It is currently November 21st, 2019, 10:17 am

Can't use two icons at once

Get help with installing and using Rainmeter.
Athurion
Posts: 3
Joined: September 16th, 2019, 3:07 pm

Can't use two icons at once

Athurion » September 16th, 2019, 3:14 pm

Hey,
I recently started using rainmeter and wanted to create my own desktop icons etc. I created an image for one of my programms and it worked out pretty well. However, when i try to activate another one, the first icon just disappears, the second shows up tho. How can i fix this problem? Script:
Icon 1:
[Rainmeter]
Update=1000

[ImageLaunch]
Meter=Image
W=200
H=50
ImageName=#@#Images\Discord\Discord.png
LeftMouseUpAction=["C:\Users\Florian\AppData\Local\Discord\app-0.0.305\Discord.exe"]

Icon 2:
[Rainmeter]
Update=1000

[ImageLaunch]
Meter=Image
W=200
H=50
ImageName=#@#Images\Steam\Steam.png
LeftMouseUpAction=["C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\Steam.exe"]
Thanks for your help!

[Edit:] I tried to put the images in seperate folders, didn't worked...
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 19743
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Can't use two icons at once

jsmorley » September 16th, 2019, 3:22 pm

Athurion wrote:
September 16th, 2019, 3:14 pm
Hey,
I recently started using rainmeter and wanted to create my own desktop icons etc. I created an image for one of my programms and it worked out pretty well. However, when i try to activate another one, the first icon just disappears, the second shows up tho. How can i fix this problem? Script:
Icon 1:
[Rainmeter]
Update=1000

[ImageLaunch]
Meter=Image
W=200
H=50
ImageName=#@#Images\Discord\Discord.png
LeftMouseUpAction=["C:\Users\Florian\AppData\Local\Discord\app-0.0.305\Discord.exe"]

Icon 2:
[Rainmeter]
Update=1000

[ImageLaunch]
Meter=Image
W=200
H=50
ImageName=#@#Images\Steam\Steam.png
LeftMouseUpAction=["C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\Steam.exe"]
Thanks for your help!

[Edit:] I tried to put the images in seperate folders, didn't worked...
Do you really want each of these to be in separate skins?

If so, you have to put the actual skin .ini files in separate folders, under a single root config folder.

MyLaunchers
> @Resources
>> Images
>>> Discord.png
>>> Steam.png
> Launcher1
>> Launcher1.ini
> Launcher2
>> Launcher2.ini
Athurion
Posts: 3
Joined: September 16th, 2019, 3:07 pm

Re: Can't use two icons at once

Athurion » September 16th, 2019, 3:28 pm

Well, is there a way to use one Skin as a font for multiple links?
In any case thank you for your help!
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 19743
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Can't use two icons at once

jsmorley » September 16th, 2019, 3:34 pm

Athurion wrote:
September 16th, 2019, 3:28 pm
Well, is there a way to use one Skin as a font for multiple links?
In any case thank you for your help!
Sure, easy. Just be sure all [Sections] have distinct names.

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
Update=1000
DynamicWindowSize=1
AccurateText=1

[Image1Launch]
Meter=Image
W=200
H=50
ImageName=#@#Images\Discord\Discord.png
LeftMouseUpAction=["C:\Users\Florian\AppData\Local\Discord\app-0.0.305\Discord.exe"]

[Image2Launch]
Meter=Image
Y=10R
W=200
H=50
ImageName=#@#Images\Steam\Steam.png
LeftMouseUpAction=["C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\Steam.exe"]
So you use the Y (or X or both) on the second, third, etc. meters to position them "relative" to each other.
Athurion
Posts: 3
Joined: September 16th, 2019, 3:07 pm

Re: Can't use two icons at once

Athurion » September 16th, 2019, 3:38 pm

Thanks a lot, really!
I already tried it with the seperate method and it worked, this one however might be quite better.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 19743
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Can't use two icons at once

jsmorley » September 16th, 2019, 3:40 pm

Athurion wrote:
September 16th, 2019, 3:38 pm
Thanks a lot, really!
I already tried it with the seperate method and it worked, this one however might be quite better.
I think it will be. It's certainly easier to add to and maintain. The only advantage at all to separate skins is that you can drag separate skins to different places on the screen as you like. Mostly, there is never a good reason to split them up when they are doing some common thing.