It is currently April 26th, 2024, 3:17 am

System volume plugin idea for Rainmeter - Need feedback

Share and get help with Plugins and Addons
mhinckley3
Posts: 13
Joined: May 28th, 2010, 11:03 pm
Location: Georgia

Re: System volume plugin idea for Rainmeter - Need feedback

Post by mhinckley3 »

The same changes in my previous post also work for Windows 7 Professional 32 bit. I just copied the working .ini from my desktop to my laptop, did a refresh all, loaded the .ini and it works just as well.

Thanks again nasasempai.
[hsimg]http://dl.dropbox.com/u/9795054/desktop.jpg[/hsimg]
reiswaffel
Posts: 9
Joined: June 4th, 2010, 3:20 pm

Re: System volume plugin idea for Rainmeter - Need feedback

Post by reiswaffel »

Hi there,

I adjusted the plugin that I made to measure the current system master volume instead of the index of the current audio endpoint, since I figured nobody needs to measure that anyway. I will update it soon (http://reiswaffel.deviantart.com/art/Windows-7-Audio-Plugin-166316150). I'm just waiting to put in bangs to change the volume. Is there a decent slider config I could use?

Works with Windows 7 and probably Vista.
User avatar
JpsCrazy
Posts: 667
Joined: April 18th, 2010, 2:16 pm
Location: NY, USA

Re: System volume plugin idea for Rainmeter - Need feedback

Post by JpsCrazy »

reiswaffel wrote:Is there a decent slider config I could use?
I'm (slowly...) working on a slider.
I can't promise it's going to be decent, but it's coming along.
There's still a lot of work to be done, but I don't know of any other volume sliders at the moment.
Also, only the up/down arrows will work and clicking where the bar isn't will bring it to the top/bottom. The slider won't actually be functional, it's mostly aesthetic.
User avatar
Samus Aran
Posts: 86
Joined: August 7th, 2009, 11:23 pm

Re: System volume plugin idea for Rainmeter - Need feedback

Post by Samus Aran »

If that plugin is finished, can you please tell me how to implement functional Bangs? :|
I couldn't find information on that anywhere.
reiswaffel
Posts: 9
Joined: June 4th, 2010, 3:20 pm

Re: System volume plugin idea for Rainmeter - Need feedback

Post by reiswaffel »

What do you mean by "functional" bangs?

The bangs supported in my plugin are listed in the example config. For examples on how to implement bangs check the code of the windows messages plugin.
User avatar
JpsCrazy
Posts: 667
Joined: April 18th, 2010, 2:16 pm
Location: NY, USA

Re: System volume plugin idea for Rainmeter - Need feedback

Post by JpsCrazy »

reiswaffel wrote:Is there a decent slider config I could use?
It's (next to) finished!
Here's the problems:
-Can't grab and drag the bar. Just shows you the current volume.
-No current method to determine volume/if muted. (Assumed volume starts at 0 and is not muted)
-Code could be cleaner/more convenient
-Images aren't fully completed.

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
Author=JpsCrazy, original scroll bar code by Smurfier from RSS Scroller
Update=200
BackgroundMode=0
SolidColor=50,50,50,100

;Variables===============================================
[Variables]
;Path to NirCmd (uneccesary to change if in \Windows directory)
NirCmdPath=NirCmd.exe

;How many pixels the bar moves by
line.amount=9

;Variable for volume
var=0
;Maximum var
mult=15

;Here and below you should not change unless you want to change the size of the volume bar. It's all guess and check.
;Starting Y value for strings
S.H=0
;Starting Y value for bar
start.value=143

;Just used for measuring the height/width of things
Max=10
Tot=10

;Don't mess with these ones at all
Num=1
Move=0

;Calculate the change in Volume================================
[msVolume]
Measure=Calc
Formula=(65535/#mult#)
DynamicVariables=1

;Background Image==========================================
[mtBackground]
Meter=Image
ImageName=SliderBackgroundRound.png
Antialias=1
H=((#Max#*15)+25+(#S.H#-20))
X=6
Y=3

