It is currently May 7th, 2021, 12:21 pm

Gadgets 6.0.2 - inspired by AddGadgets.com Sidebar Gadgets

A package of skins with a "theme" or by a single author
User avatar
qazserNOS
Posts: 9
Joined: November 21st, 2020, 7:24 pm

Re: Gadgets 5.5.1 - inspired by AddGadgets.com Sidebar Gadgets

Post by qazserNOS »

SilverAzide wrote: January 14th, 2021, 12:16 am It would also help that once you see the negative numbers, in addition to the screenshot, post the contents of your Rainmeter.stats file.
This file is C:\Users\<username>\AppData\Roaming\Rainmeter\Rainmeter.stats.
It's finally showing the negative numbers again. I had over 22 days of uninterrupted uptime! My computer crashed at this point (probably because of slightly unstable overclocking). If I remember correctly, this has happened in the past without the computer crashing. I'm not even sure if the negative values manifested right after that or a few hours later. I've noticed the the Current counter value still updating as data is transferred, i.e. the amount of negative value is decreasing. Anyways, here is the info (I edited out my IP):
rainme1.png
raime2.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
SilverAzide
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 1240
Joined: March 23rd, 2015, 5:26 pm

Re: Gadgets 5.5.1 - inspired by AddGadgets.com Sidebar Gadgets

Post by SilverAzide »

qazserNOS wrote: February 5th, 2021, 11:56 am It's finally showing the negative numbers again. I had over 22 days of uninterrupted uptime! My computer crashed at this point (probably because of slightly unstable overclocking). If I remember correctly, this has happened in the past without the computer crashing. I'm not even sure if the negative values manifested right after that or a few hours later. I've noticed the the Current counter value still updating as data is transferred, i.e. the amount of negative value is decreasing. Anyways, here is the info (I edited out my IP):
Wow, that's interesting!

So it looks like when you first started the skin your network adapter was reporting it was at ~7.2TB up/~6.9TB down (as shown in the "...Base" measures), then at some point your network adapter reset (or reached the maximum integer value and reset) and the totals started over (as shown in the "...Total" measures). Normally, the "base" will always be less than the "total" (i.e., "total" and "base" are the same at the start, then "total" always increases while you upload/download data). So the "current" values (i.e., the data transmitted/received for the current session) is "total" - "base". Normally this works, but it looks like since your "total" was reset back to zero, then "base" is actually larger and thus you get the negative "current" values. Hm! Too bad we missed the point just before it wrapped around to zero; it would have been interesting to see what that max value was.

I will see about adding a trap for this in the next version of skin; the only issue is that the "current" session values will reset back to zero and the numbers will start increasing again, but at least they won't be goofy negative values.

If you don't want to wait for the next version, you can do either of two things: 1) refresh the skin when you see negative values, which will reset the "base" starting point and fix the calcs, or 2) switch to use the "Network Meter Pro" skin. This skin is immune to adapter resets and should show proper values beyond the exabyte range. The skin requires installing a service, so this might not be an option that interests you.

Thank you for reporting this! I appreciate your 22 days of persistence, LOL!
Gadgets Wiki GitHub More Gadgets...
User avatar
qazserNOS
Posts: 9
Joined: November 21st, 2020, 7:24 pm

Re: Gadgets 5.5.1 - inspired by AddGadgets.com Sidebar Gadgets

Post by qazserNOS »

SilverAzide wrote: February 5th, 2021, 2:49 pm Wow, that's interesting!

So it looks like when you first started the skin your network adapter was reporting it was at ~7.2TB up/~6.9TB down (as shown in the "...Base" measures), then at some point your network adapter reset (or reached the maximum integer value and reset) and the totals started over (as shown in the "...Total" measures). Normally, the "base" will always be less than the "total" (i.e., "total" and "base" are the same at the start, then "total" always increases while you upload/download data). So the "current" values (i.e., the data transmitted/received for the current session) is "total" - "base". Normally this works, but it looks like since your "total" was reset back to zero, then "base" is actually larger and thus you get the negative "current" values. Hm! Too bad we missed the point just before it wrapped around to zero; it would have been interesting to see what that max value was.

I will see about adding a trap for this in the next version of skin; the only issue is that the "current" session values will reset back to zero and the numbers will start increasing again, but at least they won't be goofy negative values.

If you don't want to wait for the next version, you can do either of two things: 1) refresh the skin when you see negative values, which will reset the "base" starting point and fix the calcs, or 2) switch to use the "Network Meter Pro" skin. This skin is immune to adapter resets and should show proper values beyond the exabyte range. The skin requires installing a service, so this might not be an option that interests you.

Thank you for reporting this! I appreciate your 22 days of persistence, LOL!
I just restarted my computer and it happened again. :D
netme3.png
rainme4.png
I appreciate you debugging this. So it seems that my network adapter drivers are the culprit here?

