It is currently July 17th, 2019, 1:44 pm

Plugin for HWiNFO

Plugins and Addons popular with the Community
jeffhobson
Posts: 40
Joined: January 15th, 2015, 9:05 am

Re: Plugin for HWiNFO

jeffhobson » February 2nd, 2015, 12:51 am

hello:
I am not sure weather to start a new thread for this or append to this one. If I have it wrong, let me know what the preference is.

I am just downloading and setting up HWInfo. I have downloaded and installed the .ini file and have it running. When I run "HWiNFO Shared memory viewer" to get the customization parameters, I have some questions. First of all, I understand the setup of the .inc file. It is fairly straightforward.

Looking at the viewer screen, I have a whole lot of 'elements' to chose from. The first is CPU(0) I7-2600k, its ID is 0x F0 00 03 00 (Hex indicated) under that is a whole list of 'VID's (for example) they each have an ID (0x 20 00 00 01) to 0x 20 00 00 03 (spaces to count off the digits for me) Question: Which Id do I enter into the .inc file, the one for the CPU F000300 or each of the VID id's (20 00 00 01 ...) I suspect the individual ID;s so I can get unique values. If that is so, what info is returned from the CPU id at the top?

I go down to the disks (5 of them) Each has the same ID at the 'top' (0x F0 00 00 01 01)
how do tell the .inc file which one I want to monitor? When I go under each disk heading, the read activity has an ID that is the same in each disk. How do I differentiate each disk since they all have the same 'master' ID and the same 'read, write total read rate and write rate ID;s? This question applies to the multiple NET cards also They share the same 'master' ID's and the same 'sub category' ID's

I notice they are assigned different 'instances' at the component level but I cannot see where in the .inc file I enter this unique number? Since the values returned from the temperature sensors are in degrees Centigrade, I will need to convert (Easy) but the .inc file has the degree symbol preceding the C or F, Is that part of the string so I do not need to put one in the 'text' line of the meter?

Thanks for the help, I am getting better at making up some skins of my own.

I hope this issue is just my not REALLY understanding the format of the .inc file but I think I have the basic grasp of the intention and will just need to have a whole bunch of [measure] sections for each of the various values.
Don't lose heart, someone may want it and not waste time with a messy search
User avatar
VasTex
Posts: 408
Joined: September 20th, 2012, 3:17 pm
Location: USA - Montana

Re: Plugin for HWiNFO

VasTex » February 2nd, 2015, 3:10 am

You may want to take a look at the documentation and example skins provided in the forum posts regarding this plugin on the HWiNFO site.

This one is a link to the old version which still has some much needed examples in it and this one is a link to the 2.0 version of the plugin which has changed the way things are used and the way they look as well as an additional example skin.
01010100 01100101 01100011 01101000 01101110 01101111 01101100 01101111 01100111 01101001
01100011 01100001 01101100 00100000 01000010 01100001 01100100 01100001 01110011 01110011
stangowner
Posts: 39
Joined: October 6th, 2012, 12:27 pm

Re: Plugin for HWiNFO

stangowner » January 1st, 2016, 4:31 pm

This plugin has been updated to version 3.0.0. This includes remote system monitoring that was added to HWiNFO v5.0, as well support for Rainmeter 3.3.

More information can be found here:
http://www.hwinfo.com/forum/Thread-Rainmeter-plug-in-for-HWiNFO-3-0

Please let me know if you have any questions.

Thanks,
Nick
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 19287
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Plugin for HWiNFO

jsmorley » January 1st, 2016, 5:13 pm

[back #ff0000] Important Note [/back]
As stangowner has pointed out in the previous post, there is a new 3.0 version of the HWiNFO plugin for Rainmeter.

It is very important that you upgrade your system, and any skins you have distributed using the plugin, to the new versions of the plugin and the HWiNFOSharedMemoryViewer.exe.

If you don't, there is some risk that you, or users who have your skin, will experience failure of the plugin when they upgrade to Rainmeter version 3.3, which is scheduled to be released this weekend.


The new plugin can be downloaded from HWiNFO plugin for Rainmeter.

There is no reason not to do this now, as the new version of the plugin will also work fine with earlier versions of Rainmeter.

Again, you need to use both the new plugin, and the new version of HWiNFOSharedMemoryViewer.exe with your skins. You should also be sure you are on the latest 5.10 version of the HWiNFO application from http://www.hwinfo.com/.
User avatar
Jtmzac
Posts: 28
Joined: January 24th, 2016, 9:11 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Plugin for HWiNFO

Jtmzac » January 26th, 2016, 4:21 am

Would it be possible to change the plugin to output something if it fails?

Currently if an id is wrong there is no output at all which makes it impossible to neatly hide meters or disable a measure.

There are some workarounds I've found but none are ideal. You can check if hwinfo is actually running which is useful but doesn't let you perform an action if the id is wrong.

The closest thing I've found is setting the ids using variables that are 0 by default then using ifmatch but this still doesn't help if the id is actually wrong.

My guess for a good output if it fails is -500 since thats lower than absolute zero in fahrenheit.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 19287
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Plugin for HWiNFO

jsmorley » January 26th, 2016, 4:48 am

Jtmzac wrote:Would it be possible to change the plugin to output something if it fails?

Currently if an id is wrong there is no output at all which makes it impossible to neatly hide meters or disable a measure.

There are some workarounds I've found but none are ideal. You can check if hwinfo is actually running which is useful but doesn't let you perform an action if the id is wrong.

The closest thing I've found is setting the ids using variables that are 0 by default then using ifmatch but this still doesn't help if the id is actually wrong.

My guess for a good output if it fails is -500 since thats lower than absolute zero in fahrenheit.
Not an unreasonable idea. I'd suggest asking about it on the HWiNFO forum though. I don't think the plugin author, stangowner, is a regular visitor here, and the Rainmeter team has no control over that source code.

http://www.hwinfo.com/forum/Thread-Rainmeter-plug-in-for-HWiNFO-3-0
stangowner
Posts: 39
Joined: October 6th, 2012, 12:27 pm

Re: Plugin for HWiNFO

stangowner » February 7th, 2016, 2:07 pm

Hi Jtmzac,

I responded to your suggestion in the HWiNFO forum here as it has a dedicated thread:
http://www.hwinfo.com/forum/Thread-Suggestion-to-Improve-Plugin

Thanks,
Nick
User avatar
Dreossk
Posts: 21
Joined: November 12th, 2015, 7:21 pm

Re: Plugin for HWiNFO

Dreossk » February 10th, 2016, 2:46 pm

In HWiNFO Shared Memory Viewer everything works fine except for UPS where there is no data. I don't understand because there is plenty of UPS sensor info in HWiNFO?
Image
Image

Rainmeter 3.3.0 r2519 64 bit (Jan 3 2016)
HWiNFO Shared Memory Viewer 3.0.0.0
HWINFO64 5.12-2740
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 19287
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Plugin for HWiNFO

jsmorley » February 10th, 2016, 2:49 pm

Dreossk,

I would suggest posting this in the support forum for the plugin on the HWiNFO site. That is likely to have more visibility to the author of the plugin.

http://www.hwinfo.com/forum/Forum-Rainmeter-plug-in
User avatar
Dreossk
Posts: 21
Joined: November 12th, 2015, 7:21 pm

Re: Plugin for HWiNFO

Dreossk » February 10th, 2016, 4:47 pm

A reboot fixed it. I should have tried the universal Windows solution first. :D