It is currently October 28th, 2020, 7:51 am

[V1.1.2] FrostedGlass - Now with more acrylic

Plugins and Addons popular with the Community
oZone
Posts: 133
Joined: May 14th, 2018, 4:46 pm

Re: [V1.1.2] FrostedGlass - Now with more acrylic

Post by oZone »

Cariboudjan wrote: May 3rd, 2020, 10:01 am Noticed this. Dragging a window with Acrylic type causes extremely slow dragging with extreme lag. Setting the same window to regular blur doesn't have this effect.

1 = Regular blur
2 = Acrylic blur
My plugin TranslucentRM is using same undocumented winapi , so
oZone wrote: September 28th, 2019, 3:07 pm Type=4 acrylic, for "FrostedGlass mode" this is broken in Windows 10 build 10.0.18362, 1903 (May 2019 Update).
I cannot fix it, this is Windows bug.
User avatar
Cariboudjan
Posts: 98
Joined: May 12th, 2019, 8:55 am

Re: [V1.1.2] FrostedGlass - Now with more acrylic

Post by Cariboudjan »

Thanks.

There's probably something that can be done with a Calc measure that shuts off blur while a window is being dragged, and then reenable it when it stops moving.

Acrylic seems fine so long as the window is still.

Would have been awesome to have an OnDragAction for this.
mhunchojack
Posts: 1
Joined: August 18th, 2020, 12:53 am

Re: [V1.1.2] FrostedGlass - Now with more acrylic

Post by mhunchojack »

How do i enable/disable Acrylic blur?
I have tried this:

MouseOverAction=[!Redraw][!SetOption Blur Type Acrylic][!UpdateMeasure Blur]
MouseLeaveAction=[!Redraw][!SetOption Blur Type None][!UpdateMeasure Blur]

Also tried defining global variables and using [!SetVariable]. no luck.
Using [!CommandMeasure Blur EnableBlur] [!CommandMeasure Blur DisableBlur] forces the plugin to use normal blur instead of acrylic type.
mak_kawa
Posts: 905
Joined: December 30th, 2015, 9:47 am

Re: [V1.1.2] FrostedGlass - Now with more acrylic

Post by mak_kawa »

Hi mhunchojack

IIRC, this measure option changes blur on(1)/off(0), BlurEnabled=1.
User avatar
Alex88
Posts: 50
Joined: July 18th, 2020, 1:23 am
Location: California

Re: [V1.1.2] FrostedGlass - Now with more acrylic

Post by Alex88 »

Edit: BlurEnabled= is depreciated, rather use something as [!SetOption measureFrosted Type "Acrylic"] or similar.

mak_kawa's BlurEnabled=1 does work to toggle the given blur effect, and can be used with !SetOption. If it's a change to be permanent based on the user's choice, then use !WriteKeyValue as well. An example:

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
 Update=-1
 AccurateText=1
 DynamicWindowSize=1
 DefaultAlwaysOnTop=1

[styleText]
 FontFace=Segoe UI
 FontSize=10
 StringAlign=CenterCenter
 FontColor=255,255,255
 AntiAlias=1

[measureFrosted]
 Measure=Plugin
 Plugin=FrostedGlass
 Type=Acrylic

 ; Edit: BlurEnabled is depreciated

[MeterBackground]
 Meter=Image
 SolidColor=50,50,50,50

 W=200
 H=100

[MeterSelect1]
 Meter=String
 MeterStyle=styleText
 Text=Click to Disable Acrylic

 X=100
 Y=40

 LeftMouseUpAction=[!SetOption measureFrosted Type "None"][!Update][!Redraw]

[MeterSelect2]
 Meter=String
 MeterStyle=styleText
 Text=Click to Enable Acrylic

 X=100
 Y=60

 LeftMouseUpAction=[!SetOption measureFrosted Type "Acrylic"][!Update][!Redraw]
Aside but might be still related and I don't think it was mentioned specifically yet, but just checked and found the slowdown when using Acrylic is a result of using Border= of any type aside from None, so Acrylic should still be useable if you remove borders.
Last edited by Alex88 on August 18th, 2020, 4:06 am, edited 2 times in total.
Current Desktop
mak_kawa
Posts: 905
Joined: December 30th, 2015, 9:47 am

Re: [V1.1.2] FrostedGlass - Now with more acrylic

Post by mak_kawa »

Ah... sorry, BlurEnabled= option is deprecated. (But still works... :-) )
User avatar
Alex88
Posts: 50
Joined: July 18th, 2020, 1:23 am
Location: California

Re: [V1.1.2] FrostedGlass - Now with more acrylic

Post by Alex88 »

mak_kawa wrote: August 18th, 2020, 3:53 am Ah... sorry, BlurEnabled= option is deprecated. (But still works... :-) )
I see, good to know; I updated my code example.
Current Desktop
mak_kawa
Posts: 905
Joined: December 30th, 2015, 9:47 am

Re: [V1.1.2] FrostedGlass - Now with more acrylic

Post by mak_kawa »

Hi Alex88 and mhunchojack

My version for toggle blur, using variables...

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
Update=1000
BackgroundMode=2
SolidColor=192,192,192,64
SkinWidth=100
SkinHeight=100

[Variables]
BlurNum=0
Blur0=Blur
Blur1=None
BlurStr=#Blur0#

[someMeasure]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=FrostedGlass
UpdateDivider=-1
Type=#BlurStr#
DynamicVariables=1

[someMeter]
Meter=String
X=5
Y=5
Text=Toggle Blur
AntiAlias=1
LeftMouseUpAction=[!SetVariable BlurNum (1-#BlurNum#)][!SetVariable BlurStr [#Blur[#BlurNum]]][!UpdateMeasure someMeasure][!UpdateMeter *][!Redraw]
DynamicVariables=1
mak_kawa
Posts: 905
Joined: December 30th, 2015, 9:47 am

Re: [V1.1.2] FrostedGlass - Now with more acrylic

Post by mak_kawa »

So, mhunchojack, I am not sure why your blur control code doesn't work. What I can suggest is...
MouseOverAction=[!Redraw][!SetOption Blur Type Acrylic][!UpdateMeasure Blur]
MouseLeaveAction=[!Redraw][!SetOption Blur Type None][!UpdateMeasure Blur]
Position of the !Redraw bang seems to be somewhat problematic. What if;

Code: Select all

MouseOverAction=[!SetOption Blur Type Acrylic][!UpdateMeasure Blur][!UpdateMeter *][!Redraw]
MouseLeaveAction=[!SetOption Blur Type None][!UpdateMeasure Blur][!UpdateMeter *][!Redraw]
But it doesn't seem to be an essential problem... Anyway, if you post your whole code here, someone might help you...
User avatar
Cariboudjan
Posts: 98
Joined: May 12th, 2019, 8:55 am

Re: [V1.1.2] FrostedGlass - Now with more acrylic

Post by Cariboudjan »

Still no possibility to define an area of blur (instead of covering the entire window)?