It is currently March 28th, 2024, 11:59 am

How to run a 'runCommand' at a regular interval?

Get help with installing and using Rainmeter.
jn_meter

How to run a 'runCommand' at a regular interval?

Post by jn_meter »

Dear all

I've some Rainmeter experience but I am baffled in trying to do something simple, namely, run a RunCommand at an inverval. I can't simply put the command in a measure and create a corresponding meter, because RunCommands run only when called by . .!RunCommand. I've looked at the documentation on 'timers' but I don't understand it (largely because that documentation did not seem to contain anything on . . the interval at which the timed action runs at!).

Here's the code I want to run at an interval (and that code, so far as it goes, works).

Code: Select all

[measure_command_checkWindowsFirewall]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=RunCommand
Parameter=netsh advfirewall show private state
OutputType=ANSI
;OutputFile=%TEMP%\FW
State=Hide
; Disabled=1
Timeout=400
IfMatch=.*ON.*
IfNotMatchAction=[!SetOption meter_WindowsFirewall FontColor #red#] [!SetOption meter_WindowsFirewall Text "No firewall"] [!Redraw]
IfMatchAction=[!SetOption meter_WindowsFirewall FontColor #darkGreen#] [!SetOption meter_WindowsFirewall Text "Firewall OK"] [!Redraw]
I'd really appreciate it anyone can shed light. Thanks.
balala
Rainmeter Sage

Re: How to run a 'runCommand' at a regular interval?

Post by balala »

There are more possibilities:
  • Add the following option to the [Rainmeter] section of your skin: OnUpdateAction=[!CommandMeasure "measure_command_checkWindowsFirewall" "Run"]. On each update cycle, the above OnUpdateAction option is executed, so the RunCommand plugin will be ran regularly.
  • If you want to run the measure rarer, you could add the following calc measure:

Code: Select all

[SomeMeasure]
    Measure=Calc
    Formula=1
    OnUpdateAction=[!CommandMeasure "measure_command_checkWindowsFirewall" "Run"]
    UpdateDivider=2