;Scrollbar and Buttons=======================================
[msBarPlace]
Measure=Calc
Formula=(#start.value#+((-#var#)*#line.amount#) > 8) ? #start.value#+((-#var#)*#line.amount#) : 8
DynamicVariables=1

[mtBar]
Meter=Image
ImageName=Circle.png
X=4
Y=[msBarPlace]
W=10
H=10
DynamicVariables=1

[mtUp]
Meter=Image
ImageName=Arrow.png
AntiAlias=1
X=2
Y=0
LeftMouseUpAction=!Execute [!RainmeterSetVariable Move 0]["#NirCmdPath#" changesysvolume [MsVolume]][!RainmeterSetVariable Var [msVarUp]]

[msVarUp]
Measure=Calc
Formula=((#Var#+1) > 15) ? 15 : #Var#+1
DynamicVariables=1

[mtDown]
Meter=Image
ImageName=Arrow.png
ImageFlip=Vertical
X=2
Y=((#Max#*15)+25+(#S.H#-20))
LeftMouseUpAction=!Execute [!RainmeterSetVariable Move 0]["#NirCmdPath#" changesysvolume -[MsVolume]][!RainmeterSetVariable Var [msVarDown]]
AntiAlias=1
DynamicVariables=1

[msVarDown]
Measure=Calc
Formula=((#Var#-1) <0) ? 0 : #Var#-1
DynamicVariables=1

[mtUnmute]
Meter=Image
ImageName=VolumeUnmute.png
Antialias=
X=2
Y=((#Max#*15)+35+(#S.H#-20))
W=15
H=15
LeftMouseUpAction=!Execute ["#NirCmdPath#" mutesysvolume 2][!RainmeterHideMeter mtUnmute][!RainmeterShowMeter mtMute]
Hidden=0

[mtMute]
Meter=Image
ImageName=VolumeMute.png
Antialias=
X=2
Y=((#Max#*15)+35+(#S.H#-20))
W=15
H=15
LeftMouseUpAction=!Execute ["#NirCmdPath#" mutesysvolume 2][!RainmeterHideMeter mtMute][!RainmeterShowMeter mtUnmute]
Hidden=1
Here are the images.
I hope this is useful!
reiswaffel
Posts: 9
Joined: June 4th, 2010, 3:20 pm

Re: System volume plugin idea for Rainmeter - Need feedback

Post by reiswaffel »

JpsCrazy wrote: -No current method to determine volume/if muted. (Assumed volume starts at 0 and is not muted)
The plugin is complete. Check it out: http://reiswaffel.deviantart.com/art/Windows-7-Audio-Plugin-166316150

Mute sets the numeric measure to 0. Unmute sets it back to the previous value. See the example config for bangs.
User avatar
JpsCrazy
Posts: 667
Joined: April 18th, 2010, 2:16 pm
Location: NY, USA

Re: System volume plugin idea for Rainmeter - Need feedback

Post by JpsCrazy »

Alas, I don't have Win7.
Still on XP until I get enough money to get a new computer.
'will certainly not work in Windows XP.' makes me feel like it's not worth me testing. :P
wasky1
Posts: 127
Joined: June 10th, 2009, 8:26 am

Re: System volume plugin idea for Rainmeter - Need feedback

Post by wasky1 »

JpsCrazy wrote:Alas, I don't have Win7.
Still on XP until I get enough money to get a new computer.
'will certainly not work in Windows XP.' makes me feel like it's not worth me testing. :P
hey maybe your comp would love 7. it dont take super comp to run 7 like it does with vista, chin up :)
User avatar
JpsCrazy
Posts: 667
Joined: April 18th, 2010, 2:16 pm
Location: NY, USA

Re: System volume plugin idea for Rainmeter - Need feedback

Post by JpsCrazy »

Dell lattiude d620. 55gb harddrive and 1gb of ram. Default video card, with no pixel shading. I need a new computer altogether. Ahaa.