't think of any reason why the way the skins are made or encoded would affect it.

EDIT: I tested the code you posted. Same result.

Image

I tried reinstalling r1995. No change.
I tried various encodings. No change.
I tried uninstalling and reinstalling Rainmeter. No change.

Actually. Wait. Does this trailing spaces feature only work when I use UseD2D=1? Or does it work with UseD2D=0 as well?
Last edited by Virginityrocks on July 13th, 2013, 11:37 am, edited 1 time in total.
Droptop Four
Dropdown menu bar & app launcher for Windows & Rainmeter
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22628
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Empty "blank" characters not showing when using UseD2D=1

Post by jsmorley »

How is the .ini file encoded? That shouldn't matter, but just curious. Are those actual vanilla spaces before and after the text? Also are you SURE you are running r1995 and have UseD2D=1?