It is currently December 15th, 2019, 6:23 am

InlineOptions for Seconds

Get help with installing and using Rainmeter.
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 9267
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: InlineOptions for Seconds

balala » October 27th, 2019, 7:26 pm

sl23 wrote:
October 27th, 2019, 7:19 pm
I sort of get the gist of your explanation, balala, but it doesn't ring true.
You say that .+ means one or more characters, but I had to add a second . in order for the meter to display both of the Seconds digits as FontSize=14. Why would that be?
Because there is a space between the minutes and the seconds (and there is no colon). Try to add one space in the InlinePattern: InlinePattern=.+:.+ (.+).
User avatar
sl23
Posts: 408
Joined: February 17th, 2011, 7:45 pm
Location: a Galaxy S7 far far away

Re: InlineOptions for Seconds

sl23 » October 27th, 2019, 7:35 pm

Ah I see, yes that works :thumbup:
God, you have to be so precise even with spaces! O.O
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 9267
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: InlineOptions for Seconds

balala » October 27th, 2019, 7:44 pm

sl23 wrote:
October 27th, 2019, 7:35 pm
God, you have to be so precise even with spaces! O.O
Right. Generally have to be precise when coding (not just) in Rainmeter.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 19870
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: InlineOptions for Seconds

jsmorley » October 27th, 2019, 7:47 pm

Code: Select all

[MeasureTime]
Measure=Time
Format=%#I:%M %S

[MeterOne]
Meter=String
MeasureName=MeasureTime
FontSize=50
FontWeight=400
FontColor=255,255,255,255
SolidColor=47,47,47,255
Padding=5,5,5,5
AntiAlias=1
InlineSetting=Size | 20
InlinePattern=.+:.+( .+)

1.jpg


The InlinePattern is saying:

. Any character, + one or more times, then ":" then . any character, + one or more times, then ( start capturing a space, then . any character, + one or more times, then ) stop capturing.

I'm capturing the space along with the seconds, so it will also be set to a size of 20 and not 50, which I think looks better.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
sl23
Posts: 408
Joined: February 17th, 2011, 7:45 pm
Location: a Galaxy S7 far far away

Re: InlineOptions for Seconds

sl23 » October 27th, 2019, 7:53 pm

@balala: Yeah, I realise that, but sometimes it's the silly little things like a space or, as before the skin folder name had to be changed due to a substitution event! Very obscure sometimes. Especially when you're as clueless as me! :lol:

@Jeff: Yeah I see what you mean, great explanation btw. Though, I'm not sure if I prefer the smaller gap or not lol I'll sleep on it ;-)

Thank you both for your help and the explanations.
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 9267
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: InlineOptions for Seconds

balala » October 27th, 2019, 8:05 pm

sl23 wrote:
October 27th, 2019, 7:53 pm
Especially when you're as clueless as me!
NO, YOU ARE NOT.
Everyone should forget this. If you can't do something in coding, doesn't mean you are "clueless", stupid or whatever. At most inexperienced in coding. There are many details and anyone can accumulate knowledge only by working with many - many different questions.
User avatar
sl23
Posts: 408
Joined: February 17th, 2011, 7:45 pm
Location: a Galaxy S7 far far away

Re: InlineOptions for Seconds

sl23 » October 27th, 2019, 8:20 pm

Aw! Thanks balala :D
I was only joking though :oops:

I have another question, but about the Shape meter so I'll post a new topic. Hopefully some nice person will help with that too :lol: :oops:
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 9267
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: InlineOptions for Seconds

balala » October 27th, 2019, 8:23 pm

sl23 wrote:
October 27th, 2019, 8:20 pm
I have another question, but about the Shape meter so I'll post a new topic. Hopefully some nice person will help with that too :lol: :oops:
The best place to post questions related to the Shape meter: https://forum.rainmeter.net/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=24294&start=240
Yes, probably soon you'll get help.
User avatar
sl23
Posts: 408
Joined: February 17th, 2011, 7:45 pm
Location: a Galaxy S7 far far away

Re: InlineOptions for Seconds

sl23 » October 27th, 2019, 10:05 pm

Thanks again :thumbup:
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 9267
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: InlineOptions for Seconds

balala » October 28th, 2019, 6:24 pm