It is currently August 8th, 2020, 9:29 am

Rainmeter Causing Tooltips Issue

Get help with installing and using Rainmeter.
User avatar
sl23
Posts: 411
Joined: February 17th, 2011, 7:45 pm
Location: a Galaxy S7 far far away

Re: Rainmeter Causing Tooltips Issue

Post by sl23 »

Ok. Thanks for trying to help.

Just to confirm, if a skin's area is over a window, that could cause mouse issues? But only if you are directly clicking through the skin? Or is it even if you are outside the skins area but that area overlaps a window?
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 21217
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Rainmeter Causing Tooltips Issue

Post by jsmorley »

If any "solid" part of a skin overlaps and is in front of some other window, that will interfere with mouse detection on the part of that window it overlaps. Doesn't matter if the skin has tooltips in it or not, or if it is "visible", as long as it is "solid" in the sense of an opacity of 1 or more.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 21217
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Rainmeter Causing Tooltips Issue

Post by jsmorley »

So for instance:

No problem...
1.jpg

No problem...
2.jpg

Can't see the mouse...
3.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
sl23
Posts: 411
Joined: February 17th, 2011, 7:45 pm
Location: a Galaxy S7 far far away

Re: Rainmeter Causing Tooltips Issue

Post by sl23 »

Thanks for explaining. That's how I thought it worked.
I just don't get what is causing this!!! :? :???: :confused:
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 21217
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Rainmeter Causing Tooltips Issue

Post by jsmorley »

You might try setting:

[Rainmeter]
...
BackgroundMode=2
SolidColor=255,0,0,50

in all of your skins temporarily, so you can always see what the real size of them is while you are working.
User avatar
sl23
Posts: 411
Joined: February 17th, 2011, 7:45 pm
Location: a Galaxy S7 far far away

Re: Rainmeter Causing Tooltips Issue

Post by sl23 »

It's odd because it seems anything placed to Stay Topmost is causing it, except my volume skin!

But according to your previous description, this is irrelevant. Nothing is overlapping MuLab or any other window. At least not the parts I'm hovering over. Skins were placed strategically to avoid this conflict in the first place.
2019-08-24 15_34_10-Greenshot.png
2019-08-24 15_34_53-Greenshot.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.