It is currently April 26th, 2024, 7:55 pm

Move Rainmeter in front of other windows

Tips and Tricks from the Rainmeter Community
Aioros
Posts: 2
Joined: August 12th, 2011, 7:00 pm

Move Rainmeter in front of other windows

Post by Aioros »

Hello, I'm new on rainmeter (only two days) and I'm trying to set a hotkey to move the Zposition of rainmeter.

I got the commands:
MouseOverAction=!execute [!RainmeterZPos 1]
MouseLeaveAction=!execute [!RainmeterZPos -1]

And they worked nice! But I wanna to set HK like #1 or #2 for move the rainmeter skins.

Something like:
#1=!execute [!RainmeterZPos 1]
#2=!execute [!RainmeterZPos -1]

I read a lot of threads but I still can't do the correct command.

I really appreciate if someone could help me, and sorry for any mistake in my english.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22631
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Move Rainmeter in front of other windows

Post by jsmorley »

Aioros wrote:Hello, I'm new on rainmeter (only two days) and I'm trying to set a hotkey to move the Zposition of rainmeter.

I got the commands:
MouseOverAction=!execute [!RainmeterZPos 1]
MouseLeaveAction=!execute [!RainmeterZPos -1]

And they worked nice! But I wanna to set HK like #1 or #2 for move the rainmeter skins.

Something like:
#1=!execute [!RainmeterZPos 1]
#2=!execute [!RainmeterZPos -1]

I read a lot of threads but I still can't do the correct command.

I really appreciate if someone could help me, and sorry for any mistake in my english.
I hope I don't misunderstand, but there are NO commands to set any hot keys in Rainmeter. If you want to assign key combinations to send bangs to Rainmeter, you will need to use AutoHotKey or AutoIt.

I'm no AutoHotKey expert, as I don't use it, but in general...

When you want to execute a bang to Rainmeter via the command line, it will need to look like:

"C:\Program Files\Rainmeter\Rainmeter.exe" !RainmeterZPos 1 Enigma\Clock

Where "Enigma\Clock" is the "config" you want to send the command to. The config is exactly what you see in the Rainmeter context menu between "Logging" and "Exit".

You can also send this to "all" configs at once with:

"C:\Program Files\Rainmeter\Rainmeter.exe" !RainmeterZPos 1 *

Quotes exactly as I have them above are important...

Kaelri has an example AHK script here: http://rainmeter.net/forum/viewtopic.php?p=54515#p54515
Aioros
Posts: 2
Joined: August 12th, 2011, 7:00 pm

Re: Move Rainmeter in front of other windows

Post by Aioros »

I used this command for AHK:

#1::Run "C:\Program Files\Rainmeter\Rainmeter.exe" !RainmeterZPos 1
#2::Run "C:\Program Files\Rainmeter\Rainmeter.exe" !RainmeterZPos -2

And the result is the exact what I wish, thanks so much for the help =]
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22631
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Move Rainmeter in front of other windows

Post by jsmorley »

Glad to help.

My only caution is that without any "config" or "*" defined on the end of the command, the bang is sent to the "first" loaded config in Rainmeter, which may not always be what you meant.
Balmung83
Posts: 1
Joined: September 8th, 2011, 4:47 pm

Re: Move Rainmeter in front of other windows

Post by Balmung83 »

I used the method to write a batchfile

Code: Select all

@echo off
"C:\Program Files\Rainmeter\Rainmeter.exe" !RainmeterZPos 1 MadobeNanami
"C:\Program Files\Rainmeter\Rainmeter.exe" !RainmeterZPos 1 MadobeClaudia
"C:\Program Files\Rainmeter\Rainmeter.exe" !RainmeterZPos 0 MadobeNanami
"C:\Program Files\Rainmeter\Rainmeter.exe" !RainmeterZPos 0 MadobeClaudia
exit
then i compiled it as a hidden exe with "Bat to Exe" http://f2ko.de/programs.php?lang=de&pid=b2e
and placed this into the taskbar/superbar.
I've made this, cause i've wanted only to show these two skins and let the others on the desktop and personally i don't like hotkeys.

With this you only have to activate this programm one time and when you clik on an other window, this will come on top.

If you want to show all your skins only for 20 seconds and then auto-hide them in the "normal" position and one skin on the bottom you can use this:

Code: Select all

@echo off
"C:\Program Files\Rainmeter\Rainmeter.exe" !RainmeterZPos 1
"C:\Program Files\Rainmeter\Rainmeter.exe" !RainmeterZPos 0
REM Only if other windows should to be brought to the foreground before the delay runs out
ping localhost -n 20 >nul
"C:\Program Files\Rainmeter\Rainmeter.exe" !RainmeterZPos -1
"C:\Program Files\Rainmeter\Rainmeter.exe" !RainmeterZPos 0
"C:\Program Files\Rainmeter\Rainmeter.exe" !RainmeterZPos -2 BottomSkin
exit