It is currently March 28th, 2024, 10:46 pm

Completely Confused

Get help with installing and using Rainmeter.
ThaSmokinLion

Completely Confused

Post by ThaSmokinLion »

I am a noob to rainmeter. I think it is really awesome and I have downloaded the program and was able to download some skinz and arrange them upon my screen in a fashion that would be totally functional to what i want to see the program allow me to do. However I have no idea how to write the code and change the images and actions of some of the skinz. My request is that a more experieced person could dedicate some one on one time to helpiing me customize my experience and make it work! hoping to hear from a rainmeter whiz who wants to help a noob
CyberTheWorm

Re: Completely Confused

Post by CyberTheWorm »

Try reading this https://docs.rainmeter.net/manual-beta/getting-started/
Then try making a simple skin like a clock.
Then ask for help if you need it. The documentation is very good and has lots of examples. I only started a short time ago and have created several, first ones were not much but with time and practice you will get better.
The only source of knowledge is experience. Albert Einstein
Deviant Art Page
HawkeEye

Post by HawkeEye »

I want to add my confusion to the pile. I have used Rainmeter on and off for years and decided to give it another try. The concepts and creativity are great.

But every time I have used it one issue always remains and that is weather data using the webparser.dll. I have downloaded about a dozen or so skins and i find only one that accurately returns weather data and that is versions of VCloudsWeather

I actually need a very simple display of just the current conditions and VClouds is way beyond what i am seeking. I know I have my location code correctly entered but nothing EVER returns any data.

Does anyone have a simple solution? Is it possible that the use is blocked by other software like firewalls or antivirus?
sephirotess

Post by sephirotess »

Hi,