It is currently October 13th, 2019, 11:53 pm

TranslucentRM

Share and get help with Plugins and Addons
oZone
Posts: 76
Joined: May 14th, 2018, 4:46 pm

TranslucentRM

oZone » September 28th, 2019, 3:07 pm

I know that there is arkenthera's Translucent Taskbar plugin.

There is also theAzack9's popular FrostedGlass plugin.

Looking through both source codes I noticed that they are very similar. And to learn more about c++ I have decided to try to merge them and to look at some of their issues.

And this is the result TranslucentRM plugin.

This plugin has two measure mode one for taskbar and other for skin.
"Translucent Taskbar mode" options:
Taskbar=1 will enable taskbar mode
taskbar mode has some specific options:
Info=1 will change information showed in log (Skin Tab)
Instead of selected accent it will return monitor count and instead of measure mode it will return used color in hex format (RRGGBB).

SecondMonitor=1 will enable support for 2+ monitor setup and allow to use child measures

child measure has 2 options:
ParentName=NameOfParentMeasure
Index=N where N is index of secondary taskbars, it is in range from 0 to (number of monitor - 1)
each time you move taskbars, refresh skin to calculate new index for each taskbars
Index=0 will disable measure


with Taskbar=0 plugin will work in "FrostedGlass mode"
Border=1 unlike "FrostedGlass" where you can choose which border you want, this will add all 4 borders

General options:
Type=N will allow you to choose accent:

Type=0 disable
Type=1 opaque, transparency is ignored
Type=2 transparent, border option is ignored
Type=3 blur, border option will disable color
Type=4 acrylic, for "FrostedGlass mode" this is broken in Windows 10 build 10.0.18362, 1903 (May 2019 Update).
I cannot fix it, this is Windows bug.

Color=RRGGBBAA color in hex format RRGGBBAA or RRGGBB
AccentColor=1 will use Windows 10 accent color, with transparency from color option (last 2 number - AA)


Take a note that this is an unofficial and undocumented method of using Win10 API and with future Windows 10 version this plugin might stop working correctly. You are using this plugin on your own risk and I am not responsible for issues this plugin may cause.

You have been warned!

And another important note, I am not programmer and I still beginner in c++ (I am learning c++ in my limited free time), so there may be some issues.

Minimal requirements is Windows 10. For acrylic option Windows 10 build 10.0.17134, 1803 (April 2018 update) .

Also for skin to show correctly you will need "Segoe MDL2 Assets" font installed, which is installed by default on Windows 10.

If there is some issues, reply here. I will try to fix it, but I won't promise anything.
transparent_color.png
transparent.png
opaque.png
blur.png
acrylic.png
measure example (for other example get skin in attachment):
Transparent skin with accent color

Code: Select all

[TranslucentSkin]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=TranslucentRM
Type=2
Color=00000050
AccentColor=1
Measure count monitor and accent color without changing skin and taskbar

Code: Select all

[Info]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=TranslucentRM
Taskbar=1
AccentColor=1
Info=1


Set only main taskbar

Code: Select all

[MainTaskbar]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=TranslucentRM
Taskbar=1
Type=2
Color=6311B250
Set different style to taskbars

Code: Select all

[MainTaskbar]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=TranslucentRM
Taskbar=1
SecondMonitor=1
Type=4
Color=0063B1A0

[SecondTaskbar]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=TranslucentRM
ParentName=Taskbar
Index=1
Type=1
Color=A70013
Known issues:
"Translucent Taskbar mode"
When clicking on start menu, taskbar will flicker. This is because Windows is reapplying default theme for taskbar.

"FrostedGlass mode"
Type=4 acrylic, for "FrostedGlass mode" this is broken in Windows 10 build 10.0.18362, 1903 (May 2019 Update).
I cannot fix it, this is Windows bug.
Source code
https://github.com/ozone10/Rainmeter-TranslucentRM

for better taskbar customization I recommend you to use TranslucentTB instead of rainmeter plugin.

btw the most difficult problem was choosing the name for plugin

Changelog
05.10.2019
Code refactoring, should be more stable.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by oZone on October 5th, 2019, 5:28 pm, edited 3 times in total.
User avatar
eclectic-tech
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 3566
Joined: April 12th, 2012, 9:40 pm
Location: Cedar Point, Ohio, USA

Re: TranslucentRM

eclectic-tech » September 28th, 2019, 4:07 pm

Thanks for sharing! :rosegift:

I have my taskbar at the top of my screen, so in your example taskbar skin, your info icon appears under my Windows Start button. I might suggest initially placing it vertically slightly below the taskbar height. I already moved it to a different position, so Rainmeter will remember where I want it. :D

So far, it blends the taskbar into my desktop color schemes very nicely! :thumbup:
oZone
Posts: 76
Joined: May 14th, 2018, 4:46 pm

Re: TranslucentRM

oZone » September 28th, 2019, 7:13 pm

I also moved it else and I mainly use that skin to fast refresh (when you leave skin it will refresh it), so it didn't occur to me.

I will adjust position next time, when I am done with code cleaning.
oZone
Posts: 76
Joined: May 14th, 2018, 4:46 pm

Re: TranslucentRM

oZone » October 5th, 2019, 5:35 pm

I have updated plugin and added source code.

Plugin should be more stable.