It is currently June 25th, 2019, 4:27 am

Win10 start menue

Get help with installing and using Rainmeter.
hli
Posts: 3
Joined: December 21st, 2018, 6:40 pm

Win10 start menue

hli » December 21st, 2018, 6:47 pm

Hello,

may anyone explain to me how to open the start menue (not the folders start menue or startup menue).
I mean the start menue which will open, when you press the windows logo.

Something like:

LeftMouseUpAction=["shell:Common Startup"]

will only open the start-folder in explorer.

Thanks in advance,

HLI
User avatar
Brian
Developer
Posts: 1873
Joined: November 24th, 2011, 1:42 am
Location: Utah

Re: Win10 start menue

Brian » December 21st, 2018, 7:25 pm

You can use powershell along with the RunCommand plugin to send the "Ctrl+Esc" key to the OS.
https://docs.rainmeter.net/manual-beta/plugins/runcommand/

Code: Select all

[OpenStartMenu]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=RunCommand
Parameter="powershell.exe "(New-Object -ComObject 'wscript.shell').SendKeys('^{ESC}')""
Note the double quotes on the end of the command.

Then to execute that command, you can do something like this: LeftMouseUpAction=[!CommandMeasure OpenStartMenu "Run"]

-Brian
hli
Posts: 3
Joined: December 21st, 2018, 6:40 pm

Re: Win10 start menue

hli » December 21st, 2018, 7:48 pm

Thank you,

it works in 7/10 cases.

Bit laggy and you can not send the command shortly after a formerly use.

But again, thanks for the workaround... i will see if i get it more performant.

Thanks,
HLI
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 8308
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: Win10 start menue

balala » December 21st, 2018, 8:14 pm

hli wrote:
December 21st, 2018, 6:47 pm
may anyone explain to me how to open the start menue (not the folders start menue or startup menue).
I mean the start menue which will open, when you press the windows logo.

Something like:

LeftMouseUpAction=["shell:Common Startup"]
If you're not afraid to use a .exe to open the Start menu, here is a skin with a small such app. TAKE CARE, the package has included a .exe app!
Download, and install the skin. You'll get a start Menu String meter, which when clicked, opens the Start menu.

I assure you the app is safe, but anyway download and use it on your own risk!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
kyriakos876
Posts: 914
Joined: January 30th, 2017, 2:01 am
Location: Greece

Re: Win10 start menue

kyriakos876 » December 21st, 2018, 8:47 pm

Or a vbs script that sends the same combination Brian suggested above. This should work Everytime.
User avatar
1690Cat
Posts: 17
Joined: September 27th, 2012, 3:02 pm

Re: Win10 start menue

1690Cat » December 21st, 2018, 9:11 pm

Here is a Vbs script to do what you want just copy & paste it and name it whatever you want with the extension .vbs then just
click it. works every time no flaws..

set wShell=wscript.createobject("wscript.shell")
wShell.sendkeys "^{ESC}"
Set WshShell = Nothing
hli
Posts: 3
Joined: December 21st, 2018, 6:40 pm

Re: Win10 start menue

hli » December 21st, 2018, 9:33 pm

Thanks to all of you for the suggestions.

I will test the possibilities over the weekend, but in a first try, the .vbs has the advantage of closing the menu by pressing again, but is also kind of laggy and/or not working on 100% percent of the button presses - it´s like the powershell variant.
Maybe some feedback evaluation must be done on the code for verifying not to double press or in general get feedback on the press.

The .exe works perfect, only closing the menu is not possible by pressing the button again. For my case this is not important, so i prefer it right now.

To all, have a nice christmas and great new year party,

HLI
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 8308
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: Win10 start menue

balala » December 21st, 2018, 9:39 pm

hli wrote:
December 21st, 2018, 9:33 pm
The .exe works perfect, only closing the menu is not possible by pressing the button again. For my case this is not important, so i prefer it right now.

To all, have a nice christmas and great new year party,
Yes, probably vbs solution is a bit more reliable and many people are afraid to use a .exe for opening the Start menu, but if it works well for you, I'm glad.
Same wishes for you too.