It is currently February 20th, 2020, 6:56 pm

Using Windows Text to Speech in a skin

Share and get help with Plugins and Addons
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 20269
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Using Windows Text to Speech in a skin

Post by jsmorley »

Someone asked about using the built in Text to Speech in Windows instead of the Google Translate / TTS that I use with my speaking clock, so here you go.

You will need to be running Rainmeter 1.2 beta (r416 or better) to install this.

It will create an "addon" in your addons folder in Rainmeter\ and install a very small and simple example skin so you can see how to use it.
SpeakFromIni.rmskin
Edit: Replaced corrupted .rmskin 2/23/2011
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
MarkVI
Posts: 12
Joined: May 20th, 2010, 6:34 am

Re: Using Windows Text to Speech in a skin

Post by MarkVI »

Wow!!!

Thank you for sharing this! I'm downloading it and I'm going to work on it for most of the day tomorrow.

Is it still possible to use the Googlevoice instead of the Microsoft ones?
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 20269
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Using Windows Text to Speech in a skin

Post by jsmorley »

MarkVI wrote:Wow!!!

Thank you for sharing this! I'm downloading it and I'm going to work on it for most of the day tomorrow.

Is it still possible to use the Googlevoice instead of the Microsoft ones?
No. It will use whatever is the default voice in Windows. (XP = Microsoft Sam, Win7 = Microsoft Anna)

The only real advantage to this is that there is no limit on the number of chars, where the google tts app I think only allows 200 or something.
dragonmage
Developer
Posts: 1286
Joined: April 3rd, 2009, 4:31 am
Location: NC, US

Re: Using Windows Text to Speech in a skin

Post by dragonmage »

You could use the Google TTS if you had it read individual notes. Create a note file with
<title></title>
<note1></note1>
<note2></note2>
etc

I mean generally your notes are probably going to be less than 200 chars individually.
CybOrSpasm
Posts: 149
Joined: January 8th, 2011, 7:12 pm
Location: Tennessee

Re: Using Windows Text to Speech in a skin

Post by CybOrSpasm »

I have tried downloading that file 3 times now, and each time Rainstaller says the configuration file is missing. So, I tried to rename it to .zip, but then get the message that the file is corrupt.
}:[
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 20269
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Using Windows Text to Speech in a skin

Post by jsmorley »

CybOrSpasm wrote:I have tried downloading that file 3 times now, and each time Rainstaller says the configuration file is missing. So, I tried to rename it to .zip, but then get the message that the file is corrupt.
}:[
Got corrupted in a reactor meltdown we had last year, sorry. I have updated the attachment on the first post.
x_magnumse_x
Posts: 23
Joined: May 23rd, 2013, 2:52 pm

Re: Using Windows Text to Speech in a skin

Post by x_magnumse_x »

Hey, sorry to dig up this old thread, but I thought it would be better than creating a new one.

The Speakfromini.exe is not working for Windows 10. Do you have a workaround or an update for it?

Thanks
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 20269
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Using Windows Text to Speech in a skin

Post by jsmorley »

x_magnumse_x wrote:Hey, sorry to dig up this old thread, but I thought it would be better than creating a new one.

The Speakfromini.exe is not working for Windows 10. Do you have a workaround or an update for it?

Thanks
The skin in the first post of this thread works just fine for me in Win10.
x_magnumse_x
Posts: 23
Joined: May 23rd, 2013, 2:52 pm

Re: Using Windows Text to Speech in a skin

Post by x_magnumse_x »

Yeah I'm so sorry, that's my bad.

It works for me as well, turns out I had just had a typo in the path it was set to.

:?
User avatar
StArL0rd84
Posts: 336
Joined: February 8th, 2015, 10:07 pm
Location: EU, Denmark.

Re: Using Windows Text to Speech in a skin

Post by StArL0rd84 »

(#WorkTime# = 1 ? #Work# : ([mEnergyLoss:%] > 100 ? #SleepMode# : #Rainmeter#))