Resetting the Current count is definitely better than meaningless negative values!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
SilverAzide
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 1240
Joined: March 23rd, 2015, 5:26 pm

Re: Gadgets 5.5.1 - inspired by AddGadgets.com Sidebar Gadgets

Post by SilverAzide »

qazserNOS wrote: February 6th, 2021, 2:22 pm I just restarted my computer and it happened again. :D

I appreciate you debugging this. So it seems that my network adapter drivers are the culprit here?

Resetting the Current count is definitely better than meaningless negative values!
Have you configured the skin to report on specific adapters or are you just reporting everything (i.e., left the adapter entries blank in the Settings)?
Gadgets Wiki GitHub More Gadgets...
User avatar
qazserNOS
Posts: 9
Joined: November 21st, 2020, 7:24 pm

Re: Gadgets 5.5.1 - inspired by AddGadgets.com Sidebar Gadgets

Post by qazserNOS »

SilverAzide wrote: February 6th, 2021, 8:24 pm Have you configured the skin to report on specific adapters or are you just reporting everything (i.e., left the adapter entries blank in the Settings)?
I seem to have configured it as the field is not empty and the adapter name is the same as in Windows Device Manager. The auto configure button chooses that network adapter.
User avatar
SilverAzide
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 1240
Joined: March 23rd, 2015, 5:26 pm

Re: Gadgets 5.5.1 - inspired by AddGadgets.com Sidebar Gadgets

Post by SilverAzide »

qazserNOS wrote: February 7th, 2021, 10:26 pm I seem to have configured it as the field is not empty and the adapter name is the same as in Windows Device Manager. The auto configure button chooses that network adapter.
OK, just curious! Sometimes it can make a difference, especially if you have a lot of virtual network adapters.
Gadgets Wiki GitHub More Gadgets...
User avatar
VL4DST3R
Posts: 38
Joined: November 17th, 2018, 12:20 am
Location: Romania

Re: Gadgets 5.5.1 - inspired by AddGadgets.com Sidebar Gadgets

Post by VL4DST3R »

Hey SilverAzide, i come to you with another question: Is it possible for you to add a widget that essentially does exactly what the IO Meter does but for the network instead? Essentially to replicate the "Network" column from the task manager. I'm asking this since it would be great to spot at a glance if a suspect app is communicating externally.
User avatar
SilverAzide
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 1240
Joined: March 23rd, 2015, 5:26 pm

Re: Gadgets 5.5.1 - inspired by AddGadgets.com Sidebar Gadgets

Post by SilverAzide »

VL4DST3R wrote: February 22nd, 2021, 6:09 pm Hey SilverAzide, i come to you with another question: Is it possible for you to add a widget that essentially does exactly what the IO Meter does but for the network instead? Essentially to replicate the "Network" column from the task manager. I'm asking this since it would be great to spot at a glance if a suspect app is communicating externally.
Hey VL4DST3R! Well, I've been trying to do exactly what you suggest ever since I first discovered Rainmeter many years ago. (Better than Task Manager is the Network section of Resource Monitor; double-click the Top Process meter to pop this up quickly.) Unfortunately, there is no way I know of to query this information. It is not available via the UsageMonitor plugin, so it would require a plug-in that does something way beyond my ability to code. Microsoft has not clearly documented (in a manner I can understand) how to query the network utilization by process. If I ever figure it out, you can be sure I will quickly turn it into a plug-in and skin, because I want to know this info for the exact reason you stated.

One thing you can try is NetBalancer (https://netbalancer.com). It's even got a couple of desktop widgets that display network information by process.
Gadgets Wiki GitHub More Gadgets...
User avatar
VL4DST3R
Posts: 38
Joined: November 17th, 2018, 12:20 am
Location: Romania

Re: Gadgets 5.5.1 - inspired by AddGadgets.com Sidebar Gadgets

Post by VL4DST3R »

SilverAzide wrote: February 22nd, 2021, 10:25 pm Unfortunately, there is no way I know of to query this information.
Yeah, figured it was something like that, otherwise you would have most likely done it already XD. Shame though, i know about resmon and that there are other tools out there to achieve this but i try to keep background processes to a reasonable minimum, and your god-level widgets using only hwinfo were pretty much ideal for this.

Would pinging rainmeter devs (or whomever is in charge of developing the plugins for it) be of any use here? At least to clarify if this will ever be provided natively by rainmeter or not.
User avatar
SilverAzide
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 1240
Joined: March 23rd, 2015, 5:26 pm

Re: Gadgets 5.5.1 - inspired by AddGadgets.com Sidebar Gadgets

Post by SilverAzide »

VL4DST3R wrote: February 23rd, 2021, 9:17 am Would pinging rainmeter devs (or whomever is in charge of developing the plugins for it) be of any use here? At least to clarify if this will ever be provided natively by rainmeter or not.
It's been a long time, but I think I did several years ago. I'd have to dig through old threads to confirm. In any case, it would be a tremendous amount of work as far as I can tell, so I seriously doubt any of the devs would be interested in taking this on. I think there is a third-party library that could be used to create a plug-in, but it is not free and I'm not sure of the license terms. :-(
Gadgets Wiki GitHub More Gadgets...