It is currently April 26th, 2024, 2:08 pm

Opening specific websites

Get help with installing and using Rainmeter.
BigGoat666
Posts: 1
Joined: September 27th, 2016, 8:57 pm

Opening specific websites

Post by BigGoat666 »

Hey guys, trying to get my rainmeter skins to open specific sites like youtube playlists or songs etc. etc.
not sure how to do it with the current application of my rainmeter.
below is posted what i see, i can get it to open programs and such just having issues with specific sites.

;Variables:Sub Menu 2.1____
m2Item1Item1Ico=google_chrome_by_abaddon999_faust999-d5kjjtw.png
m2Item1Item2Ico=firefox_anime_girl_dock_icon_by_pinkbandit1.png
m2Item1Item3Ico=1bf3f470751db6771e5fdb85795dd5c8.png
m2Item1Item1Icohigh=google_chrome_by_abaddon999_faust999-d5kjjtw.png
m2Item1Item2Icohigh=firefox_anime_girl_dock_icon_by_pinkbandit1.png
m2Item1Item3Icohigh=1bf3f470751db6771e5fdb85795dd5c8.png
m2Item1Item1String="Chrome"
m2Item1Item2String="FireFox"
m2Item1Item3String="Dontevereveruseme"
m2Item1Item1Action=#sound#!HideMeterGroup mnItemn]["C:\Program Files (x86)\Google\Chrome\Application\chrome.exe"]
m2Item1Item2Action=#sound#[!HideMeterGroup mnItemn]["C:\Program Files (x86)\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe"]
m2Item1Item3Action=#sound#!HideMeterGroup mnItemn]["http:/www.youtube.com"]
Thanks for any and all help
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 16173
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: Opening specific websites

Post by balala »

Not sure what skin are you talking about, but I suppose you're using some specific skin (at least starting from the posted variables: m2Item1Item1Ico, m2Item1Item2Ico, m2Item1Item3Ico, m2Item1Item1Icohigh, m2Item1Item2Icohigh, m2Item1Item3Icohigh, m2Item1Item1String, m2Item1Item2String, m2Item1Item3String, m2Item1Item1Action, m2Item1Item2Action and m2Item1Item3Action).
To open a website, you have to add its URL to a, let's say, LeftMouseUpAction:

Code: Select all

[MeterStart]
Meter=String
...
LeftMouseUpAction=["https://www.youtube.com/"]
For more specific help, please give us some details about what, when and how would you like to open.

And just mention that probably in the posted m2Item1Item1Action variable a bracket is missing: m2Item1Item1Action=#sound#[color=#FF0000][[/color]!HideMeterGroup mnItemn]["C:\Program Files (x86)\Google\Chrome\Application\chrome.exe"].
Maggywaggy
Posts: 2
Joined: October 30th, 2016, 4:50 am

Re: Opening specific websites

Post by Maggywaggy »

I'm actually having a similar issue with one of my skins.

I have a browser icon that was preset to open google on whatever my default browser is. There is currently a music Icon that initially tried to access the D:\ Drive for a CD or something. SO it looked like

[MusicIcon]
Meter=IMAGE
X=570
Y=80
w=55
h=50
ImageName=Music.png
LeftMouseUpAction=!execute ["D:\"]
AntiAlias=1




I changed the portion after !execute, to ["play.google.com/music"] but it still opens the D drive and i don't know why.

Sorry if posting here is an issue, just didn't want to make a new thread for a related problem.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22630
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Opening specific websites

Post by jsmorley »

Maggywaggy wrote:I'm actually having a similar issue with one of my skins.

I have a browser icon that was preset to open google on whatever my default browser is. There is currently a music Icon that initially tried to access the D:\ Drive for a CD or something. SO it looked like

[MusicIcon]
Meter=IMAGE
X=570
Y=80
w=55
h=50
ImageName=Music.png
LeftMouseUpAction=!execute ["D:\"]
AntiAlias=1

I changed the portion after !execute, to ["play.google.com/music"] but it still opens the D drive and i don't know why.

Sorry if posting here is an issue, just didn't want to make a new thread for a related problem.
it should be:

LeftMouseUpAction=["https://play.google.com/music"]

A link to a web resource must always be a fully qualified URL.

Be sure you save the change and refresh the skin from Manage.

Don't use the !Execute keyword, that has long ago been deprecated and it not needed at any time.
Maggywaggy
Posts: 2
Joined: October 30th, 2016, 4:50 am

Re: Opening specific websites

Post by Maggywaggy »

jsmorley wrote:it should be:

LeftMouseUpAction=["https://play.google.com/music"]

A link to a web resource must always be a fully qualified URL.

Be sure you save the change and refresh the skin from Manage.

Don't use the !Execute keyword, that has long ago be deprecated and it not needed at any time.

The step I was forgetting was the refreshing.

Thanks, that helped a lot.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22630
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Opening specific websites

Post by jsmorley »

Glad to help.