It is currently March 24th, 2019, 8:40 pm

[V1.1.2] FrostedGlass - Now with more acrylic

Plugins and Addons popular with the Community
User avatar
Virginityrocks
Posts: 505
Joined: February 26th, 2011, 10:22 pm

Re: FrostedGlass - Frosted glass effect in windows 10

Virginityrocks » April 14th, 2016, 10:53 pm

I tested it with Windows 7 this morning on my work PC, and it simply has no effect. No error in the log, no problems whatsoever.
User avatar
Brian
Developer
Posts: 1852
Joined: November 24th, 2011, 1:42 am
Location: Utah

Re: FrostedGlass - Frosted glass effect in windows 10

Brian » April 15th, 2016, 2:42 am

This method will only work for Windows 10 and will not work for any other version of Windows.

Plus, this is a undocumented way of achieving blur on Windows 10 and could be changed at anytime by Microsoft (this is why we don't have it in Rainmeter).

-Brian
User avatar
theAzack9
Developer
Posts: 518
Joined: March 2nd, 2016, 6:23 pm

Re: FrostedGlass - Frosted glass effect in windows 10

theAzack9 » April 15th, 2016, 11:32 am

Brian wrote:This method will only work for Windows 10 and will not work for any other version of Windows.

Plus, this is a undocumented way of achieving blur on Windows 10 and could be changed at anytime by Microsoft (this is why we don't have it in Rainmeter).

-Brian
Should probablu include that in the main post, even though i really don't think microsoft will change it anytime soon. Well, its better to let the users be aware of it incase it ever becomes a problem ;)
User avatar
theAzack9
Developer
Posts: 518
Joined: March 2nd, 2016, 6:23 pm

Re: FrostedGlass - Frosted glass effect in windows 10

theAzack9 » April 15th, 2016, 11:37 am

Virginityrocks wrote:I tested it with Windows 7 this morning on my work PC, and it simply has no effect. No error in the log, no problems whatsoever.
Thanks for letting me know ;)
User avatar
theAzack9
Developer
Posts: 518
Joined: March 2nd, 2016, 6:23 pm

Re: FrostedGlass - Frosted glass effect in windows 10

theAzack9 » April 15th, 2016, 11:39 am

Parko wrote:Cool plugin, thanks for sharing theAzack9.
Np ;) currently working on countless more XDD

I hope you'll find a use for it! :)
User avatar
Virginityrocks
Posts: 505
Joined: February 26th, 2011, 10:22 pm

Re: FrostedGlass - Frosted glass effect in windows 10

Virginityrocks » April 15th, 2016, 6:47 pm

I believe Windows 10 will completely replace all other version of Windows, including 7, very soon. So I don't really care about support for 7 as much as I used to. I'm planning to integrate this plugin into every single config of my suite. Apart from some mild recoding and aesthetic changes, it fits in nicely, even with its limitations.

But I will keep my eyes open for changes.
Bobburt444
Posts: 13
Joined: November 11th, 2011, 12:05 am

Re: FrostedGlass - Frosted glass effect in windows 10

Bobburt444 » April 26th, 2016, 4:43 am

So does "disabled=1" not work with this? Or am I doing something wrong?

I was hoping I could enable/disable the effect on a MouseOver/MouseLeave action.

Edit: I feel silly. After immediately going back into my editor, I noticed the "blurenabled" option haha.
User avatar
dvo
Posts: 539
Joined: February 7th, 2016, 6:08 am

Re: FrostedGlass - Frosted glass effect in windows 10

dvo » April 26th, 2016, 8:56 am

Code: Select all

IfMatch=(?=^#Password#$)(?=^[^\s]+$)
seems to work better :D
otherwise he stays on your 1234 and windows key and unload skin works 2 :oops:
User avatar
theAzack9
Developer
Posts: 518
Joined: March 2nd, 2016, 6:23 pm

Re: FrostedGlass - Frosted glass effect in windows 10

theAzack9 » April 26th, 2016, 8:06 pm

dvo wrote:

Code: Select all

IfMatch=(?=^#Password#$)(?=^[^\s]+$)
seems to work better :D
otherwise he stays on your 1234 and windows key and unload skin works 2 :oops:
Thanks, i'll update the skin :D even though it's mostly an example of the skin that i made in about an hour :p
User avatar
dvo
Posts: 539
Joined: February 7th, 2016, 6:08 am

Re: FrostedGlass - Frosted glass effect in windows 10

dvo » April 26th, 2016, 8:12 pm

it was nice done mabye you still know away how to hide taskbar and startmenu for better result :)
taskbar is eazy startmenu didn't find a option yet ....or lock the windows key hehheheh :D