It is currently April 19th, 2024, 3:06 am

System volume plugin idea for Rainmeter - Need feedback

Share and get help with Plugins and Addons
User avatar
Samus Aran
Posts: 86
Joined: August 7th, 2009, 11:23 pm

System volume plugin idea for Rainmeter - Need feedback

Post by Samus Aran »

I got a developer here who is so kind to write a volume plugin for Rainmeter. :)
This plugin would then be able to set the system volume and to return the current volume (to make all the volume skins "fully independent" from the user, e.g. it updates the new volume level, if it is changed without using the skin).
Are you interested?

If you are interested, how exactly should the thing work?
What should the skin builder type into his .inis to change or to get the volume level?
Please make suggestions here.
User avatar
Kaelri
Developer
Posts: 1721
Joined: July 25th, 2009, 4:47 am

Re: System volume plugin idea for Rainmeter - Need feedback

Post by Kaelri »

I know this has been discussed. The big conflict is that Windows 7 has completely changed the way system volume is handled, so Windows XP and Windows 7 would require completely different plugins. As time goes on, though, I think it'll be more likely that someone will just say 'screw it' and pick Windows 7.
User avatar
Samus Aran
Posts: 86
Joined: August 7th, 2009, 11:23 pm

Re: System volume plugin idea for Rainmeter - Need feedback

Post by Samus Aran »

What about two plugins, one for XP/Vista/etc. and one for 7?
Like
Plugin=SysCtrlXP
and
Plugin=SysCtrl7 ;)
User avatar
bendenfield
Posts: 98
Joined: July 30th, 2009, 12:17 am

Re: System volume plugin idea for Rainmeter - Need feedback

Post by bendenfield »

If the developer can do it... why not?

I am waiting for such a plugin for ages.

One thing, though. It would be great if the plugin can also 'read' the volume.

Here are some examples on how they could look like in the final ini using the plugin:

Code: Select all

//Measures:
GetSoundVolume     //reading the current volume

//Plugin-Bangs:
!execute [SndVol-Plugin Set xy]        //set the volume to xy %
!execute [SndVol-Plugin Increase xy]   //increase volume by xy %
!execute [SndVol-Plugin Decrease xy]   //decrease volume by xy %
So, that are the only things getting in my mind right now. 'Mute' is not necessary in my opinion since you can set it with 0.
dragonmage
Developer
Posts: 1270
Joined: April 3rd, 2009, 4:31 am
Location: NC, US

Re: System volume plugin idea for Rainmeter - Need feedback

Post by dragonmage »

I disagree with you on the Mute issue bendenfield. Mute/Unmute is a toggle that can stop/resume sound without changing the volume level, so you can immediately return to the volume you were at. Setting to 0 is not the same thing.
User avatar
Samus Aran
Posts: 86
Joined: August 7th, 2009, 11:23 pm

Re: System volume plugin idea for Rainmeter - Need feedback

Post by Samus Aran »

Features wanted by you:
Measures:
GetSoundVolume - to read the current volume (Since the Measures are in %, I would prefer 0-100)

Bangs:
!execute [SndVol-Plugin set x] Set volume (value from 0-100).
!execute [SndVol-Plugin increase x] Increases volume by x (If the resulting value is bigger than 100, the volume will be 100).
!execute [SndVol-Plugin decrease x] Decreases volume by x (If the result is smaller than 0, the volume will be 0).
!execute [SndVol-Plugin mute] Mutes the volume but saves the previous volume value.
!execute [SndVol-Plugin unmute] Unmutes the volume and restores the saved volume value.

Is that OK so far?
dragonmage
Developer
Posts: 1270
Joined: April 3rd, 2009, 4:31 am
Location: NC, US

Re: System volume plugin idea for Rainmeter - Need feedback

Post by dragonmage »

Basically, but there should be no need for saving values when muting, the mute/unmute is a Windows system setting and should be easy enough to just send the message to Windows.

Depending on how much time this developer wants to put in, the 7 version could be made to control the volume of specific apps. I am assuming that, from my limited understanding of the new volume handling in 7.
User avatar
Samus Aran
Posts: 86
Joined: August 7th, 2009, 11:23 pm

Re: System volume plugin idea for Rainmeter - Need feedback

Post by Samus Aran »

With the Win7-API, this should be possible.
But I can not guarantee that those "Win 7 only"-features won't crash anything.

I will forward the feedback to the developer now :)
Let's see what he says :D
User avatar
gschoppe
Developer
Posts: 93
Joined: April 26th, 2009, 8:30 pm
Location: St Johnsbury, VT

Re: System volume plugin idea for Rainmeter - Need feedback

Post by gschoppe »

The winxp/win vista issue should be addressed with a simple os version check in the plugin... it would set a global variable on start with the current os, and then all api based calls would be aliased through a function that selects api call (or custom code) based on os... The only thing that has stopped me from looking further into the issue is the complication of XP's volume controls... they are pretty old school ANSI C... like using bit-fields to identify devices... strange...

However, anyone who has worked with the xp sound settings before should have little trouble.
Image
User avatar
bendenfield
Posts: 98
Joined: July 30th, 2009, 12:17 am

Re: System volume plugin idea for Rainmeter - Need feedback

Post by bendenfield »

How are things going on?
I am looking forward to that thing and can't wait for it :-)