It is currently September 19th, 2020, 4:17 pm

How to make Rainmeter autostart at windows startup?

Get help with installing and using Rainmeter.
conansarkar
Posts: 2
Joined: May 19th, 2010, 7:52 pm

How to make Rainmeter autostart at windows startup?

Post by conansarkar »

I hav installed rainmeter bt it is not starting autometically on windiws startup. each time windows start, i hv 2 click the rainmeter icon to begin. i hav tried putting a shortcut of the rainmeter.ini file into the startup folder in the start menu bt its nt working like tht. at windows startup a dialog screen is showin, 'the rainmeter.ini file in your computer is not found'... somethin like tht. so plz suggest me some steps to overcome this problem. thnx...
User avatar
JpsCrazy
Posts: 690
Joined: April 18th, 2010, 2:16 pm
Location: NY, USA

Re: How to make Rainmeter autostart at windows startup?

Post by JpsCrazy »

Put a shortcut to Rainmeter.exe in start menu-->Startup, NOT Rainmeter.ini
Last edited by JpsCrazy on May 20th, 2010, 10:49 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
maminscris
Posts: 522
Joined: April 24th, 2009, 3:17 pm
Location: Bucharest, Romania Lat 44,43° Lon 26,1°

Re: How to make Rainmeter autostart at windows startup?

Post by maminscris »

JpsCrazy wrote:Put Rainmeter.exe in start menu-->Startup, NOT Rainmeter.ini
shortcut to rainmeter.exe in start up folder
Zero at programing, zero at writing codes, so far 2 at making images
But I'm good at copy/paste, and I not always like this
Image
User avatar
JpsCrazy
Posts: 690
Joined: April 18th, 2010, 2:16 pm
Location: NY, USA

Re: How to make Rainmeter autostart at windows startup?

Post by JpsCrazy »

Oops! That's what I meant, sorry.
User avatar
smurfier
Moderator
Posts: 1937
Joined: January 29th, 2010, 1:43 am
Location: Willmar, MN

Re: How to make Rainmeter autostart at windows startup?

Post by smurfier »

If you're like me and don't like adding shortcuts to the startup folder in the Start Menu (don't ask why) you can add a simple key to your registry.

Open Regedit and navigate to:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

Create a new String Value, name it Rainmeter and set it's value to the complete path of Rainmeter.exe
i.e.- C:\Program Files\Rainmeter\Rainmeter.exe

If you later wish for Rainmeter not to start up with windows, you can either remove the key or disable the option with MsConfig.
GitHub | DeviantArt | Tumblr
This is the song that never ends. It just goes on and on my friends. Some people started singing it not knowing what it was, and they'll continue singing it forever just because . . .
User avatar
JpsCrazy
Posts: 690
Joined: April 18th, 2010, 2:16 pm
Location: NY, USA

Re: How to make Rainmeter autostart at windows startup?

Post by JpsCrazy »

There's also programs that I'm pretty sure will do it for you.

I use Startup.exe - simple enough.
wasky1
Posts: 128
Joined: June 10th, 2009, 8:26 am

Re: How to make Rainmeter autostart at windows startup?

Post by wasky1 »

tuneup utilities,
norton360
both have startup managers
conansarkar
Posts: 2
Joined: May 19th, 2010, 7:52 pm

Re: How to make Rainmeter autostart at windows startup?

Post by conansarkar »

Ok thnx guys... it jus wrkd... by putting the .exe file in the startup folder. thnx a lot, i nevr xpctd this mch fst response...