It is currently May 7th, 2021, 1:39 pm

Advanced CPU monitoring [UPDATED 22/10/18]

Skins that monitor system information
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 21675
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Advanced CPU monitoring

Post by jsmorley »

Spun up CoreTemp, and it works fine.
1.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 21675
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Advanced CPU monitoring

Post by jsmorley »

kyriakos876 wrote: October 21st, 2018, 6:21 pm It says in the description that it uses CoreTemp to work. The plugin is implemented in Rainmeter, isn't it?
The plugin comes with Rainmeter, but the actual CoreTemp application must be running on the user's computer as well.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 21675
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Advanced CPU monitoring

Post by jsmorley »

I think the temperature to 3 decimal places might be a bit overkill... In the world of temperatures, I'm not sure 18.394 degrees has any real meaning that 18 degrees doesn't.
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 12636
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: Advanced CPU monitoring

Post by balala »

kyriakos876 wrote: October 21st, 2018, 6:21 pm It says in the description that it uses CoreTemp to work.
Where? I didn't find it.
kyriakos876 wrote: October 21st, 2018, 6:21 pm The plugin is implemented in Rainmeter, isn't it?
It is and using it isn't a problem. But the CoreTemp app MUST run in background to can get the temperatures: https://forum.rainmeter.net/viewtopic.php?f=27&t=29784&p=154019#p154017
User avatar
kyriakos876
Posts: 919
Joined: January 30th, 2017, 2:01 am
Location: Greece

Re: Advanced CPU monitoring

Post by kyriakos876 »

balala wrote: October 21st, 2018, 6:25 pm Where? I didn't find it.
In the deviant art post. I will add it here as well.
User avatar
kyriakos876
Posts: 919
Joined: January 30th, 2017, 2:01 am
Location: Greece

Re: Advanced CPU monitoring

Post by kyriakos876 »

jsmorley wrote: October 21st, 2018, 6:22 pm The plugin comes with Rainmeter, but the actual CoreTemp application must be running on the user's computer as well.
I added in the description that it should be running. I thought of it as common knowledge but that's a mistake from my part.
jsmorley wrote: October 21st, 2018, 6:24 pm I think the temperature to 3 decimal places might be a bit overkill... In the world of temperatures, I'm not sure 18.394 degrees has any real meaning that 18 degrees doesn't.
Where do you see 3 decimals? I think I have 0 decimals to all temperatures... :uhuh:
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 21675
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Advanced CPU monitoring

Post by jsmorley »

1.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
kyriakos876
Posts: 919
Joined: January 30th, 2017, 2:01 am
Location: Greece

Re: Advanced CPU monitoring

Post by kyriakos876 »

raiguard wrote: October 21st, 2018, 6:19 pm Is this common? If so, I might want to add an alternate CPU temperature display to my skin.
I don't think you need to do that... check the image jsmorley posted above... it displays the same temperature to all cores which is all the info you can get so it's not wrong. Unless you don't want the user to think that you actually display each core's temperature, then I'm with you.
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 12636
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: Advanced CPU monitoring

Post by balala »

jsmorley wrote: October 21st, 2018, 6:30 pm1.png
I don't know how did you get those three decimals, because:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 21675
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Advanced CPU monitoring

Post by jsmorley »

If you are doing something with the numbers in Lua, you will have to turn them into integers there before you send them to the skin in a Bang.

Also, note the the longer temperature values causes the load values to be pushed entirely off the skin...
1.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.