It is currently August 20th, 2019, 3:11 pm

[D2D][Fixed] UseExifOrientation not working

Backwards compatibility issues related to the conversion of Rainmeter to D2D.
mochibear
Posts: 45
Joined: June 3rd, 2014, 11:16 pm

Re: [BUG?] Quoteplugin using EXIF data innapropriately..

mochibear » December 30th, 2018, 3:04 pm

Rofl what!!

So this is so happening on my work computer (different system and spec).

My work setup is 4 monitors and my home setup is 3. Strong suspicion this could be related to multi monitor setup. I am going to test this out in a little bit by running only 1 monitor.
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 8534
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: [BUG?] Quoteplugin using EXIF data innapropriately..

balala » December 30th, 2018, 3:07 pm

Are you sure you didn't set accidentally the PreserveAspectRatio to 2, on the Image meter? Please check.
mochibear
Posts: 45
Joined: June 3rd, 2014, 11:16 pm

Re: [BUG?] Quoteplugin using EXIF data innapropriately..

mochibear » December 30th, 2018, 3:20 pm

balala wrote:
December 30th, 2018, 3:07 pm
Are you sure you didn't set accidentally the PreserveAspectRatio to 2, on the Image meter? Please check.
Nope. It's set to 1

Code: Select all

[MeterShowPicture]
Meter=Image
MeasureName=MeasureMyPictures
UseExifOrientation=0
X=40
Y=5
W=1024
H=768
PreserveAspectRatio=1
LeftMouseUpAction=[!Refresh]
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 8534
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: [BUG?] Quoteplugin using EXIF data innapropriately..

balala » December 30th, 2018, 4:11 pm

mochibear wrote:
December 30th, 2018, 3:20 pm
Nope. It's set to 1
I thought, just asked to be sure.
No more ideas from my part. :confused: As you said, there could be something related to multiple monitors, but I can't check this, because I'm using one single. Please check with one single monitor.
mochibear
Posts: 45
Joined: June 3rd, 2014, 11:16 pm

Re: [BUG?] Quoteplugin using EXIF data innapropriately..

mochibear » December 31st, 2018, 4:03 am

balala wrote:
December 30th, 2018, 4:11 pm
I thought, just asked to be sure.
No more ideas from my part. :confused: As you said, there could be something related to multiple monitors, but I can't check this, because I'm using one single. Please check with one single monitor.
Ran single monitor - still happens. I also ran this in Windows 10 virtual machine (virgin, not tuned) and the same thing happened.

I'd like to confirm what you're seeing. If you add the folder with the "BAD" pictures( 2 of them) they display properly?

Is there anyone else who can download the config and try running the frame and provide feedback on what they see ?
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 8534
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: [BUG?] Quoteplugin using EXIF data innapropriately..

balala » December 31st, 2018, 9:36 am

What is the version of Rainmeter you're using?
mochibear
Posts: 45
Joined: June 3rd, 2014, 11:16 pm

Re: [BUG?] Quoteplugin using EXIF data innapropriately..

mochibear » December 31st, 2018, 6:06 pm

I don’t think it’s version specific

I am using latest beta as of yesterday but it happens on the final version at work too.

That’s what I find so confusing. It happens on 2 computers plus a virtual machine.

Are you running windows 10?
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 8534
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: [BUG?] Quoteplugin using EXIF data innapropriately..

balala » December 31st, 2018, 6:10 pm

mochibear wrote:
December 31st, 2018, 6:06 pm
Are you running windows 10?
Yes, I am.
Maybe could anybody test the posted skin, with the included images?
mochibear
Posts: 45
Joined: June 3rd, 2014, 11:16 pm

Re: [BUG?] Quoteplugin using EXIF data innapropriately..

mochibear » January 13th, 2019, 5:57 am

Please is anyone able to test this?

I am seeing this behavior on 4 computers now and am at a loss how someone else is not able to see it. Pretty please?
User avatar
eclectic-tech
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 3485
Joined: April 12th, 2012, 9:40 pm
Location: Cedar Point, Ohio, USA

Re: [BUG?] Quoteplugin using EXIF data innapropriately..

eclectic-tech » January 13th, 2019, 4:01 pm

mochibear wrote:
January 13th, 2019, 5:57 am
Please is anyone able to test this?

I am seeing this behavior on 4 computers now and am at a loss how someone else is not able to see it. Pretty please?
I am seeing the same 'cropping' by Windows when I rotate your images or use EXIF.

From what I was able to find, Windows does not 'play well with EXIF' :thumbdown:

In my opinion, you are going about this the opposite way I would. Considering that Windows has multiple ways to display wallpaper, I would resize my images nearer to my normal screen resolution and aspect, then let Windows adjust how it is displayed: Fit, Fill, Span, Stretch, Center, or Tiled.

You said you can't change the images you are getting from the source, but resizing them prior to trying to use them as wallpaper is a much better solution in my experience. :rosegift: