It is currently October 14th, 2019, 6:50 am

Speech Plugin 2.4

Plugins and Addons popular with the Community
User avatar
eclectic-tech
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 3566
Joined: April 12th, 2012, 9:40 pm
Location: Cedar Point, Ohio, USA

Re: Speech Plugin

eclectic-tech » January 27th, 2019, 3:00 am

A very good "first step" indeed, sir!

The ability to have a few things in skins in your native language is helpful; text translation is hard enough, speech is even harder.

What you have so far is a great start. Well done :rosegift:
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 19543
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Speech Plugin

jsmorley » January 27th, 2019, 3:15 am

eclectic-tech wrote:
January 27th, 2019, 3:00 am
A very good "first step" indeed, sir!

The ability to have a few things in skins in your native language is helpful; text translation is hard enough, speech is even harder.

What you have so far is a great start. Well done :rosegift:
A different "culture" voice doesn't really do a lot of "translating", as far as I can see, it only "translates" numbers into the language. Everything else is spoken as it is, just with the appropriate "accent". Obviously though, if you use a German voice, and send it German text, it's going to sound a lot better than the same German text spoken with an English / American accent/pronunciation.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 19543
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Speech Plugin

jsmorley » January 27th, 2019, 2:28 pm

Speech.dll version 1.2.0
January 27, 2019
Corrected a bug in the plugin that would generate a pointless log error if the Name option was not defined.

Updated all .rmskins in this thread.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 19543
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Speech Plugin

jsmorley » January 27th, 2019, 6:58 pm

Balala, can you run that skin with the voice selector and post a screenshot? I'm curious what voices you have on your system, and how they are ordered.

I'm particularly interested to validate that Microsoft Zira Desktop is always there somewhere.
User avatar
kyriakos876
Posts: 915
Joined: January 30th, 2017, 2:01 am
Location: Greece

Re: Speech Plugin

kyriakos876 » January 27th, 2019, 7:03 pm

This sure is something... Well done. I see you're using System.Speech.Synthesis... any chance you stumbled upon anything that can to the opposite? (Speech-to-text).
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 19543
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Speech Plugin

jsmorley » January 27th, 2019, 7:04 pm

kyriakos876 wrote:
January 27th, 2019, 7:03 pm
This sure is something... Well done. I see you're using System.Speech.Synthesis... any chance you stumbled upon anything that can to the opposite? (Speech-to-text).
Go away... ;-)
User avatar
kyriakos876
Posts: 915
Joined: January 30th, 2017, 2:01 am
Location: Greece

Re: Speech Plugin

kyriakos876 » January 27th, 2019, 7:06 pm

jsmorley wrote:
January 27th, 2019, 7:04 pm
Go away... ;-)
🏃‍♂️💨
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 8799
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: Speech Plugin

balala » January 27th, 2019, 7:07 pm

jsmorley wrote:
January 27th, 2019, 1:55 am
Balala, I installed the German language pack for Windows 10, and after rebooting, Microsoft Hedda Desktop was available as a voice, and when used with the plugin, it spoke the date and time with a German accent, and even translated "numbers" to German. I assume if I also used a "locale" with the Time measure, I would get fully German output.
Thanks for your work.
German is not my language, I'm not interested into it. Would be in Hungarian and Romanian. If I understood it well, I have to install the appropriate Windows language pack in order to use certain language. Am I right?
A question: with the new version of the plugin, Gender has not too much sense. It is set based on the Name. For example if I set the Name to Name=Microsoft Zira Desktop and the Gender to Gender=Male, a female voice is speaking, although the Gender is set to Male. Hadn't became this option useless?
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 19543
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Speech Plugin

jsmorley » January 27th, 2019, 7:09 pm

balala wrote:
January 27th, 2019, 7:07 pm
Thanks for your work.
German is not my language, I'm not interested into it. Would be in Hungarian and Romanian. If I understood it well, I have to install the appropriate Windows language pack in order to use certain language. Am I right?
A question: with the new version of the plugin, Gender has not too much sense. It is set based on the Name. For example if I set the Name to Name=Microsoft Zira Desktop and the Gender to Gender=Male, a female voice is speaking, although the Gender is set to Male. Hadn't became this option useless?
Gender is just ignored if you select a specific Name. You can't have Microsoft Zira Desktop speak with a male inflection.

If Name is not used, and Gender is, then the first voice of that gender will be used.
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 8799
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: Speech Plugin

balala » January 27th, 2019, 7:10 pm

jsmorley wrote:
January 27th, 2019, 7:09 pm
Gender is just ignored if you select a specific Name. You can't have Microsoft Zira Desktop speak with a male inflection.
That's exactly why I said that Gender became useless.