It is currently July 30th, 2021, 3:38 am

⭐ Weather.com

Weather skins
User avatar
SilverAzide
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 1383
Joined: March 23rd, 2015, 5:26 pm

Re: ⭐ Weather.com

Post by SilverAzide »

gerryex wrote: May 26th, 2020, 10:31 pm I tried it again and ran CCleaner several times and it said it deleted files but any skin using Weather.com is still not working. The skin using Yahoo.com IS working.
Make sure you do the last step in pul53dr1v3r's recommendation. It's the step that worked for me. Internet Options > General > Settings > View files, and delete everything. I had files in that folder even after clearing the cache/cookies using the Delete option.
Gadgets Wiki GitHub More Gadgets...
gerryex
Posts: 37
Joined: January 14th, 2018, 8:12 pm

Re: ⭐ Weather.com

Post by gerryex »

I just tried the substitution of that code in the file but the weather.com skins still do not work!

I also tried deleting all the files in the "Internet options . . . . view files" and that also did not work. And as indicated in another post there are some files that remain in that folder even after clearing everything. But again it did not work for me.
User avatar
Nickson
Posts: 8
Joined: May 10th, 2020, 7:02 pm

Re: ⭐ Weather.com

Post by Nickson »

The data structure changed!
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 21990
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: ⭐ Weather.com

Post by jsmorley »

Nickson wrote: May 26th, 2020, 10:51 pm The data structure changed!
Not for me...


1.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 21990
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: ⭐ Weather.com

Post by jsmorley »

No doubt about it, weather.com is acting really weird right now.

I have found that after clearing the IE cache, it pays to wait about one minute before restarting Rainmeter.
User avatar
Nickson
Posts: 8
Joined: May 10th, 2020, 7:02 pm

Re: ⭐ Weather.com

Post by Nickson »

Do you have the new page layout?
asdf.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 21990
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: ⭐ Weather.com

Post by jsmorley »

Nickson wrote: May 26th, 2020, 11:06 pm Do you have the new page layout?

asdf.png
Yes, but that is just the HTML. That is going to change all the time. I don't use the HTML from the site. I use the embedded JSON code, which at least for me, is normally very consistent. There is something very weird going on right now with the site and the way IE is storing cached data and / or cookies, and that is causing some grief, but as far as I can tell, the structure of the JSON is still consistent.

I don't want to jump to conclusions or panic. I really want to very carefully test and try different things to see if I can figure out EXACTLY what is going on and what isn't, and what the exact steps are that can prevent or fix it when it happens.
User avatar
Nickson
Posts: 8
Joined: May 10th, 2020, 7:02 pm

Re: ⭐ Weather.com

Post by Nickson »

For me the JSON data structure is completely different from before...
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 21990
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: ⭐ Weather.com

Post by jsmorley »

Nickson wrote: May 26th, 2020, 11:22 pm For me the JSON data structure is completely different from before...
That is indicative of the "cache / cookie" problem that we have been chasing for several days now. I suspect you will find that if you take the exact steps I have outlined in:

https://forum.rainmeter.net/viewtopic.php?f=118&t=35342&p=177064#p177064

You will find that all is once again well. At least for a while. We are still chewing on this...
User avatar
SilverAzide
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 1383
Joined: March 23rd, 2015, 5:26 pm

Re: ⭐ Weather.com

Post by SilverAzide »

jsmorley wrote: May 26th, 2020, 11:09 pm I don't want to jump to conclusions or panic. I really want to very carefully test and try different things to see if I can figure out EXACTLY what is going on and what isn't, and what the exact steps are that can prevent or fix it when it happens.
I'm not getting this error now that I've gotten the fix to work, but I expect it will return. I'm wondering if -- on machine that is having the problem -- a call to the weather.com URL using cURL instead of WebParser would return the same thing. And I wonder if the PowerShell "curl" would give different results than the "real cURL" (at curl.haxx.se). I guess where I'm going with this line of thought is if WebParser might need to change from using Win32/IE to using libcurl or the .NET Framework.
Gadgets Wiki GitHub More Gadgets...