It is currently November 21st, 2018, 3:04 pm

New UsageMonitor plugin

Changes made during the Rainmeter 4.2 beta cycle.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 18350
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: New UsageMonitor plugin

jsmorley » May 10th, 2018, 3:21 pm

fonpaolo wrote:Most of the applications I'm using are for 3D or photo editing, I can assure you that they need all the resources available. ;-)
And they will get it if they need it. That is one of the biggest and best advances in Windows 10.
User avatar
fonpaolo
Moderator
Posts: 1351
Joined: April 11th, 2013, 8:08 pm
Location: Italy

Re: New UsageMonitor plugin

fonpaolo » May 10th, 2018, 3:27 pm

I don't know... some of them are set by default to be used "Below Normal", since they use a lot of resources.
User avatar
tjhrulz
Developer
Posts: 223
Joined: October 13th, 2016, 1:28 am
Location: Earth

Re: New UsageMonitor plugin

tjhrulz » June 23rd, 2018, 3:23 pm

sephirotess wrote:The problems are indeed the same. I posted the logs because I was told that the plugin had been tested on one (or more) French Windows and that it worked, which of course is not the case. The test was done not on a French Windows, but simply on another version of Windows with a French language pack ... I simply wanted to prove that the problem did not come from my PC or my installations 8-).

Thank you very much for your time on this problem. For the moment, I will continue to use the old plugins. I will not install an English Windows or change my settings just for a plugin ;-). I do not know if there is a possible solution, but thanks again for your time :17nodding.
sephirotess give the Rainmeter 4.2 Beta Release - r3101 a try, this should fix your issues.
User avatar
raiguard
Posts: 478
Joined: June 25th, 2015, 7:02 pm
Location: The Sky, USA

Re: New UsageMonitor plugin

raiguard » June 23rd, 2018, 4:19 pm

The new beta completely broke my Disks Meter. Oddly enough though, my Process Meter continues to work fine. I also tested SilverAzide's Drives Meter and Top Process Meter with the same results.
2018-06-23 10_20_18-D__Settings_Caleb_Rainmeter_Skins_ModernGadgets_Process_Process.ini.png
Yes, I already tried rebuilding the counters, to no avail.

To diagnose it fully it may be easiest to just download the suite. However, I did also make a test skin with the measures for the C disk for convenience:

Code: Select all

; DISKS METER TESTING

[Rainmeter]
MiddleMouseUpAction=[!Refresh]
AccurateText=1

[Variables]
hideDiskC=0
ignoreRemovable=0
showEjectButtons=1
userIsAdmin=1
showDiskTemps=1

; Disk C
[MeasureDiskCType]
Measure=FreeDiskSpace
Drive=C:
Type=1
IgnoreRemovable=#ignoreRemovable#

[MeasureDiskCEject]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=RunCommand
StartInFolder=#@#Addons\Sync
Parameter=sync -e C:
Group=DiskC | EjectButtons
Disabled=(#hideDiskC# = 1) || (#showEjectButtons# = 0) || (#userIsAdmin# = 0)

[MeasureDiskCTemp]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=HWiNFO
HWiNFOSensorId=#HWiNFO-SMART-DiskCTemp-SensorId#
HWiNFOSensorInstance=#HWiNFO-SMART-DiskCTemp-SensorInstance#
HWiNFOEntryId=#HWiNFO-SMART-DiskCTemp-EntryId#
HWiNFOType=CurrentValue
Group=DiskC | DiskTemps
Disabled=(#hideDiskC# = 1) || (#showDiskTemps# = 0)

[MeasureDiskCIdleTime]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=UsageMonitor
Category=LogicalDisk
Counter=% Idle Time
Name=C:
Group=DiskC
Disabled=#hideDiskC#

[MeasureDiskCRWTime]
Measure=Calc
Formula=100 - Clamp(MeasureDiskCIdleTime,0,100)
MinValue=0
MaxValue=100
Group=DiskC
Disabled=#hideDiskC#

[MeasureDiskCActivity]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=UsageMonitor
Category=LogicalDisk
Counter=Disk Bytes/sec
Name=C:
Group=DiskC
Disabled=#hideDiskC#

[MeasureDiskCWrite]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=UsageMonitor
Category=LogicalDisk
Counter=Disk Write Bytes/sec
Name=C:
Group=DiskC | DiskCReadWrite
Disabled=#hideDiskC#

