It is currently August 20th, 2019, 7:51 pm

RainGame

Plugins and Addons popular with the Community
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 19362
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

RainGame

jsmorley » November 15th, 2011, 10:51 am

If you are going to be playing a full screen game that you would like to give 100% of Windows resources to when playing, it can be useful to have a way to turn Rainmeter off when you start playing and and back on when you are done.

This little addon will take care of this for you. Just run it before you start your game, and it will exit Rainmeter and put a little icon in the system tray. When you are done, just click the icon and select "Restart Rainmeter".

The application can be run from any location.
RainGame.zip
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Matt
Posts: 105
Joined: November 20th, 2009, 7:23 am

Re: RainGame

Matt » November 16th, 2011, 6:24 am

Works like a charm! :thumbup:
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 19362
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: RainGame

jsmorley » November 16th, 2011, 12:54 pm

Matt wrote:Works like a charm! :thumbup:
Good deal. I just wanted a way to give Skyrim all the cycles I could.. ;-)
User avatar
AlC
Posts: 331
Joined: June 9th, 2011, 6:46 pm

Re: RainGame

AlC » November 17th, 2011, 5:14 pm

Thank you very much for it

Now I've done my first experience with AutoIt to make it automatic, just too lazy to go to the icon :)

With adding ( and I'm proud of it :D )
If NOT ProcessExists("notepad++.exe") Then
ShellExecute("..\..\Rainmeter.exe")
Exit
EndIf

With Example exe Notepad++
Thanks
Rainmeter - You are only limited by your imagination and creativity.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 19362
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: RainGame

jsmorley » November 17th, 2011, 5:19 pm

Yeah, you could certainly do that and put "mygme.exe" as the process to watch for...
User avatar
Mordasius
Posts: 1061
Joined: January 22nd, 2011, 4:23 pm
Location: GMT +8

Re: RainGame

Mordasius » November 20th, 2011, 4:25 pm

jsmorley wrote:I just wanted a way to give Skyrim all the cycles I could.. ;-)
Every little helps even though Skyrim seems to be very tolerant and perform surprisingly well on lower spec systems. In addition to closing down Rainmeter and your antivirus, you might just as well apply a few Skyrim.ini tweaks along the lines of those listed in Step 5 of these tips.

That done, why not add a Rainmeter logo to your Krosis mask?
Untitled-2.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
oliverheath2000
Posts: 1
Joined: December 8th, 2011, 9:39 pm

Re: RainGame

oliverheath2000 » December 8th, 2011, 9:43 pm

I am struggling! Where do you put the extra code that makes rainmeter close automatically upon launching a game?

Thanks in advance
User avatar
santa_ryan
Posts: 417
Joined: June 22nd, 2010, 4:11 am

Re: RainGame

santa_ryan » December 27th, 2011, 12:48 pm

You could detect if a window was topmost and kill rainmeter that way as well. All games that I know of have the "Topmost" attribute applied to them (minus simple things like minesweeper and solitaire).

Use the following includes:

Code: Select all

#include <WinAPI.au3>
#include <constants.au3>
If you don't want the constants.au3 include then declare these:

Code: Select all

$GWL_EXSTYLE = 0xFFFFFFEC
$WS_EX_TOPMOST = 0x00000008
Here's how to do it:
Returns true if $hWnd has the topmost attribute and false if $hWnd is does not, assuming $hWnd is you're program handle.

Code: Select all

BitAND(_WinAPI_GetWindowLong($hWnd, $GWL_EXSTYLE), $WS_EX_TOPMOST)
Example of skyrim detection:

Code: Select all

Do
     Global $Skyrim = WinGetHandle("Skyrim")
     If BitAND(_WinAPI_GetWindowLong($Skyrim, $GWL_EXSTYLE), $WS_EX_TOPMOST) Then
          ProcessClose("Rainmeter.exe")
     EndIf
     Sleep(10000)
     ;Sleep so we don't kill the CPU...
Until 1
I'll make a script that will do what I just explained, but this will take me a bit longer.
I have three rules when I'm trying to help you.
  • Don't get mad when you don't understand something
  • Be VERY specific with what you ask for.
    The more specific you are, the higher the quality of support you receive.
  • Do not just copy and paste what I put in examples and come back saying it doesn't work.
    It does work, but I purposely left blanks that you need to fill for your specific needs.
User avatar
santa_ryan
Posts: 417
Joined: June 22nd, 2010, 4:11 am

Re: RainGame

santa_ryan » December 27th, 2011, 4:37 pm

Alrighty. Done

http://rainmeter.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=10810

Edit: Sorry for the double post. I know that double posting is bad form. :/ Merge this with my last comment if you could please.
I have three rules when I'm trying to help you.
  • Don't get mad when you don't understand something
  • Be VERY specific with what you ask for.
    The more specific you are, the higher the quality of support you receive.
  • Do not just copy and paste what I put in examples and come back saying it doesn't work.
    It does work, but I purposely left blanks that you need to fill for your specific needs.
sea1monkey2
Posts: 30
Joined: April 21st, 2010, 4:03 am

Re: RainGame

sea1monkey2 » April 12th, 2012, 9:04 am

Or, I did something to make it easily accessible but still out of the way. Just throw this little line into your Rainmeter.ini

Code: Select all

TrayExecuteM=!Execute ["M:\Program Files\Rainmeter\Addons\RainGame\RainGame.exe]
Streamlined is fun :thumbup: and thanks jsmorley

EDIT: And then I realized I just revived a dead horse :handtohead: