It is currently April 19th, 2024, 4:07 am

New Wifi Status Plugin

Share and get help with Plugins and Addons
davodavo
Posts: 9
Joined: October 7th, 2009, 9:10 pm

Re: New Wifi Status Plugin

Post by davodavo »

Almost certain Yahoo guys didn't write any drivers, so we're still in the Land of Mystery about where this data is coming from.

I've posted to the Lenovo Access Connections forum as well as Yahoo's...will let you know if I discover anything.
davodavo
Posts: 9
Joined: October 7th, 2009, 9:10 pm

Re: New Wifi Status Plugin

Post by davodavo »

PROBLEM SOLVED by using the WirelessInfo.dll rather than the WifiStatus one.

Of course, you have to read the directions...but it DOES work with Access Connections
sgtevmckay

Re: New Wifi Status Plugin

Post by sgtevmckay »

davodavo wrote:Almost certain Yahoo guys didn't write any drivers, so we're still in the Land of Mystery about where this data is coming from.

I've posted to the Lenovo Access Connections forum as well as Yahoo's...will let you know if I discover anything.
This would be great to here back fro either or both directly.
Please keep us in the loop.
If they know something we don't, and they probably do, it would be great to be in on the secret

Thank you so much :D
nvme
Developer
Posts: 73
Joined: June 18th, 2009, 1:40 am

Re: New Wifi Status Plugin

Post by nvme »

@davo: The purpose of WifiStatus was to add support for querying the native windows wifi service through Rainmeter. It will only work if you are using windows (and windows alone) to manage your wifi adapter, but it does work across all versions of windows (XP SP2 +). The WirelessInfo.dll plugin works for winXP only, but provides support for drivers other than the native windows wifi manager. As for what the yahoo widgets seem to be using, I think they make use of proprietary drivers for grabbing system information, though I am not sure if its from WMI or not.

@jsmorley / rainy : It seems like the new build is working for most platforms. If you want to add this to the trunk / the next release, the source code is in the first post. The archive also has an updated help file.
sgtevmckay

Re: New Wifi Status Plugin

Post by sgtevmckay »

Ooh.

Thanks again for your absolutely excellent work on this.
nvme
Developer
Posts: 73
Joined: June 18th, 2009, 1:40 am

Re: New Wifi Status Plugin

Post by nvme »

It would be nice to have the following things tested out (vista / win7 especially):
errors in output
memory leak ( though i am sure this is taken care of)
WifiListLimit= ( new command, just change the value around and see if it works)

Use this skin:

Code: Select all

;-- WIFI STATUS PLUGIN TEST SKIN
;-- A simple skin that uses all possible 
;-- measures of the wifi status plugin
[Rainmeter]
BackgroundMode=1
Author=nvme
Update=1
AppVersion=1001

[mWifi1]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\WifiStatus.dll
WifiInfoType=SSID
WifiIntfID=0
[mWifi2]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\WifiStatus.dll
WifiInfoType=QUALITY
WifiIntfID=0
[mWifi3]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\WifiStatus.dll
WifiInfoType=ENCRYPTION
WifiIntfID=0
[mWifi4]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\WifiStatus.dll
WifiInfoType=AUTH
WifiIntfID=0
[mWifi5]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\WifiStatus.dll
WifiInfoType=LIST
WifiIntfID=0
WifiListStyle=3
WifiListLimit=3
[mWifi6]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\WifiStatus.dll
WifiInfoType=PHY
WifiIntfID=0
[wifi1]
Meter=STRING
MeasureName=mWifi1
MeasureName2=mWifi2
MeasureName3=mWifi6
MeasureName4=mWifi3
MeasureName5=mWifi4
X=15
Y=40
W=1000
FontColor=255,255,255
StringStyle=BOLD
FontSize=8
StringAlign=LEFT
FontFace=Tahoma
Text="%2%: %1 @%3(%4+%5)"
AntiAlias=1
[wifi2]
Meter=STRING
X=0r
Y=20r
W=1000
FontColor=255,255,255
StringStyle=BOLD
FontSize=8
StringAlign=LEFT
FontFace=Tahoma
Text="Available Networks:"
AntiAlias=1
[wifi3]
Meter=STRING
MeasureName=mWifi5
X=0r
Y=16r
W=1000
FontColor=255,255,255
StringStyle=BOLD
FontSize=8
StringAlign=LEFT
FontFace=Tahoma
Text="%1"
AntiAlias=1
sgtevmckay

Re: New Wifi Status Plugin

Post by sgtevmckay »

nvme wrote:It would be nice to have the following things tested out (vista / win7 especially):
Working fine
nvme wrote:memory leak ( though i am sure this is taken care of)
I have been running the wireless in Vista 32 and Windows 7 64 RC1 for almost a week straight.
No increase that I can detect overall.
nvme wrote:WifiListLimit= ( new command, just change the value around and see if it works)
This is a bit outside of my controls as there is noo place local that will give me more tha 9 connections at once, but limiting to 6 seems to work just fine.
nvme wrote:errors in output
As everything has appeared to be running smoothly, I have not even bothered to look. :oops:

Apologies I did not get back to you sooner on this as I promised :oops:
nvme
Developer
Posts: 73
Joined: June 18th, 2009, 1:40 am

Re: New Wifi Status Plugin

Post by nvme »

@sgt: no problem, those are all good results. As for the list limit, there should be no reason for it to misbehave for larger values.

I am testing it on winXP 32/64 without problems as well. Just need someone to do win7-x32.
poiru
Developer
Posts: 2872
Joined: April 17th, 2009, 12:18 pm

Problems..

Post by poiru »

Bozzy
Posts: 4
Joined: September 14th, 2010, 9:24 am

Re: New Wifi Status Plugin

Post by Bozzy »

nvme wrote:I am looking into reading network speed(56/100 etc..). I know the API supports reading the Standard(B/G/N), but i didn't add it because i couldn't understand the crazy enums they use. As for I/O, do you mean the current rate of download / upload, i remember seeing this somewhere too, but i think its best to just use sysinfo for that.
Not sure if it's any help but Perfmon.dll has the data in mbps.
I can see it in the perfomance console and it updates with rage changes, but I can't for the life of me get the raw data out (see below)

Code: Select all

[MeasureWANmbps]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Perfmon.dll
PerfMonObject="Network Interface"
PerfMonInstance="Dell Wireless 1500 Draft 802.11n WLAN Mini-Card - Deterministic Network Enhancer Miniport"
PerfMonCounter="Current Bandwidth"