It is currently December 10th, 2018, 8:55 pm

[Solved] Issues with Stroke in Shape Meter

Testing and discussion of the conversion of Rainmeter to D2D.
oZone
Posts: 57
Joined: May 14th, 2018, 4:46 pm

[Solved] Issues with Stroke in Shape Meter

oZone » August 21st, 2018, 9:04 pm

Stroke in shape meter doesn't work correctly in Rainmeter 4.3 when using bangs(?).

code to test

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
Update=-1

[BG]
Meter=IMAGE
X=50
Y=50
W=50
H=50
SolidColor=255,255,255,255

[Highlight]
Meter=Shape
Shape=Rectangle 0,0,50,50 | StrokeWidth 10 | Extend Color
Color=Fill Color 0,0,0,0 | Stroke Color 255,0,0,0
X=r
Y=r
MouseOverAction=[!SetOption Highlight Color "Fill Color 0,0,0,255 | Stroke Color 255,0,0,255"][!UpdateMeter Highlight][!Redraw]
MouseLeaveAction=[!SetOption Highlight Color "Fill Color 0,0,0,0 | Stroke Color 255,0,0,0"][!UpdateMeter Highlight][!Redraw]
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 18445
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Issues with Stroke in Shape Meter

jsmorley » August 21st, 2018, 10:01 pm

I don't see any difference in behavior between 4.2 and 4.3?
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 18445
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Issues with Stroke in Shape Meter

jsmorley » August 21st, 2018, 10:06 pm

The initial stroke and fill colors of the Shape meter are both "invisible"

Color=Fill Color 0,0,0,0 | Stroke Color 255,0,0,0

So you get just the solid white Image meter showing.

Then the "over" bang sets the fill to a solid black, and the stroke color to a solid red.

That is working as expected.

Then the "leave" bang sets the fill and stroke to "invisible" again, so just the white Image meter is showing.

I see nothing about this that is incorrect in either 4.2 or 4.3, nor in any way different in 4.2 vs. 4.3.
Bekarfel
Posts: 200
Joined: May 16th, 2012, 5:38 am

Re: Issues with Stroke in Shape Meter

Bekarfel » August 22nd, 2018, 5:39 am

Agreed with jsmorley.
The BG is a solid 50x50 white square covered by an invisible (fill color black transparent, stroke color red transparent) 50x50 rectangle
The code for mouse over makes the fill color black opaque, stroke color red opaque.
The code for mouse leave makes the fill color black transparent, stroke color red transparent.
moshi wrote:there are many Rainmeter skins that aren't really useful, so let's add another one.
jsmorley wrote:I have good news and bad news.
First the bad news. [...] We would be happy to have this happen and would love to work with anyone who is feeling ambitious.
Now the good news.
I lied, there isn't any good news...
oZone
Posts: 57
Joined: May 14th, 2018, 4:46 pm

Re: Issues with Stroke in Shape Meter

oZone » August 22nd, 2018, 6:19 am

You need to turn on hardware acceleration.

Left image is initial load, middle hover, right after leaving

Right image should look like left, but it doesn't.
rainmeter.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 18445
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Issues with Stroke in Shape Meter

jsmorley » August 22nd, 2018, 11:51 am

I'm not getting that, with 4.2, 4.3 w/HWA or 4.3 wo/HWA.
GIF.gif
Make sure you have the latest alpha from https://forum.rainmeter.net/viewtopic.php?f=123&t=28872
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
oZone
Posts: 57
Joined: May 14th, 2018, 4:46 pm

Re: Issues with Stroke in Shape Meter

oZone » August 22nd, 2018, 12:56 pm

It seems to affect only certain graphic cards driver. I tried running rainmeter with different GPU and driver version and some have issue while other don't.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 18445
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Issues with Stroke in Shape Meter

jsmorley » August 22nd, 2018, 1:07 pm

oZone wrote:It seems to affect only certain graphic cards driver. I tried running rainmeter with different GPU and driver version and some have issue while other don't.
Well, I don't know. My only advice is to ensure that you have the latest and greatest drivers for any GPU you are using.
oZone
Posts: 57
Joined: May 14th, 2018, 4:46 pm

Re: Issues with Stroke in Shape Meter

oZone » August 22nd, 2018, 1:12 pm

I tried using latest drivers from official site (Nvidia, Intel) and from Windows update.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 18445
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Issues with Stroke in Shape Meter

jsmorley » August 22nd, 2018, 1:14 pm

Can anyone else replicate the undesirable behavior with the skin in the first post of this thread?