Page 1 of 1

Changing layouts with time of day

Posted: August 7th, 2018, 5:14 pm
by BlackIshDynamite
I have the following code loaded into a skin in each of my layouts (it's in the .ini for the wallpaper for each layout) in an attempt to have my layout change automatically at certain times of the day. However, it does not automatically change. If I hit "refresh all" it loads the correct layout for that time of day but it's not automatic. Can anyone see where I've gone wrong?

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
Update=-1

[Background]
Meter=Image
ImageName=day.png
W=1536
H=864

[mHour]
Measure=Time
Format=%H
UpdateDivider=10
IfCondition=((mHour >=17) && (mHour <22))
IfTrueAction=[!LoadLayout "Evening"]
[dummy]
Meter=String
Thanks guys! :)

Re: Changing layouts with time of day

Posted: August 7th, 2018, 5:57 pm
by ikarus1969
It's the Update=-1 in the Rainmeter-section of the skin.

It means the skin is only refreshed once on load (or refresh), so the mHour measure has no chance to update and check the hour. You can remove that so your skin will check every ten seconds if time for a layout-change has come.

see docu: https://docs.rainmeter.net/manual-beta/skins/rainmeter-section/#Update

Re: Changing layouts with time of day

Posted: August 7th, 2018, 6:02 pm
by BlackIshDynamite
So I just delete the "update=-1"? Or do i need something in it's place?

Re: Changing layouts with time of day

Posted: August 7th, 2018, 6:24 pm
by ikarus1969
you can just delete it. Then the default (Update=1000) will be used.