It is currently April 18th, 2024, 6:14 am

illustroWorldTime

Clocks and timer skins
User avatar
eclectic-tech
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 5391
Joined: April 12th, 2012, 9:40 pm
Location: Cedar Point, Ohio, USA

illustroWorldTime

Post by eclectic-tech »

illustroWorldTime.png
Download from DA
6 Locations ~ Day and Time

Thanks to moshi's suggestions (and code :sly: ):
Updated to use Yandex time site
Corrects for Daylight Savings
Shows Time offset from GMT on mouseover name

(Pay no attention to the incorrect times in the preview... I just notice that! DA shows an updated view!)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by eclectic-tech on June 25th, 2015, 10:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
moshi
Posts: 1740
Joined: November 13th, 2012, 9:53 pm

Re: illustroWorldTime

Post by moshi »

95% of the users wont notice and will be just happy that there is something displayed

it will show the wrong times though every now and then. daylight saving time is not an easy task for Rainmeter.
http://docs.rainmeter.net/manual/measures/time#DaylightSavingTime


example skins that show the correct time using either Google or Yandex apis:
http://customize.org/rainmeter/skins/65672649
http://customize.org/rainmeter/skins/65673198
http://customize.org/rainmeter/skins/65673542
http://customize.org/rainmeter/skins/37047
User avatar
eclectic-tech
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 5391
Joined: April 12th, 2012, 9:40 pm
Location: Cedar Point, Ohio, USA

Re: illustroWorldTime

Post by eclectic-tech »

moshi wrote:95% of the users wont notice and will be just happy that there is something displayed

it will show the wrong times though every now and then. daylight saving time is not an easy task for Rainmeter.
http://docs.rainmeter.net/manual/measures/time#DaylightSavingTime


example skins that show the correct time using either Google or Yandex apis:
http://customize.org/rainmeter/skins/65672649
http://customize.org/rainmeter/skins/65673198
http://customize.org/rainmeter/skins/65673542
http://customize.org/rainmeter/skins/37047
Thanks for the links moshi.

Yeah, I always give myself a headache, when considering daylight savings adjustments... :headbang:

I will look into those links for some coding insight for the other 5% who will notice it is not perfect. :oops:
User avatar
eclectic-tech
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 5391
Joined: April 12th, 2012, 9:40 pm
Location: Cedar Point, Ohio, USA

Re: illustroWorldTime

Post by eclectic-tech »

Thanks to moshi's suggestions and examples, I was able to re-code the times to utilize Yandex's time site as the source for automatically corrected times.

You need to follow the instructions in the [Variables] section (moshi's guide) to obtain the Geoid codes from Yandex to set your locations.

DA link updated in first post...

@moshi
Thanks for your suggestion and all of your excellent examples
I couldn't have done this without your ideas :thumbup:
User avatar
moshi
Posts: 1740
Joined: November 13th, 2012, 9:53 pm

Re: illustroWorldTime

Post by moshi »

just a hint: for multiple time zones one parent measure would be enough:

Code: Select all

Url="http://time.yandex.com/sync.json?lang=en&geo=#LocationID1#%2C#LocationID2#%2C#LocationID3#..."
User avatar
eclectic-tech
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 5391
Joined: April 12th, 2012, 9:40 pm
Location: Cedar Point, Ohio, USA

Re: illustroWorldTime

Post by eclectic-tech »

Okay... I staggered the enabling of my 6 measures, thanks for the 'hint'.

My code sometimes will not update the measures on !Refresh...
No errors in the log, but never gets the info...
maybe combining the measures, as you said, will correct it.

Corrected it, a Typo ... doh!

I appreciate your suggestions, and will work on this issue, it's how we learn :D
ms310
Posts: 225
Joined: April 1st, 2015, 7:16 am

Re: illustroWorldTime

Post by ms310 »

moshi wrote:just a hint: for multiple time zones one parent measure would be enough:

Code: Select all

Url="http://time.yandex.com/sync.json?lang=en&geo=#LocationID1#%2C#LocationID2#%2C#LocationID3#..."
I had trouble with this as it was returning the values in a different order than I sent them in.
User avatar
eclectic-tech
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 5391
Joined: April 12th, 2012, 9:40 pm
Location: Cedar Point, Ohio, USA

Re: illustroWorldTime

Post by eclectic-tech »

ms310 wrote: I had trouble with this as it was returning the values in a different order than I sent them in.
I tried it, and was too lazy to take the time to troubleshoot parsing differences :uhuh:
So I stuck with my initial scheme of 6 measures that worked for me (there is an 'updating' delay, but I can live with that) :p
ms310
Posts: 225
Joined: April 1st, 2015, 7:16 am

Re: illustroWorldTime

Post by ms310 »

eclectic-tech wrote:
Thanks - I added your logic to the vClouds timezones and was tinkering around.