[MeasureDiskCRead]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=UsageMonitor
Category=LogicalDisk
Counter=Disk Read Bytes/sec
Name=C:
Group=DiskC | DiskCReadWrite
Disabled=#hideDiskC#

[MeasureDiskCSpaceUsed]
Measure=FreeDiskSpace
Drive=C:
InvertMeasure=1
IgnoreRemovable=#ignoreRemovable#
Group=DiskC
Disabled=#hideDiskC#

[MeasureDiskCSpaceTotal]
Measure=FreeDiskSpace
Drive=C:
Total=1
IgnoreRemovable=#ignoreRemovable#
DynamicVariables=1

[MeasureDiskCSpaceUsage]
Measure=Calc
Formula=(MeasureDiskCSpaceUsed / MeasureDiskCSpaceTotal)
Group=DiskC
Disabled=#hideDiskC#

[MeasureDiskCName]
Measure=FreeDiskSpace
Drive=C:
Label=1
IgnoreRemovable=#ignoreRemovable#
Group=DiskC
Disabled=#hideDiskC#

[MeterBackground]
Meter=Image
SolidColor=15,15,15
W=100
H=100

[MeterString]
Meter=String
FontFace=Arial
FontSize=12
FontColor=240,240,240
X=5
Y=5
W=90
H=90
ClipString=2
Text=Look at skins tab of about screen to test
Antialias=1
(As the skin says, just open the about dialog to see the measure values).

On the newest beta, all of the UsageMonitor values are zero. I haven't tried enabling debug mode yet, but the normal log doesn't throw any errors whatsoever. I'll update this as I find out more.

EDIT: Updated sample skin to remove FixedPrecisionFormat stuff (since the script is not included and there are no meters anyway.)

EDIT 2: It should also be noted that simply downgrading to r3097 fixes the problem.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
”We are pretty sure that r2922 resolves the regression in resolution caused by a reversion to a revision.” - jsmorley, 2017
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 18350
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: New UsageMonitor plugin

jsmorley » June 23rd, 2018, 4:28 pm

We are on it. Stand by for a new version I will post here. Raiguard, can you test it and get back to us right away. If it works, then I will do a new beta.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 18350
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: New UsageMonitor plugin

jsmorley » June 23rd, 2018, 4:57 pm

Raiguard, can you test this build and let me know if it is ok now?

https://builds.rainmeter.net/Rainmeter-4.2-r3104-beta.exe
User avatar
raiguard
Posts: 478
Joined: June 25th, 2015, 7:02 pm
Location: The Sky, USA

Re: New UsageMonitor plugin

raiguard » June 23rd, 2018, 4:58 pm

Everything appears to be working! :17good
”We are pretty sure that r2922 resolves the regression in resolution caused by a reversion to a revision.” - jsmorley, 2017
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 18350
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: New UsageMonitor plugin

jsmorley » June 23rd, 2018, 5:00 pm

raiguard wrote:Everything appears to be working! :17good
Great, thanks for catching this, and helping with testing. I will have a new beta out in a few minutes.
User avatar
sephirotess
Posts: 307
Joined: December 8th, 2016, 6:45 am

Re: New UsageMonitor plugin

sephirotess » June 30th, 2018, 5:02 am

tjhrulz wrote:sephirotess give the Rainmeter 4.2 Beta Release - r3101 a try, this should fix your issues.
Sorry for the late response. It seems to work properly. thank you very much for your hard work :17good.
Test.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
MikeG621
Posts: 68
Joined: March 18th, 2013, 1:59 pm

Re: New UsageMonitor plugin

MikeG621 » July 18th, 2018, 3:20 pm

I've tried searching for this but couldn't find anything so...

While this is clearly meant to replace the other plugins, what about simple things like Measure=CPU? The UsageMonitor doc page shows examples for some of the simple uses, but then to use value formatting the doc says you need to add a new scaling Measure, there's extra lines and options, etc.

You're going from

Code: Select all

[MeasureCPU]
Measure=CPU
to

Code: Select all

[MeasureCPU]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=UsageMonitor
Alias=CPU

[MeasureCpuScaling]
Measure=Calc
Formula=MeasureCPU
Is Rainmeter already doing this under the hood, so skin makers don't have to worry about it?