It is currently March 28th, 2024, 10:07 am

Rainmeter CPU util slowly rising over time

Get help with installing and using Rainmeter.
rlnoonan

Rainmeter CPU util slowly rising over time

Post by rlnoonan »

I recently discovered Rainmeter and LOVE it. I've been using it for a few months now and notice that the Rainmeter application itself seems to slowly increase its CPU utilization over time. After doing some searches I thought it must be some skin I had loaded, so I started the process of removing skins one at a time to find the culprit. As part of this process, I have been using a skin from JSMorley called RainmeterProcess that simply displays statistics about the Rainmeter process itself. Well, to make a long story short, I'm down to RainmeterProcess being the only skin loaded and the situation is still happening. So it would seem that it is Rainmeter itself, not any skins.

When I start my system up, Rainmeter typically consumes around 1% with all my skins loaded. However, this will slowly rise and in about three or four days it will be over 10% (it always bounces around, but spends more time above 10% than below it). I don't know if this will continue until it reaches nearly 100% or not because I've always restarted my system for a new trial with one more skin removed.

Here is a snapshot of RainmeterProcess after about four days as the only skin loaded (from the time of the restart):
rainmeter_util.PNG
I included the Rainmeter menu to show that RainmeterProcess is actually the only skin loaded. Ignore the 100% in the first column, I can't seem to stop that from appearing, even with a refresh. When Rainmeter is running right after a restart the current util numbers are around 1% or below.