It is currently September 21st, 2021, 6:15 pm

We could lose AccuWeather folks!!!!!

Release announcements and important news from the developers.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22290
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: We could lose AccuWeather folks!!!!!

Post by jsmorley »

This topic has a couple of "quick and dirty" weather skins that may tide someone over while more robust alternatives are developed.

http://rainmeter.net/forum/viewtopic.php?p=21837#p21837
wasky1
Posts: 127
Joined: June 10th, 2009, 8:26 am

Re: We could lose AccuWeather folks!!!!!

Post by wasky1 »

it gives me a giggle when the posts match the authurs display pics look up lol

anyway is there a secret place full of weather icons i want some mintas! pleeez
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22290
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: We could lose AccuWeather folks!!!!!

Post by jsmorley »

wasky1 wrote:it gives me a giggle when the posts match the authurs display pics look up lol

anyway is there a secret place full of weather icons i want some mintas! pleeez
There are a lot of weather icons on devArt. http://www.deviantart.com/#order=9&q=weather+icons Probably need to some some serious "renaming" to get them to sync up with your feed source properly.
User avatar
maminscris
Posts: 509
Joined: April 24th, 2009, 3:17 pm
Location: Bucharest, Romania Lat 44,43° Lon 26,1°

Re: We could lose AccuWeather folks!!!!!

Post by maminscris »

wasky1 wrote:anyway is there a secret place full of weather icons
yes, a small secret place
Zero at programing, zero at writing codes, so far 2 at making images
But I'm good at copy/paste, and I not always like this
Image
wasky1
Posts: 127
Joined: June 10th, 2009, 8:26 am

Re: We could lose AccuWeather folks!!!!!

Post by wasky1 »

haha thanks mate!
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22290
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: We could lose AccuWeather folks!!!!!

Post by jsmorley »

I have done a full parse of the 7-day Weather.com RSS feed that folks can use to build a reasonably robust weather skin now that AccuWeather is gone.

http://rainmeter.net/forum/viewtopic.php?p=22737#p22737
Minjin
Posts: 7
Joined: November 5th, 2009, 4:26 am

Re: We could lose AccuWeather folks!!!!!

Post by Minjin »

So why is my Firefox addon ForecastFox still working? It uses data from Accuweather as well.
sgtevmckay

Re: We could lose AccuWeather folks!!!!!

Post by sgtevmckay »

Minjin wrote:So why is my Firefox addon ForecastFox still working? It uses data from Accuweather as well.
Yes. but they as we, are using an assigned URL....This URL is tracked bu AccuWeather. Their URL and ours have no relationship
User avatar
karmat
Posts: 329
Joined: July 7th, 2009, 11:10 pm
Location: Canada

Re: We could lose AccuWeather folks!!!!!

Post by karmat »

I'm confused lol, how come we can use Weather.com again? Wasn't it that site that started all this weather hysteria in the first place by shutting down their feed? What happened to change that?
User avatar
Alex2539
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 642
Joined: July 19th, 2009, 5:59 am
Location: Montreal, QC, Canada

Re: We could lose AccuWeather folks!!!!!

Post by Alex2539 »

Originally, no one knew that we could still use Weather.com. The URL's used were always "http://xoap.weather.com/..." and when those became private, that was the end of Weather.com skins. There was then a shift toward Accuweather and we even managed to bang out a deal with them to get ourselves a great feed in exchange for sending a little bit of advertising their way. Later someone would discover that you could simple switch out the "xoap" in the URL for "xml" and Weather.com was back in the running. But, since we had a good thing going with Accuweather and the legality of that "xml" site was questionable (even though it wasn't protected, it wasn't meant to be public either), we sort of just shied away from Weather.com altogether.

In other news, have you seen the Accuweather site lately? They've definitely cleaned it up a bit.
ImageImageImageImage