It is currently April 19th, 2024, 2:05 am

Creating Plugins

Share and get help with Plugins and Addons
[D]

Creating Plugins

Post by [D] »

Hey all, I'm completely new to rainmeter and for that matter coding of most types.

My question is thus: How does one start a plugin for rainmeter? Is there a format or skeleton you use to create one? I'm trying to create what I believe is a Quote.

I'm hoping to change my rainmeter to "say" one of several random lines of texts at different times of the day.

Ex.) Every five minutes, one of one hundred lines of text is chosen and appears in a "word bubble" that has already been preset in place.

Could I get some help learning how to create such a plugin? With this sort of help, I think I could go about creating others- I'm just at a complete loss as to how even start one.
dragonmage
Developer

Re: Creating Plugins

Post by dragonmage »

Rainmeter comes with a QuotePlugin that will do what you want already.

As far as building plugins there is some info on that in the Manual
[D]

Post by [D] »

Unfortunately, I've read through it and don't understand exactly how to do it. Maybe I'm looking at it in the wrong way... I'm looking at it in a way similar to <html> stlylings, where there needs to be an opening tag, directions/descriptions, then a closing tag...

So, would this work? (Pathetic first attempt):

[MeasureQuote]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\QuotePlugin.dll
PathName=%HOMEDRIVE%%HOMEPATH%\My Documents\RANDOMQUOTES\ (If RANDOMQUOTES serves as my lines of text.)
Subfolders=1

I'm can't make heads or tails of the manual; sorry if I'm irritating, but I really want to learn to craft for things like rainmeter.
sgtevmckay

Post by sgtevmckay »

Apologies for not being of much assistance here, but I have to comment on other things.

There is nothing pathetic in what I see!
Know that we all start somewhere :D
If you had asked me a couple of months ago if I woule be skinning, I would have laughed, embarrassed!