It is currently September 19th, 2021, 1:18 am

Winget

Changes made during the Rainmeter 4.4 beta cycle.
User avatar
Brian
Developer
Posts: 2254
Joined: November 24th, 2011, 1:42 am
Location: Utah

Winget

Post by Brian »

For Windows 10 (and 11) users, you can now install/upgrade the latest Rainmeter beta via winget! 8-)

Windows 10 users will need to install WinGet from WinGet Releases. WinGet ships with Windows 11, and nothing else needs to be done.

So from a cmd.exe or Powershell command window:

Command: winget install rainmeter

All this is case-insensitive...


Click to animate:
Animation.gif


Depending a bit on your system and internet connection, this should take somewhere between 5 and 10 seconds to complete. Rainmeter will automatically restart, and you are all upgraded!

-Brian
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
death.crafter
Posts: 926
Joined: April 24th, 2021, 8:13 pm

Re: Winget

Post by death.crafter »

Or if you already have raimeter installed,

Code: Select all

winget upgrade rainmeter-beta
Yay!
from the Realm of Death
My Current Desktop
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22283
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Winget

Post by jsmorley »

death.crafter wrote: July 27th, 2021, 9:00 am Or if you already have raimeter installed,

Code: Select all

winget upgrade rainmeter-beta
Yay!
the "upgrade" parameter is intended to be used for packages that need to "uninstall" an old version before installing the new one. Rainmeter never requires that, and the "upgrade" parameter is set to just redirect to "install" with our package. Either work, but they do the same thing.

However it is a good practice if you tend to do WinGet upgrade --all.
User avatar
death.crafter
Posts: 926
Joined: April 24th, 2021, 8:13 pm

Re: Winget

Post by death.crafter »

jsmorley wrote: July 27th, 2021, 10:56 am the "upgrade" parameter is intended to be used for packages that need to "uninstall" an old version before installing the new one. Rainmeter never requires that, and the "upgrade" parameter is set to just redirect to "install" with our package. Either work, but they do the same thing.

However it is a good practice if you tend to do WinGet upgrade --all.
Ohh I see.

But it doesn't uninstall rainmeter before upgrading does it? Or it depends on what the installer does? Just curious.
from the Realm of Death
My Current Desktop
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22283
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Winget

Post by jsmorley »

death.crafter wrote: July 27th, 2021, 11:10 am Ohh I see.

But it doesn't uninstall rainmeter before upgrading does it? Or it depends on what the installer does? Just curious.
No, it doesn't. Our installer doesn't require or support that.

WinGet install "Rainmeter (beta)" will just do a normal overlay install of Rainmeter in a matter of a few seconds.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22283
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Winget

Post by jsmorley »

Two important differences between the "install" and "upgrade" commands in WinGet:

"upgrade" will check to see if there is a newer version than what you have available, and only install if so. "install" will always install, even if it is just the same version.

"install" will pay no attention to what you have installed already, and for instance if you have a 32bit version of some software installed, and you use "install" with WingGet, it will install what it detects is the "best" version for your system, which is likely to be a 64bit version if one is available. This is not terrible, but can make for some cleanup after the fact. "upgrade" on the other hand will detect that you currently have a 32bit version installed, and will upgrade that version if one is available.

So Rainmeter aside, where we have a single installer that does its own "checks" on what is currently installed, in general it's probably not the best idea to just default to using "install" when using WinGet. Treat "install" for what it is. A brand-new installation of the package. Use "upgrade" to keep things current.
User avatar
CyberTheWorm
Posts: 792
Joined: August 22nd, 2016, 11:32 pm
Location: Surrey, B.C., Canada

Re: Winget

Post by CyberTheWorm »

Is there a switch to install to automatically start? I just did an install and after a computer reboot it seemed that it did not autostart with Windows.
The only source of knowledge is experience. Albert Einstein
Deviant Art Page
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22283
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Winget

Post by jsmorley »

CyberTheWorm wrote: August 2nd, 2021, 3:44 pm Is there a switch to install to automatically start? I just did an install and after a computer reboot it seemed that it did not autostart with Windows.
If you were updating from any version earlier than the most current r3508, there was an issue with the /AUTOSTARTUP option on the silent installer. I would download the installer from https://www.rainmeter.net and install that manually one time, being sure to check the box "Start Rainmeter with Windows".

That should fix things and it should work right going forward for you.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22283
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Winget

Post by jsmorley »

You can specify options to our silent installer in WinGet. Say if you want to install "portable", or not have it auto-start with Windows or any other option found at:

https://docs.rainmeter.net/manual-beta/installing-rainmeter/#SilentInstallation

Simply set the options in WinGet with something like this:

winget install "Rainmeter (beta)" --override "/S /PORTABLE=0 /AUTOSTARTUP=1 /RESTART=1 /VERSION=64"

Now that is just setting all the "default" values, so it's not terribly useful, but demonstrates that you can set any options you want to force. Don't forget the /S anytime you set any --override.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22283
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Winget

Post by jsmorley »

You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.