It is currently May 25th, 2020, 1:32 pm

All Rainmeter Weather Skins refuse to load

Get help with installing and using Rainmeter.
User avatar
xenium
Posts: 490
Joined: January 4th, 2018, 9:52 pm

Re: All Rainmeter Weather Skins refuse to load

Post by xenium »

dvo wrote:
May 22nd, 2020, 10:31 am
i was trying your trick by rebooting 3 - 4 time it didn't solve it here :D the first and the second window is empty over here maybe i have a older version
gonna load the latest..
I'm sorry, all you have to do is wait, maybe the issue will be solved...
dvo
Posts: 761
Joined: February 7th, 2016, 6:08 am

Re: All Rainmeter Weather Skins refuse to load

Post by dvo »

Windows 10 Weather PRO (UPDATED 27-APR-2020) same with this skin ... empty...
User avatar
xenium
Posts: 490
Joined: January 4th, 2018, 9:52 pm

Re: All Rainmeter Weather Skins refuse to load

Post by xenium »

dvo wrote:
May 22nd, 2020, 10:36 am
Windows 10 Weather PRO (UPDATED 27-APR-2020) same with this skin ... empty...
:D
Capture.PNG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
dvo
Posts: 761
Joined: February 7th, 2016, 6:08 am

Re: All Rainmeter Weather Skins refuse to load

Post by dvo »

your a lucky one ... i can let you see it's empty but doesn't add any to what we know already ... :confused:
User avatar
Yincognito
Posts: 1609
Joined: February 27th, 2015, 2:38 pm
Location: Terra Yincognita

Re: All Rainmeter Weather Skins refuse to load

Post by Yincognito »

dvo wrote:
May 22nd, 2020, 11:24 am
your a lucky one ... i can let you see it's empty but doesn't add any to what we know already ... :confused:
Let me know if this works for you.
dvo
Posts: 761
Joined: February 7th, 2016, 6:08 am

Re: All Rainmeter Weather Skins refuse to load

Post by dvo »

getting: Tempature = 21 Â ºC so lat and long are working

isn't it better to have a script that loads a script (maybe on rainmeter.net) that will fix all at once for every one ?
instead of every time fix all scripts with all the same. maybe a idea .... :o

some centralized scripts would be handy...
User avatar
Yincognito
Posts: 1609
Joined: February 27th, 2015, 2:38 pm
Location: Terra Yincognita

Re: All Rainmeter Weather Skins refuse to load

Post by Yincognito »

dvo wrote:
May 22nd, 2020, 11:42 am
getting: Tempature = 21 Â ºC so lat and long are working

isn't it better to have a script that loads a script (maybe on rainmeter.net) that will fix all at once for every one ?
instead of every time fix all scripts with all the same. maybe a idea .... :o
There isn't a script smart enough to automatically "understand" which is a certain field based on various names that the said field can have, the way a human could - not until someone invents a true AI. So, what you want would translate into making the Rainmeter devs building (an updating) a regex for you, because you are not in the mood to do it yourself, LOL. That's something I would never ask the devs to do, although jsmorley made a great effort in providing something along those lines; I mean, they already provide us with Rainmeter itself for free, and to ask them to do all the heavy work for skin developers with regards to an ever changing weather.com (or whatever other site's) format lacks a bit of common sense, in my view. That should be the job of skin developers, just as the job of Rainmeter developers is to provide us with a functional, bug free Rainmeter version - each with his own. I mean, if one is a true skin developer, he surely knows how to modify a regex when the source format changes, right?
dvo
Posts: 761
Joined: February 7th, 2016, 6:08 am

Re: All Rainmeter Weather Skins refuse to load

Post by dvo »

i'm not saying that a dev has to do it but if you load the inc files from a central place it would be a one time fix instead of in all scripts...
and i'm not lazy to fix it.. but it doesn't help the rest ... and all help every time again over again ...instead you could put the energy in to new things ... :???:
User avatar
Yincognito
Posts: 1609
Joined: February 27th, 2015, 2:38 pm
Location: Terra Yincognita

Re: All Rainmeter Weather Skins refuse to load

Post by Yincognito »

dvo wrote:
May 22nd, 2020, 12:10 pm
i'm not saying that a dev has to do it but if you load the inc files from a central place it would be a one time fix instead of in all scripts...
and i'm not lazy to fix it.. but it doesn't help the rest ... and al help every time again over again ...instead you could put the energy in to new things ... :???:
Yeah, I get what you say. JsMorley is for now hesitant to make this change in his .inc files, and for good reason: there are still users for which the "old" regex(es) work, and you never know if after a couple of hours or the next couple of days the weather.com format won't "revert" to the "old" one. I agree with him on this one, a bit of patience is wise to have right now, at least until it becomes clear that the format change is definitive...
dvo
Posts: 761
Joined: February 7th, 2016, 6:08 am

Re: All Rainmeter Weather Skins refuse to load

Post by dvo »

JSmorley always does his best to fix and i know it could return after days we have seen that a couple of times now ..
it's always the question what's wise to do ... wait or fix.... if possible.. 8-)