It is currently March 28th, 2024, 6:13 pm

Changing layouts with time of day

Get help with installing and using Rainmeter.
Post Reply
BlackIshDynamite
Posts: 2
Joined: August 7th, 2018, 2:52 pm

Changing layouts with time of day

Post by BlackIshDynamite »

I have the following code loaded into a skin in each of my layouts (it's in the .ini for the wallpaper for each layout) in an attempt to have my layout change automatically at certain times of the day. However, it does not automatically change. If I hit "refresh all" it loads the correct layout for that time of day but it's not automatic. Can anyone see where I've gone wrong?

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
Update=-1

[Background]
Meter=Image
ImageName=day.png
W=1536
H=864

[mHour]
Measure=Time
Format=%H
UpdateDivider=10
IfCondition=((mHour >=17) && (mHour <22))
IfTrueAction=[!LoadLayout "Evening"]
[dummy]
Meter=String
Thanks guys! :)
User avatar
ikarus1969
Posts: 571
Joined: February 28th, 2011, 3:20 pm
Location: Vienna, Austria

Re: Changing layouts with time of day

Post by ikarus1969 »

It's the Update=-1 in the Rainmeter-section of the skin.

It means the skin is only refreshed once on load (or refresh), so the mHour measure has no chance to update and check the hour. You can remove that so your skin will check every ten seconds if time for a layout-change has come.

see docu: https://docs.rainmeter.net/manual-beta/skins/rainmeter-section/#Update
BlackIshDynamite
Posts: 2
Joined: August 7th, 2018, 2:52 pm

Re: Changing layouts with time of day

Post by BlackIshDynamite »

So I just delete the "update=-1"? Or do i need something in it's place?
User avatar
ikarus1969
Posts: 571
Joined: February 28th, 2011, 3:20 pm
Location: Vienna, Austria

Re: Changing layouts with time of day

Post by ikarus1969 »

you can just delete it. Then the default (Update=1000) will be used.
Post Reply